Advertisement:

Author Topic: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode  (Read 9013 times)

Offline easykey

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Gender: Male
  • learning the ropes
    • easykey
Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« on: April 27, 2006, 07:43:16 PM »
Joomla 1.08 with SMF 1.1 RC2
When I have SMF in wrapped mode when I click on a board title it returns a 404 Not Found Error

Any ideas?
« Last Edit: June 01, 2006, 10:27:42 PM by Orstio »

Offline easykey

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Gender: Male
  • learning the ropes
    • easykey
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2006, 08:10:44 PM »
In fact I cannot open any board in any mode ?

EDIT: Not true - I can open it when it is not wrapped
« Last Edit: April 27, 2006, 08:27:55 PM by easykey »

Offline easykey

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Gender: Male
  • learning the ropes
    • easykey
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2006, 08:34:53 PM »
Probably a good idea to show the problem

See http://www.easykey.net/component/option,com_smf/Itemid,96/

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2006, 09:21:47 PM »
Turn off compressed output in SMF.

Offline easykey

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Gender: Male
  • learning the ropes
    • easykey
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2006, 01:45:10 PM »
Where  ???

Offline easykey

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Gender: Male
  • learning the ropes
    • easykey
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2006, 04:25:22 PM »
OK, I have found that the wrapped mode only works on my Joomla site if I switch off Search Engine Friendly URLs in the Joomla Global configuration.

So to be clear:  When in SMF Bridge is in wrapped mode and Joomla Search Engine Friendly URLs is ON you can see the boards but when you click the hyperlink to open any board it returns a 404 Not Found Error (blank page)

When you switch OFF Search Engine Friendly URLs the links to open the boards works fine.

This is a pain as:

1. The SEO friendly URLs are turning up on page one of Google

2. My Joomla site is peppered with SEO friendly URLs that I will have to manually change to the none SEO versions

Is there a fix for the SMF bridge to work with the Joomla SEO ON ?

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2006, 05:53:58 PM »
Can you post the contents of your .htaccess ?

Offline drumsage

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Gender: Male
    • www.drummercafe.com
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2006, 12:27:54 AM »
I have the exact same issue. Was their any solution to this?

Here's what appears in my .htaccess file, although I've been running standard SEO in Joola and not using the .htaccess file ... meaning that I never renamed it from .htaccess.txt.

Here's a hint, and may be the issue. I'm not using the mod_rewrite but rather using an alternate means to get the SEO to work correctly by uncommenting the following line in the Joomla file, sef.php, per Joomla's directions.

return $mosConfig_live_site.'/index.php/'.$string;

So this may be the issue. I may just have to try and get the mod_rewrite working on my dedicated  server but thus far I've been unsuccessful doing so.

SMF 1.1.10 |  Joomla 1.5.14

Offline drumsage

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Gender: Male
    • www.drummercafe.com
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2006, 01:13:59 AM »
I'm confused with the .htaccess contents.

The reason being that what you all seem to suggest SHOULD be in the .htaccess file, supplied with Joomla, is not what is there at all.

Here's what the htaccess.txt, which you rename to .htaccess, looks like:

Quote
##
# @version $Id: htaccess.txt 1570 2005-12-29 05:53:33Z eddieajau $
# @package Joomla
# @copyright Copyright (C) 2005 Open Source Matters. All rights reserved.
# @license http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html GNU/GPL
# Joomla! is Free Software
##

Options +FollowSymLinks

#
#  mod_rewrite in use
#

RewriteEngine On

##
## NOTE!
## When using multiple Joomla sites or other web applications in sub-folders,
## you must explicitly turn the RewriteEngine off or use the settings
## recommended for the application
##

#  Uncomment following line if your webserver's URL
#  is not directly related to physical file paths.
#  Update YourJoomlaDirectory (just / for root)

#  RewriteBase /

#
#  Rules
#

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !\.(jpg|jpeg|gif|png|css|js|pl|txt)$
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*) index.php

I've tried combining the information that I've found here on the SMF boards regarding this issue, with the information that comes with Joomla ... and it still doesn't solve my problem or make sense.

