News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Encrypted MySQL password in settings.php

Started by buddha, February 17, 2004, 09:54:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

buddha

With YaBBSE, the password to access your MySQL database is in plain text form in the settings.php file, which means that with webspace shared with others, other people can know your database password etc.

I'm a complete novice at all this, but I'm assuming that this is a bad thing? If so, would it be feasible to have this password stored in encrypted form in settings.php, or whatever the equivalent is in SMF?

Just a thought anyhow...

[Unknown]

You can't really encrypt it, because unless it's reversable that would just end up meaning you couldn't connect to the MySQL server...

-[Unknown]

Chris Cromer

Well you could always base64_encode(); it. Then in the source have it base64_decode(); the password.

It won't stop people from being able to get the password, but it will make sure it isn't just plain text.

Personally I think this should be more of a mod rather than built in though.
Chris Cromer

"I was here, here I was, was I here, sure I was" - The little voice in my head.

dschwab9

I think I'd be more concerned about the fact that others on your server can see your files - That definately should not be possible.  If the server is properly secured, no one should be able to read that file, so the password being plain text should not be a big issue.

Chris Cromer

Well reading is one thing, but if they could write to them, then there would be some very serious problems. ;D