Help request: Moving from SMF 2.0.4 to SMF 2.0.18

Started by Voodoo Chile, March 20, 2021, 10:07:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Voodoo Chile

Hi everyone, I'm new here and I'm new in technical stuff too, before asking this I read the "READ FIRST: How to help us help you" thread, then went to the "wiki page" linked there and last, I searched the board and read the first 4 pages of this message board and couldn't find this question/request for help.

I have two message boards at rocksoff dot org, one of them is there since 2003 and is SMF 2.0.4, my host provider one day removed the board without informing first, so I complained and the board is up but will be removed mid-April if I don't move to 18 before.

They told me that to move from SMF 2.0.4 to SMF 2.0.18 the change must be patch by patch, so we need 14 changes and the cost will be between $750 to $1,375 USD depending on how hard is the first move, if it's easy it will be "only" $750 and it will be done one each day, they say that patching must be done from one version to the next in the same series and that it's impossible to do the patching from 2.0.4 to 2.0.18

Questions:
  • Is it possible to move directly from SMF 2.0.4 to 2.0.18?
  • If I install SMF 2.0.18 can I import my archives in SMF 2.0.4
The message board I'm talking about is located here (LINK REMOVED AS I CANNOT POST LINKS, but its rocksoff dot org slash foroes)

Thanks in advance for any help!!

vbgamer45

I would find another host asap.
Backup your files/and database.

You can upgrade via smf's package manager each minor update to PHP 2.0.18 just check your PHP version.
Community Suite for SMF - Take your forum to the next level built for SMF, Gallery,Store,Classifieds,Downloads,more!

SMFHacks.com -  Paid Modifications for SMF

Mods:
EzPortal - Portal System for SMF
SMF Gallery Pro
SMF Store SMF Classifieds Ad Seller Pro

shadav

def get a new host....why would your host remove anything from your site unless it received a DMCA