Trying to understand image paste architecture in editor for 2.1 RC3

Started by bluevoodu, May 30, 2021, 09:00:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bluevoodu

I searched the community... either my terms are not right, or I Couldn't find what I'm looking for.  I started playing around with 2.1 RC3.  The screenshot and then pasting an image in the editor worked pretty well. Cudos to getting this work as these are important features moving forward.

I have used Drupal and updated the ckeditor to do this same functionality.  I've also used Xenforo with these features. It's been 2-3 years since I last did this, so I could be incorrectly remembering how it functioned.  I thought there were ways  to store the images in certain specific file paths.   I am not sure where the images are being stored for smf 2.1 rc3, but it appears they are not being stored in folders after a few tests.  They appear to be converted and stored in the database?  I'm still looking at where this is.  I had to "up" the text in a post to over 20k characters to make it possible to do screenshots.  Multiple screenshots will require a bigger bump.

Am I correct on this?  or how are the images being stored? 
We want you to join:
Chicken Dinner Gaming Community

GL700Wing

On my SMF 2.1 RC3 forums message attachments are stored in the directory/folder configured in Administration Center -> Attachments and Avatars -> Attachment Directories .
Life doesn't have to be perfect to be wonderful ...

Slava
Ukraini!
"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum. Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

live627

Images pasted into the editor are encoded into base64 and saved in the database.

GL700Wing

Quote from: live627 on May 31, 2021, 06:35:09 AM
Images pasted into the editor are encoded into base64 and saved in the database.