News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

SMF - Aweber Integration : I'm new to coding and struggling with it...

Started by Aegist, July 04, 2015, 08:12:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aegist

Hi guys. I know I'm not the first person to try this, but I've also not seen anyway post anywhere a complete explanation for how to make it work, nor are there any mods out there to do it yet (though it seems like it would be a pretty easy mod to make...?? maybe?).

Anyway, I think I have got my head around what needs to be done thanks, ultimately to this guide to setting up integration hooks, and hxxp:engineering.aweber.com/quick-start-api-script-in-php/ [nonactive] in the Aweber Labs. (There is another page in Aweber which gives you hxxp:labs.aweber.com/snippets/subscribers#cre [nonactive], but it has an extra field for "account_id" and no explanation of where to find that, and since the quick start script already has a demonstration of adding a new subscriber in it, it seems like I won't need this 'add new subscriber code' - just mentioning it in case I am wrong about this assumption).

So, following the directions from those two halves of the equation, and it seems like I should just be able to just modify the quick start script so that it uses $regOptions['emailAddress'] and $regOptions['memberName'] instead, place that code within the function smf_register_function($regOptions, $theme_vars){} bit of the smf_2_integration_hooks.php file, and that should sign people up to aweber whenever they register, right?

Well, right or wrong, I can't even make the aweber script work at all when I try to run it in the forum/Source/ directory.