News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

Help with new custom BBC?

Started by JamzTheMan, September 16, 2011, 04:35:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamzTheMan

OK, I'm completely stumped.  And I'm new to php/smf mod so be gentle :)

So, in Subs.php I have added:

array(
'tag' => 'xp',
'type' => 'unparsed_equals',
'before' => build_xp_output($user_info['username'], '$1'),
),

I also added the build_xp_output function above the parse_bbc function.

It calls my function on parsing the tag [xp=Karen] just fine but my SQL returns null values.

function build_xp_output($characterUserName, $characterName)
{
$xpQuery = "SELECT SUM(xp_earned), SUM(xp_spent), SUM(xp_secondary_earned), SUM(xp_secondary_spent) FROM character_xp WHERE ";
//$characterName = 'Karen';  <--WORKS IF THIS LINE IS ADDED
$xpQueryFinal = $xpQuery . "character_name = '".$characterName."' and user_name = '".$characterUserName."'";

$xpResult = mysql_query($xpQueryFinal, $wodDbLink);

So I got far enough into the debugging to find that the SQL returns null values (always returns 1 row due to the SUM) if I used the $characterName variable passed in, but if I hard code that variable, everthing runs perfect!  I've output the variable every way I could find and don't see anything wrong with it. I've printed the SQL to the screen, copied, ran it manually, and it works. I've checked the encoding (ASCII) and still stumped.

It's like the $1 passed to the function has some hidden characters in it or something :/

Help?

JamzTheMan

Ok, so using a hexdump function, I now see this:

(first line is right after the function is called, second line is when I reassign the variable to 'Karen' for testing.
0000  24 31                                              $1
0000  4b 61 72 65 6e                                     Karen