Advertisement:

Author Topic: HowTo activate team badges  (Read 51775 times)

Offline andrea

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,324
  • Gender: Female
  • I'm a smiley.
    • Smiley Sets
HowTo activate team badges
« on: October 01, 2004, 07:06:31 AM »
With SMF it is very easy to create badges for your forum staff.

These are the steps to create badges for administrators and global moderators:

1st: create the badge graphics, for example "badge_admin.gif" and "badge_gmod.gif" (in classical style attached to this post)   

2nd: upload the badge images created in the 1st step into your forum theme "images" folder.

3rd: browse to your forum admin menu, select the menu option "edit member groups"

4th: edit the member group "Administrator", modify the number of stars from "5" to "1" and alter the image name from "staradmin.gif" to "badge_admin.gif"

5th: edit the member group "Global Moderator", modify the number of stars from "5" to "1" and alter the image name from "staradmin.gif" to "badge_gmod.gif"


Variation: language dependent badges

You could even activate language dependent badges. For that you have to create the language dependent badge graphic and upload that into your images/xxx folder (where xxx is your langauge). Then in the 4th and 5th step set the image name to "$language/badge_admin.gif" (resp. "$language/badge_admin.gif"  ).

Sample Badges attached to this post

The sample badges which are attached to this post are created with CAE's wonderful button generator.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2004, 07:20:21 AM by andrea »
Andrea Hubacher
Ex Lead Support Specialist
www.simplemachines.org

Personal Signature:
Most recent work:
10 Aqua Themes for SMF



Offline Anguz

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,430
  • Gender: Male
    • cristianlavaque.com
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2004, 02:05:50 AM »
Nice tip! Many will love it :)
Cristián Lávaque http://cristianlavaque.com

Offline Prone

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Gender: Male
  • SyndicateOne
    • SyndicateOne
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2004, 06:01:39 AM »
Will work on it, thanks for the idea!

Edit: Works! Very easy and looking good. Thanks again Andrea.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2004, 06:20:40 AM by Prone »
Webmaster http://www.syndicate-1.com

SyndicateOne - For All your gaming needs

Offline erzon

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Gender: Male
  • My Website http://www.hackside.com
    • Hackside Free Email
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2004, 12:54:12 PM »
why is that im an admin but i see the mod star? i change it to image but i see the moderator image. i dont know why?

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2004, 04:44:47 AM »
why is that im an admin but i see the mod star? i change it to image but i see the moderator image. i dont know why?

You've listed yourself as a moderator of that board, and so SMF dutifully says you are one.

-[Unknown]

Offline erzon

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Gender: Male
  • My Website http://www.hackside.com
    • Hackside Free Email
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2004, 05:11:24 AM »
oh ic now i know thanks

Offline mytreo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 284
    • treo
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2004, 08:12:31 AM »
I understand this, but is there a way that I can have somebody be a moderator on a board and still display their Membergroup badge (not the moderator one)? This is quite important to us.
Treo forum - Powered by SMF, of course
Treo news - powered by MovableType and integrated with SMF
Treo downloads - hacked from phpNuke and integrated with SMF
Treo knowledge base - powered by Wikka and integrated with SMF
Treo 650 | Treo 700w | Treo 700p

Offline erzon

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Gender: Male
  • My Website http://www.hackside.com
    • Hackside Free Email
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2004, 09:16:38 PM »
i think theres no other way.

but i have a suggestion if you still want that they are moderator in the forum but still show their grouped the same not as moderator you can create another group and change it to the name you want. if you have a badge then use the badge instead of the moderator badge.

Offline mytreo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 284
    • treo
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2004, 06:05:22 AM »
Thanks, unfortunately that doesn't work. Moderators always show as moderators and that is really no use to us at all. I wish SMF would reconsider this.
Treo forum - Powered by SMF, of course
Treo news - powered by MovableType and integrated with SMF
Treo downloads - hacked from phpNuke and integrated with SMF
Treo knowledge base - powered by Wikka and integrated with SMF
Treo 650 | Treo 700w | Treo 700p

Offline A.M.A

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,133
  • Gender: Male
  • ..
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2004, 06:17:21 AM »
If all your moderators belong to the same sub-group .. then you can edit the Moderators group so it shows the sub-group's badge.
Really sorry .. real life is demanding my full attention .. will be back soon hopefully :)

Offline mytreo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 284
    • treo
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2004, 06:31:49 AM »
I realise that but that wouldn't work either as I have lots of sub-groups and not all moderators belong to the same one. I know from searching these boards that I am not the first to raise this issue... I think SMF should consider this area carefully as I believe this is a real limitation.

