Advertisement:

Author Topic: eAccelerator  (Read 5469 times)

Offline Scubasteve

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 293
eAccelerator
« on: June 10, 2006, 01:53:17 AM »
I'm thinking about installing it on my servers so that i can offer it to my clients, but i am not familliar with it. Can someone who has used it tell me, does it really make a noticeable difference? Is it harder or easier on the server? Security risks?

The information i found over google is sketchy and spread out, i thank you guys in advance for the help.
If it aint broke, break it.

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: eAccelerator
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2006, 07:16:30 PM »
Shouldnt cause any other problems or security issues, although I'd use APC personally.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline MH-MINI

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 237
Re: eAccelerator
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2006, 08:00:53 AM »
I use eAccelerator. It's quite good actually, it is effective on PHP sites, seeing it does bytecode caching and it doesn't have to generate the PHP code everytime, and it is easier on the server ;)

Mini

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: eAccelerator
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2006, 08:31:19 AM »
In the real world, APC works much better with SMF.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline Skipdawg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 895
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Über Fan!
    • Skipdawg Central
Re: eAccelerator
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2006, 01:56:08 PM »
In the real world, APC works much better with SMF.

Thanks! Good to know if the need to use such arises down the road.  ;D ;)
Skipdawg's Community

Powered by SMF 1.1.3

Offline Scubasteve

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 293
Re: eAccelerator
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2006, 12:03:17 AM »
What type of security risks are we talking about by using a program like these? Thanks for the replies.
If it aint broke, break it.

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: eAccelerator
« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2006, 07:10:36 AM »
There shouldn't be any as long as you keep it upto date.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline Scubasteve

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 293
Re: eAccelerator
« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2006, 12:19:47 PM »
Sounds good, i will have a look at APC. Thanks for all the information =)
If it aint broke, break it.

Offline emrys01

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: eAccelerator
« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2006, 02:44:01 PM »
I use eAccelerator. It's quite good actually, it is effective on PHP sites, seeing it does bytecode caching and it doesn't have to generate the PHP code everytime, and it is easier on the server ;)

Mini

i've got eaccelerator installed on my machine...

[root@host src]# php -v
PHP 5.1.4 (cli) (built: May  8 2006 08:41:41)
Copyright (c) 1997-2006 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v2.1.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2006 Zend Technologies
    with eAccelerator v0.9.5-beta2, Copyright (c) 2004-2006 eAccelerator, by eAccelerator
[root@host src]#

...but i see the following on the caching admin settings page:


SMF has not been able to detect a compatible accelerator on your server.

anyone have any ideas?

Offline Niteblade

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 662
  • Gender: Male
    • Prosperent Ads
Re: eAccelerator
« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2006, 03:30:52 PM »
Yeah, for some reason SMF doesn't see eA. I dunno why. But, all you have to do is go browse your cache directories to see some new content being populated to verify that eA is working correctly. Personally, I think it's SMF issue with eA.
affiliate blog

Offline jyajay

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: eAccelerator
« Reply #10 on: June 17, 2006, 05:00:46 PM »
Don't use 0.95, try 0.94 and SMF will detect it. Thats what I did.

If you think about the incompability of eA and PHP 5 then you proberbly should go back to PHP4 or use APC instead.