News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

Converting from My Little Forum to SMF

Started by Wombat78, September 02, 2020, 08:36:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wombat78

I have been using My Little Forum since 2004 for two forum installations. Now I have migrated users, categories and forum posts and combined them into one SMF 2.0.17 forum. As far as I know there is no converter for MLF to SMF, so I did everything manually in phpMyAdmin and Cpanel. I'm a complete amateur, but here is basically how I did it.

1. I did a clean install of SMF 2.0.17 and made sure it worked.
2. Then truncated (deleted all content) from smf_members, smf_messages, smf_topics, smf_boards and smf_categories
3. In phpMyAdmin I selected the data I needed to migrate from three tables: mlf2_categories, mlf2_entries and mlf2_userdata and created queries that could be inserteted into corresponding tables in SMF I used the following queries that matched:

User data

SELECT DISTINCT
user_id AS id_member,
user_name AS member_name,
       (SELECT COUNT(*) FROM mlf2_entries WHERE user_id = mlf2_userdata.user_id) AS posts,
gender AS gender,
birthday AS birthdate,
user_pw AS passwd,
user_email AS email_address,
email_contact AS hide_email,
user_hp AS website_url,
user_location AS location,
signature AS signature,
profile AS personal_text,
UNIX_TIMESTAMP(last_login) AS last_login,
user_name AS real_name,
user_ip AS member_ip,
UNIX_TIMESTAMP(registered) AS date_registered,
time_difference AS time_offset
FROM mlf2_userdata

I exported the query result and replaced mlf2_userdata with smf_members in the exported SQL insert query like this.

INSERT INTO `smf_members` (`id_member`, `member_name`, `posts`, `gender`, `birthdate`, `passwd`, `email_address`, `hide_email`, `website_url`, `location`, `signature`, `personal_text`, `last_login`, `real_name`, `member_ip`, `date_registered`, `time_offset`) VALUES