The confusing thing is that I cannot find the code where it populates the [group] with "Moderator" instead of the main sub-group. But I also have a horrible feeling that even if I did change it to the main sub-group then the  moderator would lose their moderator permissions. Can anybody confirm this?
Treo forum - Powered by SMF, of course
Treo news - powered by MovableType and integrated with SMF
Treo downloads - hacked from phpNuke and integrated with SMF
Treo knowledge base - powered by Wikka and integrated with SMF
Treo 650 | Treo 700w | Treo 700p

Offline theantidote

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2004, 02:07:27 PM »
By the way Bloc's button designer does a good job at making badges for this. The url is: http://www.vennekroken.net/bloc/helios.php

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2004, 10:22:41 PM »
The confusing thing is that I cannot find the code where it populates the [group] with "Moderator" instead of the main sub-group. But I also have a horrible feeling that even if I did change it to the main sub-group then the  moderator would lose their moderator permissions. Can anybody confirm this?

Don't worry, it's not that hard ^_^.  I posted code for you in the other topic about this (but posting here so people will know to look.)

-[Unknown]

Offline mytreo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 284
    • treo
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2004, 08:00:06 AM »

Don't worry, it's not that hard ^_^. I posted code for you in the other topic about this (but posting here so people will know to look.)

-[Unknown]

Brilliant stuff! Thanks again. Here's the link to the "fix" for anyone else that needs it

Treo forum - Powered by SMF, of course
Treo news - powered by MovableType and integrated with SMF
Treo downloads - hacked from phpNuke and integrated with SMF
Treo knowledge base - powered by Wikka and integrated with SMF
Treo 650 | Treo 700w | Treo 700p

Offline ʜᴏᴍɪᴄɪᴅᴇ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 123
  • Gender: Male
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2012, 12:23:18 AM »
Are there any good websites that help you generate a badge?


Offline Kevin1

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Gender: Male
  • http://teknotech.in
    • Akram210712 on Facebook
    • @Akram210712 on Twitter
    • TeknoTech
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #15 on: February 23, 2012, 02:53:53 AM »
nice bro, create some more badges
Get free Gprs tricks for all telecom operators here.
http://teknotech.in

Offline CISS_ee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #16 on: March 13, 2012, 11:36:03 PM »
hi..i know this is a old post but im just seing it..im wondering how i change the name in the button..is there a program used just for this...thanks

Offline Cheshire-Cat

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Gender: Male
  • Wonderland King
    • FB92 Web Media
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #17 on: March 17, 2012, 10:03:07 PM »
hi..i know this is a old post but im just seing it..im wondering how i change the name in the button..is there a program used just for this...thanks
There are loads more rank sets you can use. Take a look at http://forumranks.net/ [nofollow] they only cost under $1 and there are quality rank sets on that site.

Offline Masterd

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,887
  • Gender: Male
  • Sapienti satis.
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #18 on: March 18, 2012, 04:47:24 PM »
Nice one. Didn't knew about it. Thanks.
My Mods

Sugested that too. Hey ho. I'd link you to the original discussion but it's not visible to most people (seekrit team board stuff that is more dangerous than wikileaks).


Don't PM me for support! Use the appropriate support board!

Offline Chalky

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,360
  • Gender: Female
  • If in doubt, give me beer...
    • ChalkCat
Re: HowTo activate team badges
« Reply #19 on: March 27, 2012, 04:08:50 PM »
If I install an "administrator" badge, then this will subsitute only the stars right?  So how do I stop it from showing "Administrator" in words as well?  I won't want both.  I just tried leaving the membergroup name blank for administrators but all that did was substitute it with the word "Member".