News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Member Number

Started by scottb, May 14, 2004, 03:26:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

scottb

I've seen this one before on some YaBBSE boards.  In users profiles and in posts it would display the members order of registration. For example the Administrator would be member #1, and the person who registered next would be #2 and so on, hope that makes sense.

It looked like this

Scott
Member
(Insignia of some kind)
Posts: 1066
Member Number: 20

Tomer

This is also here but the member number isin't displayed in the post screen, if you want this feature added to your forum speacially, I would be glad to help you out. :)

Just PM me. :)

scottb

Quote from: Lamper on May 14, 2004, 03:32:39 PM
This is also here but the member number isin't displayed in the post screen, if you want this feature added to your forum speacially, I would be glad to help you out. :)

Just PM me. :)

Thanks I'd appreciate it. :)

Anguz

you'd just have to modify Load.php to add the member number to the $context array and use it in the display template... it shouldn't be too hard.. heck, it may already be in $context lol, haven't checked though
Cristián Lávaque http://cristianlavaque.com

Oldiesmann

Profile:

In Themes/default/Profile.template.php
Search for:
<tr>
<td><b>', $txt[86], ': </b></td>
<td>', $context['member']['posts'], ' (', $context['member']['posts_per_day'], ' ', $txt['posts_per_day'], ')</td>
</tr><tr>


Add after:
<td><b>Member Number: </b></td>
<td>', $context['member']['id'], '</td>
</tr><tr>


Posts:

In Themes/default/Display.template.php:
Search for:
// Show how many posts they have made.
echo '
', $txt[26], ': ', $message['member']['posts'], '<br />
<br />';


Replace:
// Show how many posts they have made and their member number
echo '
', $txt[26], ': ', $message['member']['posts'], '<br />
           Member Number: ', $message['member']['id'], '<br />
<br />';
Michael Eshom
Christian Metal Fans

scottb


Owdy

#6
Quote from: Lamper on May 14, 2004, 03:32:39 PM
Just PM me. :)

Why you allways ask people PM you? There might are other users who like to know these thing also. Its kind hard search help from old posts if you allawys do it by PM. Just a thought.

Quote from: Lamper on May 14, 2004, 03:32:39 PM
This is also here
Where? I cant see this feature in here.
Former Lead Support Specialist

Tarvitsetko apua SMF foorumisi kanssa? Otan työtehtäviä vastaan, lue:http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=375918.0

Oldiesmann

I think he means that the member ID information is already in the code...
Michael Eshom
Christian Metal Fans

Skoen

I think maybe this should be included as an option in the admin panel, where you can activate or decativate viewage of member number in profile and on posts.
Alf Otto 'Skoen' Fagermo
Retired Norwegian translator


klumy

Quote from: Skoen on May 15, 2004, 08:12:08 PM
I think maybe this should be included as an option in the admin panel, where you can activate or decativate viewage of member number in profile and on posts.

agree
e.g. it's useful, to see which member have registered first in a forum

Tomer

That can be a mod, just use Oldiesmann code and add something in admin options that will deactivate this or not...

if you want it,
pm me... j/k :) (owdy...:))

[Unknown]

Personally, I don't see this as a terribly useful feature.  In many cases, the member number makes no difference... and is only used in power struggles.

Another point is support.  My "member number" is 2.  There is no 1.  If this were added by default, a very large number of people would come about wanting to:
  - change this number for themselves or others.
  - wonder how this number is generated.
  - report bugs about "skipped" member numbers. (these are intentional!)
  - ask if it is possible to make themselves "0" - it is not.

This is because of the way the ID_MEMBER is stored in the database and how it is handled by MySQL.  Using it as a "member number" is misusing the field, and will only cause all the same problems you get from bad UI - which is why I am against it as a built in feature.

-[Unknown]

Oldiesmann

Actually, you could always make someone have a user number of 0... Just edit the code and basically check to see if the post was by that person, and if it was, just hard-code it in there and they'd never know the difference ;)

I do understand where [Unknown] is coming from. auto_increment doesn't re-use old numbers - it just automatically generates an ID_MEMBER number that is one higher than the previous one, even if that previous member doesn't exist anymore. Yes, you could always periodically update things but it would be a pain in the rear to do...
Michael Eshom
Christian Metal Fans

Tomer

Hmmmm, Every user is his own number "0". :)

BigMike

#14
Hey guys,

I've tried coding this before and I have a serious problem with my forum.

Sometime long ago, before I think my YaBBSE, I was using just good ol' YaBB Gold or something and I had ran some mod that reorganized my member list, and it sorted all of my members number alphabetically.

For instance, Im BigMike and I think I am the 2nd person (as I had created a couple admin accounts back in the begining), so I should be Member #2 but instead I am like member #120 or something, and that's because back in the day I was alphabetically the 120th entry, and that then became my member number.

Now, since then, many more people with names alphabetically before "BigMike" have registered yet I am still num 120 - obviously - because it only affected those members who were already registered on that day that I had reorganized my member list. So now of course all members since then have their member number correct. I remember its somewhere around member #1400-something is where the problem ends and the correct member count begins. In other words I had 1400-something members at the time that my member list was re-organized so only those 1400-something members' numbers were changed, hence new members actually do have their correct number.

So, after I learned how to code this, I realized that the only real way to organize my member NUMBER is by registration date, since that has not changed!

But I am not that good at coding, so I just left it alone. But if someone could make is so that the members are sorted by actual registration DATE which is really their real member number then it would work on any board regardless of any conflicts like what Ive got...

.......man I cant remember what it was that screwed my board up.. This was seriously over 2 years ago. I think it was something that added more stats/options to the member page on Yabb gold or something, and it resorted all of the members alphabetically and it screwed up everyone's member number at "$context['member']['id']"

I hope this is clear what Im trying to say. Basically at the time that my forum got messed up, member #1 became the first alphabetical member, and member #1400-something became the last alphabetical member number..

So I think to code this it wouldnt be to complicated.. First make a script that would gather ALL of the registrants date of registration, sort them in order, and then change their member number to match their actual registration date - their true member number. Then I could just use what Oldiesmann wrote in reply #4 and everything would be good.

I guess you could call it a Member Number Restore Function. Something that goes through and resets all member numbers in according to their actual date/time of registration.

Anyone please? Thanks, you dont know how much this means to me. All of my competing companies forums has member numbers and every now and then my members ask me why we dont have it and it makes me pretty sad........

Regards,
BigMike

BigMike

Ok I forgot to mention that I understand what Unknown is talking about, so could someone just create a new variable, then write a program that compares each users' registration date, and then sort them into this new variable by number then we would have a complete accurate list of each members number.

It could just be a simple feature in the maintenance area like "Rebuild Member's Number List" and it would just take a complete list of all members registration date and resort them starting at #1 and then store that number as their actual member number.

Wa-la.

[Unknown]

But the whole point of IDs is to:

- be unique.
- never repeat.
- always stay the same.

Your Google standing would drop if you did this, and many profiles would fall off the index.  You're looking at something that is NOT a member number, and calling it one.

-[Unknown]

BigMike

................ok, that's fine, I understand that.

So my suggestion is to make a new list that is sorted by Registration Date since that is really the member number.


heh
BigMike

cheesenub

Is there a way to change the member number for people?

It'd just be nice if my admin people were the first "numbered" members on my list.

Also, is there a way to make the default view on the members page to show them in order of registration?

Ben_S

Is your ID really that important? It's only displayed in url's.

Regards

Number 8 on his own board.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Advertisement: