News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Different domain - display latest posts.

Started by shinglis, January 07, 2022, 02:27:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shinglis

Ok for background I have some basic html knowledge but very limited when it comes to pho and databases.

I would like to create a holding page ( advertising page) on a different domain, showing the latest posts from the forum.

Maybe try to make it clear, what I'm looking to do;
Domain A - single simple page showing forum latest posts which is on domain B.

So would like to know, is it easy to do? Any security issues? I have full control over both domains under the same hosting account and know all the relevant database security info. (Server up, username, password etc)

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Chen Zhen

Yes you can make use of SSI.php to display a basic table containing latest posts.
This table can be displayed on the other forum/page as is or you can develop your own DOM parser to gather the data & display it as you wish.

example:
https://www.simplemachines.org/community/SSI.php?ssi_function=recentPosts;

My SMF Mods & Plug-Ins

WebDev

"Either you repeat the same conventional doctrines everybody is saying, or else you say something true, and it will sound like it's from Neptune." - Noam Chomsky

Kindred

The issue is doing it on a different domain.
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

shinglis

Thanks, due to the different domain, would display RSS be easier or just use iframe ?

Kindred

Iframes are poor design,these days,  and potentially insecure
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.