News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

How can I send sms via php's mail function()?

Started by irfanaspl, March 11, 2022, 06:42:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

irfanaspl

A few days ago, I created an alert system that sends me a mail whenever certain APIs are called (or others).

The system works perfectly on email. It is received in the mailbox where it is sent once the function returns true.

For some reason when sending to an SMS gateway (i.e. [email protected]) the function sends it (it does return true) however it never gets received on the other end.

I can send the same exact email address (that goes to the SMS gatekeeper) through an email client (like Zimbra or whatever) and it will pass through fine.

Honestly, I'm more of a web designer than an e-mail expert. My understanding is that it has to do with headers or something along those lines, but I have no knowledge of this technical subject.

In speaking with my IT guy, he said that it looks like the "From" address in the headers is incorrect. Rather than coming from a valid email address, the email looks like it is coming from "www.data@[server name]" rather than what I am sending via the header, which is a valid email address.

Here is my PHP code:

<?php

$carriers = array("@messaging.sprintpcs.com");

//get to email
if (isset($_POST['to'])) {
$to = $_POST['to'];
}

// get from email
if (isset($_POST['from'])) {
$from = $_POST['from'];
$fromHeader = "From: ".$from."\r\n Sender: ".$from."\r\n";
}

// get subject
if (isset($_POST['subject'])) {
$subject = $_POST['subject'];
}

// get message
if (isset($_POST['message'])) {
$message = $_POST['message'];
}

// get cc
if (isset($_POST['cc'])) {
    if ($_POST['cc']!="") {
    $ccHeader = "CC: ".$_POST['cc']."\r\n";
    }
    else {
    $ccHeader="";
    }
}
else {
$ccHeader="";
}

// get bcc
if (isset($_POST['bcc'])) {
    if ($_POST['bcc']!="") {
    $bccHeader = "Bcc: ".$_POST['bcc']."\r\n";
    }
    else {