Advertisement:

Author Topic: need help from a real pro  (Read 1538 times)

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
need help from a real pro
« on: February 10, 2021, 11:33:00 PM »
site is completely BLANK
worked fine for 8? 10? years
made a few updates patched along the way
but as I made hundreds of hand-coded GUI optimizations
and lost my notes - did not want to mess with something broken
I think the last thing I did was just add a captcha a year or 2 ago?
anyway
the forum runs in an iFrame - but the frame is total empty
I also have the direct page and when I try that - is says page can NOT load HTTP error 500)
I am on call with server support
they said many updates to PHP 7.4? and they think my DB is 4?? or my something is 4?
(the tech lady English is not so clear)
they are trying a roll back for me? they asked if i can update the DB
but I can not see ANYTHING at all

VCSY-Chat 'dot' com = and the far tab button for forum
if I run the page

like i said been working GREAT until today
help?

THANKS


Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2021, 11:45:23 PM »
the friggen web host said they will call me within 48 hours
anyway = if I run the iframe source DIRECT
I get this error message

Connection Problems
Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later.

 does that ^^ help?

if it is a PHP issue
what should I do as I can not see ANYTHING at all
thanks!!

Offline shadav

  • Support Specialist
  • Sophist Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,265
  • Gender: Female
    • shadav on Facebook
    • leashadav on GitHub
    • Ask The Muslims: A Place To Ask Honest Questions and Receive Respectful Answers
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2021, 11:57:33 PM »
if you didn't do anything to your site, then your host did.....

what version of smf are you using?
unless you are using smf 2.0.18 or smf 2.1
then you can not use php7.4

anything below smf 2.0.16 you have to use php7.2 and under

if smf 1.x I don't think you can use anything over php 5.6 (not completely sure on that one)

log into your hosting account and try lowering your php down depending on the version of smf you are using.

as far as the error of unable to connect tot he database. this may be caused by the server being busy

90% that's the server took a crap
10% if you were messing around with the site, might have accidently messed something up....revert the changes

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 60,203
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2021, 09:07:55 AM »
Also, do note that SMF introduced security protections about iframes a few releases ago....      running the forum in an iframe is NOT recommended (well, actually, iframes, in general, are not recommended any more)
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • A Peculiar Finn
  • Project Manager
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,821
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • LexArma on GitHub
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
    • My Daily Dose Of Blasphemy
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2021, 09:23:19 AM »
VCSY-Chat 'dot' com = and the far tab button for forum
Following that, I can see the frame and the error
"Connection Problems
Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later."
First things first, check that your Settings.php is fine - then check your DB connection, and the DB credentials and compare them to the ones in your Settings.php

like i said been working GREAT until today
Sorry, doubtful. Might have worked, but isn't really healthy. See attached.
A Finnish Project Manager (Support Specialist)
Happily running multiple SMF 2.x installations.
 Fooling around with an i7-10700 @ 2,90GHz-4.80GHz / 16Gb / RTX-2070 Super / 3840x2160 / Win 10 x64


How you can help SMF

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2021, 10:13:14 AM »
1. THANKS to ALL
2. Yes - I did NOTHING new - so server farm did something
3. yes- I did see the errors - that was fetching some realtime OTC stock quotes =  not sure why stopped working
(I made this site for friend  years ago - he did not tell me that the Otc called stopped =I will delete that from the HTML
4. I can log onto site using FTP or cPanel = how can I determine my version? the license.txt does not tell me what version
5. I used the iframe just to show the same look and feel as the website - but many people now just log directly into the forum - which then does not run in the iFrame

6. will the wrong PHP error also cause the server connection error? - cn not imagein I am the only user with a connection error due to being busy over 36 hours +/-

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2021, 10:32:02 AM »
i just found a php manager on my server cPanel
for ALL my domains (2 hosted and 10 aliased) it says ea-php74
and for vcsy (main URL ) not aliased - it says ea-php54
guessing they reset it last (rollback) and they said they would?
but the error still exists

