where are the mail() processes / functions located in the SMF folders

Started by rcane, January 30, 2022, 03:18:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rcane

Is there a way I can find the mail functions that are within SMF?

I have a script outside SMF I'm working on that should be sending a test message to me but I think it's got to do with not have SMTP or PHPMail setup properly.

I know SMF mails out just fine so I was hoping to see where it points.   This is NOT a spamming quest or the like. 

I'm just learning php and want to see what I'm missing.

Arantor

The SMF mail routines are in Subs-Post but are hellishly complicated between the mail queue and the various handling that goes on.

How is your SMF setup exactly?

rcane

Quote from: Arantor on January 30, 2022, 03:31:53 PMThe SMF mail routines are in Subs-Post but are hellishly complicated between the mail queue and the various handling that goes on.

How is your SMF setup exactly?

I'm not sure I can answer that correctly.  Do you mean in terms of installation or configuration, because except for personalizing the installation I didn't make any major changes.

Arantor

You said SMF is working correctly, so whatever is set up in the Mail Settings page must work. What are those settings? Are you using an external SMTP for example?

These settings directly affect the methodologies SMF will use to send mail - and thus what might be feasible to do in your script... if you are doing external SMTP, trying to do it in an external script is a nightmare unless you include SSI.php, include Subs-Post.php and push it through SMF's mail code because it's actually really complex to do and SMF does it by hand.

rcane

to clarify, I'm not trying to mail or manipulate SMF in any way; the mail settings page though does show PHP and not SMTP (port 25).

I was making a testMail.php file that checked a random webpage to see if it contained a word (yeah, I'm original).   If the word was there, send an email.