Advertisement:

Author Topic: resize too large images  (Read 47346 times)

Offline Cerberus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 278
  • Gender: Male
    • My main site: Pocket PC Russia
Re:resize too large images
« Reply #20 on: September 18, 2003, 02:13:47 PM »
unfortunately I have to use windows :(
Best Regards, Cerberus
YaBB Gold -> YaBB 1.1 -> YaBB SE (YaPP -> PfaBB) -> SMF
Pocket PC Russia

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re:resize too large images
« Reply #21 on: September 19, 2003, 12:52:15 AM »
Unfortunately I do my development on windows.

-[Unknown]

Offline Omar Bazavilvazo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,619
  • Gender: Male
  • Minna no nihongo...
    • HablaJapones
Re:resize too large images
« Reply #22 on: September 19, 2003, 12:08:48 PM »
you can use imagemagick in windows, they have binaries for Win32 :)



Personal Signature:
HablaJapones
http://hablajapones.org
http://hablajapones.org/tutoriales.php

NO me manden PM para soporte o dudas
...Leo los foros como todos...

Offline Jack.R.Abbit™

  • SMF Friend
  • Sophist Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,282
  • Gender: Male
Re:resize too large images
« Reply #23 on: September 19, 2003, 02:09:06 PM »
I've not tried it but it seems as though this function getimagesize would do it.  I don't know the performance hit it would cause.

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re:resize too large images
« Reply #24 on: September 19, 2003, 09:52:46 PM »
That's what the already available mod option does.  That's why it's soo slow.

-[Unknown]

Offline Jack.R.Abbit™

  • SMF Friend
  • Sophist Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,282
  • Gender: Male
Re:resize too large images
« Reply #25 on: September 20, 2003, 03:58:32 AM »
Is it slow only when used on a URL or even when used on local file?  I can imagine it being slow on a URL since it basically needs to request the image an then examine it.

Offline dschwab9

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,320
  • Gender: Male
    • Technology, Ministry and Other Ramblings
Re:resize too large images
« Reply #26 on: September 20, 2003, 04:37:38 AM »
imagemagick... or GD, which is pretty common nowadays... most hosts have it installed.
but not on windows  ???

GD and Imagemagick can both be installed on windows.

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re:resize too large images
« Reply #27 on: September 20, 2003, 11:03:06 AM »
Local files are a lot better, but it's really not practical to download every posted picture unless you have 20+ gigs of free space.

-[Unknown]

Offline Seph|roth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 432
  • Gender: Male
  • Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children
    • Ultimate Weapon Fantasy Gaming Network
Re:resize too large images
« Reply #28 on: September 20, 2003, 11:58:12 AM »
i do ;)

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re:resize too large images
« Reply #29 on: September 20, 2003, 12:50:27 PM »
Well, that's why it's a MOD and not a thing for all the people (99%) who have < 1 gig space.

-[Unknown]