FYI
I just backed up the DB using myphp admin
and DL the Entire forum folder from my server to local HD
what is best what to 'remake?' upload?? all to a test folder on server
ie different folder or what ever
should I run a fresh install of the SMF ( it is an APP from my host)
is yes - can I then use old DB?
wish I had more time to play with all this
other suggestions?
THANKS



Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • A Peculiar Finn
  • Project Manager
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,821
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • LexArma on GitHub
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
    • My Daily Dose Of Blasphemy
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2021, 11:12:35 AM »
Before panicking and overwriting everything as an attempted fix, it would be sensible to try and find out what is wrong first.

First things first, check that your Settings.php is fine - then check your DB connection, and the DB credentials and compare them to the ones in your Settings.php
A Finnish Project Manager (Support Specialist)
Happily running multiple SMF 2.x installations.
 Fooling around with an i7-10700 @ 2,90GHz-4.80GHz / 16Gb / RTX-2070 Super / 3840x2160 / Win 10 x64


How you can help SMF

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2021, 11:23:55 AM »
ok - read the settings php
it said version 2.0
it also listed all the connection settings
but how do I make sure they are still correct on the server?
can not imagine how it changed?
also =
was not going to REMAKE all - was just curious as to how to try in case I had to
convinced my pal that a working forum was more important than to just preserve the custom look and feel


Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • A Peculiar Finn
  • Project Manager
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,821
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • LexArma on GitHub
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
    • My Daily Dose Of Blasphemy
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2021, 11:38:37 AM »
Your host or your hosting control panel should help you with the DB connection info. The error message shown would imply that everything is most likely as it should be, except for the small fact that SMF is unable to talk to your database. So figuring out why we can't reach the database, is the first step. You can also try to see if your server's error log shows anything that might be relevant.
A Finnish Project Manager (Support Specialist)
Happily running multiple SMF 2.x installations.
 Fooling around with an i7-10700 @ 2,90GHz-4.80GHz / 16Gb / RTX-2070 Super / 3840x2160 / Win 10 x64


How you can help SMF

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2021, 12:09:20 PM »
i found the DB and ran the cPanel - check DataBase = all passed
I also reset the PHP to 7.1 for the domain
(not sure how long that takes?)
I am promised a call from tech in 36 hours?

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2021, 01:14:54 PM »
I just made a new forum using the Server farm app = works great'
shows version 2.0.18 on the bottom
just for fun - how do I use the old database?
I do not care about the themes, add ons, gui etc et the moment
ty
PS
STILL want to fix my problem(S)

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2021, 01:21:19 PM »
just found this on another post: (guess it proves not something I did)

Quote
In an ongoing effort to bring you the very best products and services, we will be upgrading all of our servers to PHP 7.4. In addition to improved data processing, which can boost your site’s speed and performance, you’ll also gain increased security. Newer versions of PHP have more frequent security updates to help protect your site against unwanted hacks or malware.

When will it happen?

At some point during the upgrade window -- February 09, 2021 through February 14, 2021 -- your account will be updated, and older versions of PHP will no longer be supported. You may experience a brief disruption in service during this time
Do I need to do anything on my end?
Yes, if you have any custom code or plugins, we recommend that you upgrade all of your web installations to the newest PHP software available before we upgrade your account. Newer versions of PHP are already available on your current server, and you can set your site to use those versions with this helpful guide. You should also backup all of your website files.

