News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

Logging in as another user for admin purposes

Started by MrMike, August 29, 2014, 02:34:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MrMike

I have a webring site that uses SMF 2.0x for both the forums and registration on the site itself. The site is basically built around SMF at the core.  The code  that creates the webring functionality uses the SMF API for login detection, basically just to allow the user to manage their own rings and site lists and whatnot.

As an admin I'd like to be able to temporarily 'login' as another user, basically becoming that user so I can manage the stuff in their account.

I've looked for mod packages that might do something like this but couldn't find anything. Is there any mod package that would have this kind of feature?

Failing that I'd love to hear any suggestions on how to implement this, even if it's just in general terms.

I've come up with one way that might work (maybe), but it's so sleazy I hate to even outline it here. :(

Arantor

I'd love to know what functionality you can't change in their account as admin, since everything in SMF as standard can already do that without you having to log in as them...

Shambles

Wanting to read your members PMs is sleazy too.

MrMike

Quote from: ♥ on August 29, 2014, 02:36:50 PM
I'd love to know what functionality you can't change in their account as admin, since everything in SMF as standard can already do that without you having to log in as them...

I probably should have been more clear in my original post...I can alter everything that comes with SMF (profile page, user settings, etc) but not the added-on features. The items I want to manage are in the webring code/functions.

So, yes- when I login as an SMF admin I have access to both my account settings and any other user's account settings, just like any SMF forum.