News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

snitz convertor error

Started by telf, November 07, 2006, 08:39:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

telf

SMF Version: SMF 1.1 RC3
I have converted a snitz/MS Access based forum to Snitz/MySql using the procedure at hxxp:forum.snitz.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42438 [nonactive] (other people have asked for the procedure so there it is).

When I then tried to convert it to SMF with the snitz->SMF converter I get the following errors -

The 'Parse Error' goes on ~100 times (yes I counted them), then you get -

This is followed by all the data from our posts then this at the end-

Help, I'm not really a coder so I'm stuck.

Thanks in advance.

Oldiesmann

Try this one. A couple of lines were missing a " at the end of them.
Michael Eshom
Christian Metal Fans

telf

Thanks for that, Michael. It now produces this -

There are many pages of the 'Parse error' before the end -

If we then go to the forum, you get this -

Notice that there is no 'Started by' entry and all the dates are 31 December 1969 16:00:00

When you go into a post, there is no Author, no body and all dates are as above.

I was looking around the snitz database yesterday and noticed that all the data is there, ie, in the  fields you can see authors, times, replys and body, etc.

Any further help is much appreciated.

kgrimsby

Hi, Telf,

I'm at about the same stage of the Snitz conversion process as you. However, using the Snitz converter on the download page, I'm not encountering any parse errors.

The first problem I encountered is that an empty birthdate in Snitz is not a valid value for insertion into a date column in SMF. That problem was easily resolved by updating the Snitz Members table with dummy birthdates of '00010101'.