News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

SMTP vs. Sendmail - Which one to use?

Started by DogmaRaider, June 09, 2006, 11:01:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Is it better to use SMTP or Sendmail?

SMTP
6 (40%)
Sendmail
9 (60%)

Total Members Voted: 15

DogmaRaider

SMF Version: SMF 1.0.7
Hello I'm new to SMF and I was wondering if its better to use SMTP to send e-mail and what are the pros and cons of each?  Right now I'm using sendmail which seems to work ok but I'm just curious what SMTP offers me.  Thanks in Advance.

DogmaRaider
------------------

Elmacik

If you are using a webmaster mail from your own domain, sendmail has a faster result with a faster server in my opinion.
On the other hand, sendmail always has a higher risk than SMTP to fall into spam (bulk) folders.
SMTP is good if you dont have limitations like time or per usage. Its a bit slower from my experiences but gives a better and certain result. Sendmail cant always send mails but if SMTP says it sent, it is really sent.

Well, these are personal opinions, I cant give you technical information since I dont know.
Home of Elmacik

Nikolas_00

I prefer sendmail.

It is faster and it doesn't need username and password to run

Elmacik

Quote from: Nikolas_00 on June 15, 2006, 02:46:33 PM
It is faster and it doesn't need username and password to run

Actually it doesnt require from you because your host has already configured the Sendmail to use a host name, a user name and if necessary a password.
Home of Elmacik

Nikolas_00

That's right.

If you have one site, then having SMTP is ok, because if you need to change the password, you will have to change it only to one site.

If you have more sites then Sendmail is better, because you wont need to add the new password to every site.

arreferee