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 60,203
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2021, 02:44:36 PM »
However... php 7.4 should not have broken the connection to the database -- it would just show php error messages about deprecated code
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • A Peculiar Finn
  • Project Manager
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,821
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • LexArma on GitHub
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
    • My Daily Dose Of Blasphemy
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2021, 03:14:56 PM »
just for fun - how do I use the old database?
The same way you would use it on the old install. You would need to know how to connect to it, and that's the problem right?
If you need to, repair_settings.php can help with changing the settings of an SMF install.
A Finnish Project Manager (Support Specialist)
Happily running multiple SMF 2.x installations.
 Fooling around with an i7-10700 @ 2,90GHz-4.80GHz / 16Gb / RTX-2070 Super / 3840x2160 / Win 10 x64


How you can help SMF

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2021, 06:09:06 PM »
I agree - server changing PHp should not have broken it -  but something did
cannot run repair settings on old site - can note see wanting to run?
I did see this option on new install
looked for it using FTPin to old site - can not fund the file - where is it?

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,936
  • We were all equal in the end.
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2021, 06:21:47 PM »
You have to upload repair_settings.php to forum root and run it with direct link.  Did you read Lex's link?  Get the file there.
“The best laid schemes o' mice an' men / Gang aft a-gley.” - Robert Burns

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #17 on: February 11, 2021, 06:31:55 PM »
sorry  saw the link - but though it was a sample
just read it = I think I can do it
will report back
THANKS

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #18 on: February 11, 2021, 07:02:57 PM »
did as instructed - got the same error
ran this:
(SNIP)
go this:
This page isn’t working vcsy-chat.com is currently unable to handle this request.
HTTP ERROR 500
« Last Edit: February 12, 2021, 01:53:15 AM by Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen »

Offline Matthias

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 163
  • Gender: Male
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #19 on: February 11, 2021, 07:20:00 PM »
The request is:
HTTP ERROR 500

Feel free to look for this error message at your favourited search engine...
That's not an problem with SMF.
Quality first

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #20 on: February 11, 2021, 07:57:42 PM »
well = if I run a normal url.html in that folder -- it works
I made a new SMF in a sister folder = it works
but will not run ANY PHP from the folder that gave the warning = OR it says connection error
yes= BIZARRE

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,936
  • We were all equal in the end.
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #21 on: February 11, 2021, 10:30:54 PM »
That's a server error.  If repair_settings.php is in that directory, it should run even if it can't connect to database.
“The best laid schemes o' mice an' men / Gang aft a-gley.” - Robert Burns

Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • A Peculiar Finn
  • Project Manager
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,821
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • LexArma on GitHub
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
    • My Daily Dose Of Blasphemy
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #22 on: February 12, 2021, 01:53:53 AM »
Please don't leave repair_settings.php on the server when you don't need it, and never link to it for your own protection.
I removed the link earlier.

Check your server's error log. Every HTTP500 should leave an entry there. If you can't find it, ask your host to look it up.
A Finnish Project Manager (Support Specialist)
Happily running multiple SMF 2.x installations.
 Fooling around with an i7-10700 @ 2,90GHz-4.80GHz / 16Gb / RTX-2070 Super / 3840x2160 / Win 10 x64


How you can help SMF

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2021, 10:16:05 AM »
ok = yoy have all been great
THANKS
now - abset of anything working
here is what I did so far
1. used FTP = and backed up my entire folder holding the forum
2. used phpMYadmin to export the SQL file to my laptop
3. used cPanel to install 2.18 in same folder level as other forum (but different folder)
3A. it works perfect
4. imported the old DB into new smf = wow - I can see the old posts!
BUT - as expected = ALL formatting is lost
(was hoping that the new install would override?)
  hmmm tried to input an image here
 do not min using new formating
question:
A. what do I upload from my saved folders on old forum folder?
B. what if I try to install the original v2.0 from, SMF archives?