Am I misunderstanding something?
SMF 1.1.10 |  Joomla 1.5.14

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2006, 06:39:29 AM »

Offline drumsage

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Gender: Male
    • www.drummercafe.com
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2006, 12:32:50 AM »
Thanks Orstio ... I actually already did that ... and I still have the same problems.

It seems there are a lot of us with the same problem, although others are having SEO problems for entirely different reasons which seem to get resolved.

In my case, the URL is clearly not being made "search engine friendly" when I have Joomla SEO turned ON, SMF's SEO turned OFF, and the bridge is wrapping SMF in Joomla. I have the .htaccess set-up as you've pointed out ... and I have mod_rewrite working perfectly with Joomla, no longer messing with the sef.php file in Joomla!

When I engage the bridge, currently just running the SMF forum as a test on my site, the SMF forum wraps perfectly with the SEO in the ON position for Joomla; OFF in SMF. However, as others have experienced, when we try to click on any link on the SMF board, we get the 404 Error. Here's an example of what the URL looks like (minus the domain name being removed by here for this example) ... which leads to the error:

Quote
http://www.XXXXXX.com/Itemid,41?option=com_smf&Itemid=41&board=7.0

I'm using the .htaccess exactly as you've suggested and which I've read in many threads here on this forum. I've spent a lot of hours researching and looking for answers, but it seems that this is just a problem which is here to stay ... until a real fix or rewrite is implemented.

I'm open to any further suggestions and REALLY appreciate your patience with me as well as all the hundreds of other people who are freaking out , looking for answers.

SMF 1.1.10 |  Joomla 1.5.14

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2006, 06:47:45 AM »
What SEF engine do you have installed?  The bridge does not work with any 3rd party SEF components...

Offline drumsage

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Gender: Male
    • www.drummercafe.com
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #12 on: June 01, 2006, 06:15:32 AM »
What SEF engine do you have installed?  The bridge does not work with any 3rd party SEF components...

I'm only using the standard SEF engine that comes with Joomla. I already knew that the bridge doesn't work with any 3rd party SEF components.

On my site ... Joomla is set-up as root ... SMF is one directory down in /forum/ ... that's it. Whether it's wrapped or unwrapped, when using the Bridge with the out of the box Joomla 1.0.8, the links don't work in SMF 1.1 RC2. Now, if I don't use the Bridge, the SMF 1.1 RC2 links are just fine.

I'm only using your .htaccess example now ... set exactly as you've shown. Still had no luck.  :(
The SEO turned ON in Joomla still works great. SMF has it's SEO turned OFF.

Any further thoughts?
SMF 1.1.10 |  Joomla 1.5.14

Offline drumsage

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Gender: Male
    • www.drummercafe.com
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #13 on: June 01, 2006, 06:28:16 AM »
By the way, on my SMF forum using the Bridge and wrapped in Joomla, this link which appears as ...
Quote
http://www.XXXXXX.com/Itemid,41?option=com_smf&Itemid=41&board=7.0

should actually look like this ...
Quote
http://www.XXXXXX.com/index.php/component/option,com_smf/Itemid,41/board,7.0

If I type this URL in, the page displays perfectly ... so that means the SEF is being recognized correctly, although it's not being displayed correctly.

I'm using SMF/Joomla Bridge v. 1.1.4 ... Joomla 1.08 with SMF 1.1 RC2.
The menu link placed on my site when the Bridge was installed is correct:
http://www.XXXXXX.com/index.php/component/option,com_smf/Itemid,41/
« Last Edit: June 01, 2006, 06:43:40 AM by drumsage »
SMF 1.1.10 |  Joomla 1.5.14

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #14 on: June 01, 2006, 06:58:44 AM »
When you installed the bridge, it installed a menu item for you.  It looks as if you have replaced that with a "Link-URL" Item.  You are going to have to change that to a Component menu item instead.

Offline drumsage

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Gender: Male
    • www.drummercafe.com
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #15 on: June 01, 2006, 07:12:58 AM »
When you installed the bridge, it installed a menu item for you.  It looks as if you have replaced that with a "Link-URL" Item.  You are going to have to change that to a Component menu item instead.

