Advertisement:

Author Topic: Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120  (Read 6786 times)

Offline hotrod007

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 161
    • NJ Saltwater Fishing
Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120
« on: March 20, 2021, 07:12:26 AM »
I have a large 25 GIG Joomla site running 1.5 with a large 1.120 smf Forums..   I need to move this off a dedicated server to a cheaper cloud.  I have upgrade many 1.5 joomla sites using daycounts program with ease..  I am just a little confused on the path I should take to get both these updated and moved to a new cloud server..  I know I will need a new Template for the joomla and the SMF Since I'm running an old one for both..

Should I  create a back up on my  dedicated server?  then move it over..  I don't think my server has the ability to run the proper PHP Version.

Just looking for the proper path I should take or how you guys would proceed with this..

Thank You!

Rod

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,949
  • We were all equal in the end.
Re: Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2021, 03:58:06 PM »
Make a local backup of all forum files and your database.  Upload files to new server, create database and import db dump, run repair_settings.php to set db credentials, then again to fix paths.  Usually a good idea to get forum up and running in 1.1, then upgrade to 2.0.18, but you'll need older php version.  IIRC, it will run in 5.6 but log a lot of errors.  Upload 2.0.18 large upgrade package, run upgrade.php to upgrade db.  1.1 mods and themes will not work in 2.0, you'll need to find current versions.

https://wiki.simplemachines.org/smf/SMF2.0:Requirements_and_recommendations

https://wiki.simplemachines.org/smf/Repair_settings.php

https://download.simplemachines.org/

https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=534915.0
“The best laid schemes o' mice an' men / Gang aft a-gley.” - Robert Burns

Offline hotrod007

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 161
    • NJ Saltwater Fishing
Re: Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2021, 07:41:04 PM »
At what point would I upgrade the Joomla ..  First?

Offline hotrod007

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 161
    • NJ Saltwater Fishing
Re: Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2021, 07:55:52 AM »
 Akeeba back up the old site.. that will grab the forums folder and data base.

... rebuild /  Upgrade the joomla on the new server with DaysCounts in one data base without the forums.  Then Bring the forums data base over and do what you said?   I'm not sure you can get 5... PHP
« Last Edit: March 21, 2021, 08:13:11 AM by hotrod007 »

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 60,230
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2021, 07:32:35 PM »
Be careful, I'm not certain there is a stable bridge for smf 2.0.x and joomla
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline hotrod007

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 161
    • NJ Saltwater Fishing
Re: Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2021, 05:52:37 AM »
Hum...   then I would just make them separate sites?

Offline Dzonny

  • Localizer
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,606
  • Gender: Male
  • No sleep...
    • dzontra.nikola on Facebook
    • Dzonny on GitHub
    • dzontranikola on LinkedIn
    • @opusteniforum on Twitter
    • Samo opusteno
Re: Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2021, 06:59:54 AM »
Hum...   then I would just make them separate sites?
That's always an option.
However you should search and see if there's a bridge available, jfusion or something similar, nor really sure since I don't use joomla.

Offline hotrod007

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 161
    • NJ Saltwater Fishing
Re: Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2021, 05:18:42 AM »
  Can you define " Bridge" ?  I don't understand  what Joomla has to do with SMF..  it just sits in a folder.. Forum users do not have  registration access on the joomla side..

and what is the highest PHP 1.1.20 can run on..   Do I have to upgrade the forums.. if I just make it it's own site in C Panel..

I just need to get both off this Costly dedicated box..

Offline Dzonny

  • Localizer
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,606
  • Gender: Male
  • No sleep...
    • dzontra.nikola on Facebook
    • Dzonny on GitHub
    • dzontranikola on LinkedIn
    • @opusteniforum on Twitter
    • Samo opusteno
Re: Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2021, 05:48:17 AM »
Oh, we assumed that you have some kind of bridge between those two softwares. If you don't, SMF and Joomla are not connected in any way, so you may treat those independently.

Regards the SMF itself, 1.1.x branch reached EOL, so it's highly recommended to upgrade to 2.0 branch.
More info about 1.1 branch and php versions:
https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=534915.0

Offline hotrod007

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 161
    • NJ Saltwater Fishing
Re: Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2021, 07:01:18 PM »
Thanks Guys.. I will be back.. gunna take this slow and one step at a time.


Offline hotrod007

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 161
    • NJ Saltwater Fishing
Re: Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120
« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2021, 04:28:37 PM »
  That was pretty easy..  I didn't upgrade.. I was able to backup and move my joomla site with all the files to a cloud server.. then save and reload the SMF data base..   I'm pretty happy.  Host was able to force php 5.5  and I did have to silence some errors reporting..   Now I will think about upgrading..  One issue..

  It seems its not keeping me logged in..  I read to "change Cookie Name"   can I just do that in settings?

Offline hotrod007

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 161
    • NJ Saltwater Fishing
Re: Moving and Ugradading large 1.5 Joomla site with SMF 1.120
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2021, 06:20:55 PM »
 That seemed to have worked itself out once all the links propigated