Images not renaming

Started by barrie, August 26, 2022, 04:13:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

barrie

Hi Guys, our forum at https://www.aircooledrdclub.com/smf has had an issue for a while that now needs more attention. I believe that when a member uploads an image the software automatically renames it to prevent overwriting images with the same name but ours does not do this and we are getting close to 50,000 images ! We have asked members to rename images with something random like drghh6u8jbbn.jpg but many of them are Luddites and its not in their capability. Can someone point me in the direction as to how we overcome this ? All help is much appreciated.

Steve

Your forum is 2.0.15 which is 4 versions behind in the 2.0 series. You're missing some very important security updates. I highly recommend upgrading to 2.0.19 and consider going to 2.1.2.
DO NOT pm me for support!

barrie

Thanks for the reply. I am not very technical. I look after the Forum after the passing of the guy who set it up. Is it just a case of downloading the next version from within the Forum and installing it and then the next version etc ? Excuse my ignorance.

Steve

Go to Admin -> Package Manager and it will show what the next version is and give you a link to install it. Keep doing this until you reach 2.0.19.

barrie

Thanks again. First upgrade did not go well as I got errors in line 38 : ./Sources/Profile/-Modify.php
Test failed

I will make a back up first but its 700mb so may take a while.

Think I may be out of my depth here !!

Doug Heffernan

Quote from: barrie on August 26, 2022, 08:44:07 AMThanks again. First upgrade did not go well as I got errors in line 38 : ./Sources/Profile/-Modify.php
Test failed

I will make a back up first but its 700mb so may take a while.

Think I may be out of my depth here !!

Click the icon next to the rror message and it will tell you what needs to be changed and where. You can apply the changes manually to the file(s) mentioned in the error.