Okay ... I'll look into that. Thank you very much!

I'm going to just try uninstalling the Bridge and reinstall it.

Another interesting thing ... the Google Ads I normally have are broken with the Bridge. Bizarre!
Here's the errors that appear in place of the Google Ads on the forum page while using the Bridge.

Quote
#!/usr/bin/php
Notice: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/js/public_html/components/com_sef/sef.php on line 177

Notice: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/js/public_html/components/com_sef/sef.php on line 221

Notice: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/js/public_html/components/com_sef/sef.php on line 225

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/js/public_html/index.php:2) in /home/js/public_html/includes/joomla.php on line 658

One thing at a time however.  :)
SMF 1.1.10 |  Joomla 1.5.14

Offline drumsage

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Gender: Male
    • www.drummercafe.com
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #16 on: June 01, 2006, 07:41:43 AM »
When you installed the bridge, it installed a menu item for you.  It looks as if you have replaced that with a "Link-URL" Item.  You are going to have to change that to a Component menu item instead.

Well ... this isn't working.

I made a new component menu item originally because the Bridge created an erroneous menu ... the link says undefined. I just unistalled the Bridge, reinstalled it ... and it did the same thing again ... making an undefined menu button. In the database, the record for link just says undefined. I've gone in changed, again, the components menu item so that the link is index.php?option=com_smf. This still doesn't work.

I never made a Link-URL to the Bridge in the past, despite what it may look like.

Anyway ... after fixing the components link in the database ... I get the Bridge to again work to the forum, but all the links within SMF are broken and look as I've posted them in the past.

Thanks again for your insight and assistance in helping me solve this. Once I get this resolved I'll go live with the forum ... migrating from SuperMOD to SMF!!!  8)
SMF 1.1.10 |  Joomla 1.5.14

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,307
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #17 on: June 01, 2006, 08:12:17 AM »
drumsage...   why do you think that uninstalling and reinstalling will have different effect?? ???

Did you read the combined readme post?   I specifically cover this situation.
Quote
7 ) In Joomla Admin > Menu > Main Menu
     7a) You may have to delete and re-enter the Menu item for the SMF- Bridge Component.
          (if it points to "Component - "). (Don't forget to empty the trash)
          If so, then add a new item, pointing to the SMF - Bridge component.

and whenyou re-create a menu item pointing to the forum, you need to use the COMPONENT menu oibject type **NOT** the LINK - URL  type menu object.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline drumsage

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Gender: Male
    • www.drummercafe.com
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #18 on: June 01, 2006, 08:27:58 AM »
drumsage...   why do you think that uninstalling and reinstalling will have different effect?? ???

Did you read the combined readme post?   I specifically cover this situation.
Quote
7 ) In Joomla Admin > Menu > Main Menu
     7a) You may have to delete and re-enter the Menu item for the SMF- Bridge Component.
          (if it points to "Component - "). (Don't forget to empty the trash)
          If so, then add a new item, pointing to the SMF - Bridge component.

and whenyou re-create a menu item pointing to the forum, you need to use the COMPONENT menu oibject type **NOT** the LINK - URL  type menu object.


Kindred ... I did read your post and I did all of that. I was merely pointing out to Orstio to the fact. I also uninstalled and reinstalled the Bridge simply to make sure that I hadn't broken something ... being that I was in the mySQL database. Just wanted to make sure these errors weren't my fault.

I don't know where you both get the idea that I'm using or creating a LINK - URL type menu object. I never said I did that nor did I ever create such a thing. I have gone in, serveral times now, and create a COMPONENT type menu object and select the SMF Bridge or com_smf.  Despite all of this ... the Bridge does not work properly when Joomla's SEO is turned ON; SMF's SEO turned OFF.

Thanks again for your input and assistance. One thing that I did NOT do was empty the trash when I removed the menu item that the Bridge erroneously creates.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2006, 08:33:46 AM by drumsage »
SMF 1.1.10 |  Joomla 1.5.14

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,307
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Cannot open Board in wrapped mode
« Reply #19 on: June 01, 2006, 10:19:03 AM »
URL?
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.