Noob with some (hopefully) basic questions.

Started by Flounder70, December 30, 2023, 01:42:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Flounder70

Moderators: If this is in the wrong area, I apologize. Please move to the correct area.

I'm trying to start a forum and I am completely lost, right from the start.

Quick brief on me -
1) I've had a computer since the mid 80s.
2) I've built my own computers for 20 years.
3) I've been dual booting with Linux for 10+ years.

So I know a bit about computers and Linux but know nothing about website setup and hosting.

I bought a domain on GoDaddy and then got a host (A2Hosting). I do have a webpage but it is set up as a blog and seems to be using WordPress. I'm thinking that came automatically from GoDaddy but I'm not sure anymore.

A2Hosting uses cPanel and Softaculous. I tried to install SMF using Softaculous (I know. I'll do in manually soon!) but it says it is already installed. I cannot find it in the host's file system but I'm still learning how to work with that. (Their help section has been useless to me so far.)

I can edit my (unwanted) blog home page but I did that by going to [mysite].com/wp-login(?) and it seems to be using WordPress to do that.

Questions -

1) Is WordPress only/mostly blog stuff? Should I just delete/remove remove Wordpress to make a place for SMF?

2) Can I treat the host's file system like my computer's Linux file system? Can I accidentally delete very important stuff? Can I start over by doing a "clean install" of that file system?

I suspect that I'm at the base of a very steep learning curve, so I'll stop at just those questions for now. I've had more but I'll wait until I can at least see a forum on my site.

Thanks for any help!

Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen