Advertisement:

Author Topic: SMF Translation FAQ  (Read 383778 times)

Offline agridoc

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,274
  • Gender: Male
    • Aeromodelling GR - Aeromodelling in Greece
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #420 on: January 31, 2008, 08:04:14 AM »
A button set generator, for instance, Marco van Veelen's Button Generator.

First switch the browser to UTF-8 then choose SMF button style. Non English languages don't work in ISO 8859-1.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2008, 08:07:49 AM by agridoc »
  For Greek aeromodellers and our friends around the world  - Greek Button sets for SMF - Greeklish to Greek mod
Δeν αφιερώνω χρόνο για μηνύματα σε greeklish.

Offline Daniel D.

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,426
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #421 on: February 01, 2008, 02:49:13 PM »
Did you try that ssdt?

Offline †д∩αỷ ĎάПα

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #422 on: February 01, 2008, 04:34:13 PM »
No, did not work. The characters becomes blocks and they are not what I wanted. i turned on my character encoding to UFT-8. But still it did not work.

Offline agridoc

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,274
  • Gender: Male
    • Aeromodelling GR - Aeromodelling in Greece
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #423 on: February 01, 2008, 05:00:13 PM »
You must choose a font that contains the charset of your language.

That could be a problem with some languages.

ssdt can you post a word in your language to try with?
  For Greek aeromodellers and our friends around the world  - Greek Button sets for SMF - Greeklish to Greek mod
Δeν αφιερώνω χρόνο για μηνύματα σε greeklish.

Offline †д∩αỷ ĎάПα

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #424 on: February 02, 2008, 06:54:46 AM »
No it did not work. Can you see this?
কি

if you can, then there some other method

Offline agridoc

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,274
  • Gender: Male
    • Aeromodelling GR - Aeromodelling in Greece
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #425 on: February 02, 2008, 08:40:02 AM »
I can see one (or two) strange character, that can't be used with Buttongenerator by Marco van Veelen neither with Bloc's Button-generator.

I can make buttons in Greek, Russian, Arabic, Hebrew not in Chinese and your language. Bloc has explained in the past that it' s a matter of character sets available in the font used.

What I can think that you can do now is use the Buttongenerator to make empty buttons, then use a graphics program of your choise to add text.
  For Greek aeromodellers and our friends around the world  - Greek Button sets for SMF - Greeklish to Greek mod
Δeν αφιερώνω χρόνο για μηνύματα σε greeklish.

Offline †д∩αỷ ĎάПα

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #426 on: February 02, 2008, 08:43:34 AM »
Yeah, that's the only hope.
I would like to ask something else too. That is that is there any guides on how  to translate SMF. If so, could you give me the link.

Thanks

Offline agridoc

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,274
  • Gender: Male
    • Aeromodelling GR - Aeromodelling in Greece
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #427 on: February 02, 2008, 08:57:20 AM »
Read the first post for instructions (I believe I mentioned it already twice).

Also How do I add a new language?
  For Greek aeromodellers and our friends around the world  - Greek Button sets for SMF - Greeklish to Greek mod
Δeν αφιερώνω χρόνο για μηνύματα σε greeklish.

Offline casper_17

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #428 on: February 02, 2008, 04:07:51 PM »
fatal error :S
www.waptr.org [nofollow]
www.waptr.org [nofollow]

Offline Daniel D.

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,426
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #429 on: February 03, 2008, 03:17:58 AM »

Offline †д∩αỷ ĎάПα

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #430 on: February 19, 2008, 05:11:07 AM »
I have translated some of SMF and when I want to use it, it doesn't work. I get an error message saying- Template parse error.

Offline Daniel D.

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,426
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #431 on: February 19, 2008, 05:45:14 AM »
Then you forgot something in the files. Email them to me and I can take a look.

Offline †д∩αỷ ĎάПα

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #432 on: February 19, 2008, 03:52:01 PM »
Then you forgot something in the files. Email them to me and I can take a look.


Oh, I thought that I could translate one file and then check them.
Thanks.

Offline Daniel D.

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,426
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #433 on: February 19, 2008, 11:20:12 PM »
You can, but you deleted something by accident. Email me the file that causes the error or all if you don't know which one.

Offline Daniel D.

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,426
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #434 on: February 21, 2008, 02:23:13 PM »
First: You should download english (!!), not english_british! Those files are not the ones who are up to date - please re-download!

You deleted the second point in here (index.xxx.php):
Quote
' . $txt[28] . '
Do NOT delete anything between the quotes if a text string is called from SMF.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2008, 02:34:18 PM by Daniel D. »

Offline †д∩αỷ ĎάПα

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #435 on: February 22, 2008, 05:27:26 AM »
Thanks, I got it.

Offline †д∩αỷ ĎάПα

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #436 on: February 23, 2008, 12:20:17 PM »
Now I need to know how to change the numbers so that they become in the other language. Can someone help me with that?

Offline Daniel D.

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,426
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #437 on: February 23, 2008, 01:11:56 PM »
You don't have to change the numbers! Did you read the FAQ in the first post? You only have to translate the english words. If there is another number in the text string, don't touch it and leave it as it is.

Offline †д∩αỷ ĎάПα

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #438 on: February 23, 2008, 02:38:57 PM »
OK, thanks. but I wanted to do that for my forum. I am not going to put that inside the translation.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2008, 10:07:41 AM by ssdt »

Offline Daniel D.

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,426
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF Translation FAQ
« Reply #439 on: February 25, 2008, 01:29:27 PM »
You must NOT change the numbers because SMF will stop working. There is NO need for changing them. I don't know what you want to add to the translation beside translating the text. You can add all things into the strings, but you should not change the numbers before the strings or inside the strings surrounded with points and quotes.

Example:
Quote
$txt['smf55'] = 'Hold down the ctrl key to select multiple entries.  Click the ' . $txt[17] . ' button when you are done.';
Don't translate the red text or delete points, quotes or numbers! You can mix up the words in your language, but you should check what you translated.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2008, 04:34:22 PM by Daniel D. »