Advertisement:

Author Topic: Post Count in Different Bases  (Read 9785 times)

Offline Thantos

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 16,163
  • Gender: Male
Post Count in Different Bases
« on: April 28, 2005, 02:07:10 PM »
Link to Mod

This mod allows you to specify which numeric base the post count should be displayed in.  Great for geeky goodness.
The base can be set for each theme.  If a none integer base is specified it will be truncated into an integer.
If the specified base is outside of the range of 2-36 inclusive then base 10 will be used.

Thanks to Ken Fitlike of http://www.entropysink.com for the orginal idea

Offline dtm.exe

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,465
Re: Post Count in Different Bases
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2005, 04:18:37 PM »
I don't understand exactly what this mod does :-\...

EDIT:  Nevermind, now I think I know what this does.  I think it displays users' postcounts in binary :P.

-Dan The Man
« Last Edit: April 28, 2005, 04:23:02 PM by OIDanTheManIO »

Offline Thantos

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 16,163
  • Gender: Male
Re: Post Count in Different Bases
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2005, 04:23:45 PM »
Why doesn't that surprise me.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Numeral_system

Like I said it's designed for geeky goodness.

Offline dtm.exe

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,465
Re: Post Count in Different Bases
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2005, 04:26:56 PM »
Hah!  Very ingenius :).  Well done!

-Dan The Man

Offline Trekkie101

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,157
  • Gender: Male
  • Ad Astra!
    • https://www.facebook.com/DLRPRoundup on Facebook
    • @dlrproundup on Twitter
    • DLRP Roundup
Re: Post Count in Different Bases
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2005, 09:57:26 AM »
Sounds cool, hehe, I can think of one of my members, wondering why their post count changed so quickly.

Offline Oldiesmann

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 24,866
  • Gender: Male
  • Ask me about the function DB :)
    • oldiesmann on Facebook
    • Oldiesmann on GitHub
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/michaeleshom on LinkedIn
    • @oldiesmann on Twitter
    • Archie Comics Fan Forum
Re: Post Count in Different Bases
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2005, 11:00:53 AM »
Two things...

1. The "Roman Numerals" option doesn't work. If I change it to "R", my post count on my test board is displayed normally (ie "63"), and not in Roman Numerals (which would be "LXIII").
2. You need to add an un-install option to the mod.
Michael Eshom
Cincy Space - now open!

Offline Thantos

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 16,163
  • Gender: Male
Re: Post Count in Different Bases
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2005, 11:26:49 AM »
Two things...

1. The "Roman Numerals" option doesn't work. If I change it to "R", my post count on my test board is displayed normally (ie "63"), and not in Roman Numerals (which would be "LXIII").
2. You need to add an un-install option to the mod.
1) Fixed, I'll have a new version up sometime today.
2) To be honest I made this mod up rather quickly and didn't want to take the time dealing with the Package Manager's refusal to operate correctly.  I have reported the problem with it not replacing with nothing with no response and I got tired of it.

Offline UnpackedRope

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Post Count in Different Bases
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2006, 01:20:17 PM »
Hi,

I know it's been a while so apologies for dragging this back up but I just spotted the mod and being a geek myself thought it'd be quite cool to have on my board but I'm having trouble getting it to show the post count as Roman numerals.  Using V1.1 on 1.1 RC1.

Thanks!