Advertisement:

Author Topic: Google Analytics  (Read 36797 times)

Offline forumposters

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 115
    • Forum Posters
Google Analytics
« on: June 09, 2006, 01:43:23 PM »
SMF Version: SMF 1.1 RC2
What would be a good file to place Google Analytics code in so that it loads on everypage?

Online Oldiesmann

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 24,905
  • Gender: Male
  • Ask me about the function DB :)
    • oldiesmann on Facebook
    • Oldiesmann on GitHub
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/michaeleshom on LinkedIn
    • @oldiesmann on Twitter
    • Archie Comics Fan Forum
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2006, 01:51:25 PM »
Put it right before the </body> tag in index.template.php. You'll have to do this for every theme, but it will load on ever page.
Michael Eshom
Cincy Space - now open!

Offline Niteblade

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 662
  • Gender: Male
    • Prosperent Ads
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2006, 05:18:25 PM »
Personally, I put the code inside a javascript / html block in Tiny portal. It's been working fine there. I also put it inside my 'shop' .

Analytics is cool.
affiliate blog

Offline forumposters

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 115
    • Forum Posters
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2006, 06:00:35 PM »
How long does it take for analytics to update?  I've had the code there for hours and I see no stats yet.

Offline Niteblade

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 662
  • Gender: Male
    • Prosperent Ads
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2006, 10:12:39 PM »
Give it at least one day to begin gathering information.

And you'll see all kinds of little dots over your map. :)
affiliate blog

Offline efbl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2007, 11:34:50 AM »
Hello,

I have problem with Google Analytics tracker, the forum returns me an error when I reload it.

I use SMF 1.1.4 and Blue Blaze theme.
Code: [Select]
// The following will be used to let the user know that some AJAX process is running
echo '
<div id="ajax_in_progress" style="display: none;', $context['browser']['is_ie'] && !$context['browser']['is_ie7'] ? 'position: absolute;' : '', '">', $txt['ajax_in_progress'], '</div>

<script type="text/javascript">
[ * * * Google script * * * ]
</script>


</body></html>';


Offline Harro

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,122
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm watching you
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2007, 04:42:33 PM »
Make sure that all singles quote (') in the google script part have a \ before them.
Should work fine then :)

Offline efbl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2007, 07:43:31 AM »
Tracking code installed. Thank you, Harro!

Offline foge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2008, 05:25:00 AM »
Make sure that all singles quote (') in the google script part have a \ before them.
Should work fine then :)

What a coincidence - I desperately needed this information just when SMF server got this meltdown. I found numbers of solutions which weren't working. I even searched pages where I couldn't read anything else than these scripts, Arabic, Asian languages, what ever. Internal search is still not working here, but I found this with google search and after trying to do this three days and then see how simple solution there is, makes me wanna scream :) Thx Harro!

Offline jarhaa

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Gender: Male
    • Project Normandy 2010
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2008, 01:36:22 PM »
I tried this solution too but it didn't help. I am using "SlickPro" theme from metalcore.
Should I put that slash before EVERY (')   ?

Edit. I got it working... Needs to be JUST before </body>   :-\
« Last Edit: June 08, 2008, 01:48:01 PM by jarhaa »

Offline ApplianceJunk

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,487
    • ApplianceJunk.com
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2008, 02:14:12 PM »
Personally, I put the code inside a javascript / html block in Tiny portal. It's been working fine there. I also put it inside my 'shop' .

Analytics is cool.

Good idea with the TP block.

Offline brygida

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2008, 05:41:14 PM »
Thank you Harro!

for me also \ before (') worked 
at second time  :) the first i have missed one O:)

Offline Lautermilch

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 79
    • Swindled For Jesus
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2009, 11:14:34 PM »

I get this error code:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_CONSTANT_ENCAPSED_STRING, expecting ',' or ';' in .../Themes/BlackRainV2118/index.template.php on line 178
169:
170:             current_header_ic = mode;
171:          }
172:       // ]]></script>
173: </head>
174:
175:
176: <script type="text/javascript">
177: var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
178: document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
179: </script>
180: <script type="text/javascript">
181: try {
182: var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-9788839-1");

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 73,141
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2009, 05:31:35 PM »
Can we have some lines before that too?
No good deed goes unpunished
All helpful urges should be circumvented

Offline iamekim

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2009, 02:46:05 PM »
Make sure that all singles quote (') in the google script part have a \ before them.
Should work fine then :)

so much help. thank you Harro. :)

Offline dgswilson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Google Analytics Code
« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2009, 08:14:23 AM »
Yes, (\') was missing component. And yes - All.  Thanks a lot. What is, or maybe where is, "Tiny Portal"?

hxxp:www.dgswilson.com/index.php [nonactive]
« Last Edit: September 16, 2009, 08:17:39 AM by dgswilson »

Offline sadiakomal

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • Get Designs
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #16 on: March 03, 2010, 04:55:00 PM »
when i try to past the code in index.template, its shows error and i have uploaded theme again i am using CS classic them "islamabadcommunity.com"

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 73,141
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2010, 05:05:58 PM »
sadiakomal, please attach your index.template.php file. Did you attempt to use the mod mentioned earlier in this thread or not?
No good deed goes unpunished
All helpful urges should be circumvented

Offline rostamiani

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Gender: Male
    • آریا پدیا
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #18 on: November 21, 2010, 06:59:59 PM »

Offline ronaldguilmet

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Google Analytics
« Reply #19 on: February 23, 2012, 05:20:37 AM »
SMF Version: SMF 1.1 RC2
What would be a good file to place Google Analytics code in so that it loads on everypage?

just use this mod http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=351 and copy and past your code into the header. no code hacking required. worked great for me.