Offline shadav

  • Support Specialist
  • Sophist Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,265
  • Gender: Female
    • shadav on Facebook
    • leashadav on GitHub
    • Ask The Muslims: A Place To Ask Honest Questions and Receive Respectful Answers
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #24 on: February 12, 2021, 10:27:33 AM »
3. used cPanel to install 2.18 in same folder level as other forum (but different folder)
3A. it works perfect
4. imported the old DB into new smf = wow - I can see the old posts!
BUT - as expected = ALL formatting is lost

don't forget to run the upgrade.php to update the old database to 2.0.18
formatting as in ... ? how the site looked?
that would be your theme's css files
and possibly any edits to your theme's files you may have done

I basically did the same with an old site of mine that was nearly impossible to upgrade (heavily modified) ....
installed new 2.0.18
ripped out the important parts from my old db and uploaded them to my new db
used winmerge to compare old files with new files and made changes where needed that I had done to the template (not including mods that were installed)
and copied over needed folders from the old to the new (attachments, avatars, smileys, ect)
reinstalled all mods one by one

it was a pain but less of a pain then trying to fix/update the forum as it was....

Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • A Peculiar Finn
  • Project Manager
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,821
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • LexArma on GitHub
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
    • My Daily Dose Of Blasphemy
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #25 on: February 12, 2021, 10:37:02 AM »
What if you just switch the old install to use the new DB?
Make a backup copy of your old settings.php and edit in the details for the new database that is working.
If this works, then we could be fairly sure the problem is with the old database somehow. If not, then we know it's something broken with the install.
A Finnish Project Manager (Support Specialist)
Happily running multiple SMF 2.x installations.
 Fooling around with an i7-10700 @ 2,90GHz-4.80GHz / 16Gb / RTX-2070 Super / 3840x2160 / Win 10 x64


How you can help SMF

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,936
  • We were all equal in the end.
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #26 on: February 12, 2021, 11:20:46 AM »
BUT - as expected = ALL formatting is lost
(was hoping that the new install would override?)

You have to run repair_settings to fix theme paths and revert all members to default theme.
“The best laid schemes o' mice an' men / Gang aft a-gley.” - Robert Burns

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #27 on: February 12, 2021, 11:42:48 AM »
ok -
three good ideas
fyi
when I reloaded the v2.0 = I could not connect to DB - even  new blank on
(during the install.php)
argh

I think I will take a breath and relax and try again over weekend
still waiting for hi level tech support to call me from server farm

THANKS !

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #28 on: February 12, 2021, 11:59:22 AM »
wow
I tried one more thing
it worked - SORT of
i ran repair settings and pointed all directories to NEW folders
(after copying ALL old folders to new install tree)
the HOME page works:


but if I hit ANY link. I get this:


getting closer?

keep helping please !!!



Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,936
  • We were all equal in the end.
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #29 on: February 12, 2021, 12:25:14 PM »
You have to run repair_settings to fix theme paths and revert all members to default theme.

Try this again.
“The best laid schemes o' mice an' men / Gang aft a-gley.” - Robert Burns

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 60,203
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #30 on: February 12, 2021, 12:50:59 PM »
basically, as mentioned, you have to run it one more time.

The first time, it set the correct boardURL and paths and database...

once it could actually CONNECT to the database, you need a second run to set the theme paths and urls (which are stoed in the database, not in the Settings file.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #31 on: February 12, 2021, 02:00:27 PM »
ok --ok
will try again
THANKS'

fingers crossed


Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #32 on: February 12, 2021, 02:31:54 PM »
someone said above to run /upgrade.php/
where is that file?
and I ran repair again -
but all the recommended settings are already in the boxes


Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #33 on: February 12, 2021, 03:05:39 PM »
holy wow batman
is now working????????????????
on a whim = i ran repair a 3rd time
ta dah
you guys are GREAT
now that is works perfect on a TEST folder
am afraid to move it to another folder  ::) ::) ::) ::)
now the world sees my top level name  hmmm?
is it easy to move? again?
now that it is working
ps
I re-used the iframe pointing to the test folder
worked on home page  - but not when linked
so changed the pointer not to use the iFrane and just link to the test folder


Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,936
  • We were all equal in the end.
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #34 on: February 12, 2021, 09:09:59 PM »
If test directory is at same level as production forum, you can just rename the directories and run repair_settings yet again.

