News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

Can ssi work like this?

Started by pdubz, November 03, 2009, 11:07:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pdubz

remember im very new to this. looking in the mods i see that there is a sub that makes the title bar with the links. Home, help, search ext.. now is there a way that i can pull certain parks like just those links and put them in a custom spot of my header that i made in photo shop? then target the links to make the forum load in a separate div?   Im looking for a new answers here.  i understand how the php works and pulls things like mods that make up things that show on the website.  If i make my own home page.php with my custom header can ssi just pull those links and make them show up where i went them how i want them?  if so how is this done?  can i call certain parks of the forum its self and make it show up on my site the way i want it to look with the css?  what are easy methods of doing these.  are there websites that show u how to do this more indep then this one.  these are the answer's im looking for.  i dont like the them. i just want to interact with my own site.

Kays

Hi, sorry for the slow reply.

The basic answer to most of your questions is yes. Some if it will depend on your comfort level with php. But there's quite a bit which can be done with SSI.php

As for information on how to do it. I'm not aware of any specific website with tutorials and such. But the following links should get you started and if you have any specific coding question ask them in the SMF Coding Discusion board. Replies should be quicker there.

SSI Readme
How to use the SMF user system outside of SMF
How do I integrate SMF into my PHP coded website?

If at first you don't succeed, use a bigger hammer. If that fails, read the manual.
My Mods

pdubz