Site Design: Anything that can be done in WP can be done in SMF... HOW?

Started by PenelopeQ, April 15, 2015, 07:17:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PenelopeQ

I am not sure where to post this, so I apoligze beforehand and of course understand that it will be moved to the most appropriate location--at which point someone may delete this initial sentence.

Quote from: Kindred on January 28, 2015, 02:08:29 PMAnything that can be done in WP can be done (IMO, better and better coded) in SMF.
I believe Kindred has said this over and over, but how?
I would love it if I could get my forum to have a look more like my Wordpress blog. I am not a web designer, developer or coder or whatever you call people who know what they are doing with a computer... :P
I believe you when you say that smf is better coded and I understand that something being popular can still be messily coded...somethings became popular years ago and they stuck, but people like me use Wordpress because it is easy:

• I don't have to know how to code; I don't have to go into the CSS... those skills are certainly helpful, but the platform can be used without such skills.
  • I can go into my wp-admin and choose my colors of various fonts, background, button, widget, link...
  • I can upload my own header with the push of a button
  • There is a place to store my images.
  • I can customize my menu--linking to other sites from a main menu so that two separate domains feel seemless when going from one to the other
    Why is that important, because starting out I didn't use a blog platform and I want to keep that site because the hosting is the only one where I have had zero issues. Upgrading is a button push--plugin and wp

I don't know how high demand for a bridge to wp is...and high is relative anyway. Is 100 not high, and 1000 requests high...and maybe there have only been 20. I would love a wp-bridge mod that is kept up. But I digress...