VB3 to SMF, in 2023?! Grateful for a bit of help and moral support!

Started by MartyHunter, June 14, 2023, 03:43:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MartyHunter

Hi all. A very close friend of mine has run a forum for decades. He's old now but doens't want the forum to die just yet so I am hoping to help him. He pays out of pocket to run the forum (no monetisation) so he's not keen on my first idea of paying for Xenforo (only suggested as I heard they do manual imports). But it's pricey, and then I found SMF so I am wondering if it's possible (for me!) to convert his VB3.8.5 forum to SMF?

If so, how much tech stuff is involved? I have moved and built websites and forums, but I am NO developer. I have reluctantly dived into database files once, to fix an issue he had with the site a few years back. After a WEEK of looking through code (I barely could make sense of), I did eventually find the culprit, but I really don't want to be going through that again!

So... can a VB 3.8.5 forum be converted to SMF with relative ease?

Grateful for any thoughts. Thanks

Diego Andrés

You could setup a backup locally and test the converter for 3.7 and see if you have any issues with it.
You could also attempt to upgrade your current forum to v4.0 > convert to SMF 2.0.19 > upgrade to SMF 2.1.

Of course, make sure you backup your files and database.

SMF Tricks - Free & Premium Responsive Themes for SMF.

Sudhakar Arjunan

Hi MartyHunter,

When I learnt using internet first I used phbb then after 2-3 years I have moved to smf as its too user friendly and been using it for 17 years now if am correct since 2005 I remember.

Had thought where I could move to VB as they handle large forums also xenforo once in 2012 by taking a paid version. But as you greatly said there converts are different and mostly happens manually.

So I have sticked to smf for 17 years now and highly recommended for large forums like mine.
229,317 Posts in 180,923 Topics by 42,033 Members