Why are you running it in an iframe?
“The best laid schemes o' mice an' men / Gang aft a-gley.” - Robert Burns

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,936
  • We were all equal in the end.
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #35 on: February 12, 2021, 10:26:14 PM »
someone said above to run /upgrade.php/

You don't have to run upgrade.php if you're already at 2.0.13.  It upgrades the database from 1.1 to 2.0, which you've already done, and there were no database changes in 2.0 branch so you're good to 2.0.18.

“The best laid schemes o' mice an' men / Gang aft a-gley.” - Robert Burns

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #36 on: February 13, 2021, 10:04:27 AM »
Quote
If test directory is at same level as the production forum, you can just rename the directories and run repair_settings yet again.
at my server -- I own  myname.com and also abc-chat.com (which is aliased to a folder called abc.com) and the old (broken forum was in a folder called abc.com/forum
I made a test folder (not seen the world as TEST) and put a new smf18 install there and copied all my back up files there
and imported the old SQL
so this works ==> myname.com/TEST (which hold the new forum)
and the NAV button from the old site no links direct to myname.com/Test

like I said -- happy it work now - afraid to move it and break it
hmmm
will this work?
delete all OLD forum files (is backed up locally 2x)
reload new smf 18 on the old forum folder
and copy up old files (from backup that is working on myname.com/TEST and import DB again?
that sounds safe enough? as I will keep the new site as is



Quote
Why are you running it in an iframe?
(the forum was (is) part of a normal HTML site - so one of the nav tabs just went to a page in the site  and it was easier to manage the overall look and feel and navigating  - but seem not to work anymore
well, the forum OPENED in the site - but then secondary pages do not open - will try later  - in the meantime the nav tab points to a whole new domain (see above)

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,936
  • We were all equal in the end.
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #37 on: February 13, 2021, 10:23:15 PM »
I wouldn't delete anything.  Rename abc.com/forum > abc.com/forum_sav, create new directory abc.com/forum, copy working install from myname.com/TEST to new abc.com/forum, run repair_settings to fix paths.
“The best laid schemes o' mice an' men / Gang aft a-gley.” - Robert Burns

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #38 on: February 15, 2021, 03:30:22 PM »
I wouldn't delete anything.  Rename abc.com/forum > abc.com/forum_sav, create new directory abc.com/forum, copy working install from myname.com/TEST to new abc.com/forum, run repair_settings to fix paths.

this was close to what I did = I just made a NEW folder (ie Forum, not forum)
made fresh install (using cpanel)
(was worried about copying from one pace to another)
imported old SQL into new DB
ran repair_settings to fix paths
but 2 more issues - had to edit the DB  prefix!
THEN the old posts showed up
caution - this also BROKE my login info - but ta dah - tried the original user name and pwd\
and copied by hand (ftp) the old attachments, etc
this was important because members had MANY MANY docs attached

summary -- new v 2.0.18 works
lost a year of custom GUI etc -- but not needed
THANKS EVERYONE




Offline Steve

  • Freak
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,807
  • Gender: Male
  • I have not yet begun to procrastinate.
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #39 on: February 16, 2021, 03:28:09 PM »
I've been waiting until this was resolved to make a small comment. Please try to make your topic titles indicate what the problem is. The reason being that nondescript titles often get skipped due to the volume of support requests we get.

Just a friendly reminder. :)
Please do not PM me for support.

I just ordered a life alert bracelet so
if I get a life, I'll be notified immediately.

Offline TheDragon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
Re: need help from a real pro
« Reply #40 on: February 16, 2021, 09:59:21 PM »
I've been waiting until this was resolved to make a small comment. Please try to make your topic titles indicate what the problem is. The reason being that nondescript titles often get skipped due to the volume of support requests we get.

Just a friendly reminder. :)

great suggestion
THANKS