Advertisement:

Author Topic: Anyone willing to test some things for me?  (Read 132017 times)

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #60 on: April 02, 2005, 05:44:29 AM »
I'm afraid that this utility doesn't currently very cleanly handle DOWNGRADING from 4.1.x to 4.0.x...

You'll want to use mysqldump with the compatibility options on.

-[Unknown]

Offline nokonium

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • TinyPortal Support Team
    • Our-Local
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #61 on: May 04, 2005, 05:06:05 PM »
I've been using the backup tool for a while and I've just tried to use the restore_backup tool to load a database to my test site. I have tried compressed and uncompressed and it never seems to complete step 2.

Using restore_backup.php: 'Software Version: SMF 1.1 Beta 1'                         



Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #62 on: May 04, 2005, 07:34:27 PM »
Give it time.  If you want, you can try phpMyAdmin instead.

-[Unknown]

Offline nokonium

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • TinyPortal Support Team
    • Our-Local
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #63 on: May 05, 2005, 02:07:40 AM »
I have tried phpMyAdmin, with a gz compressed file of circa 4mb, it uploads and then I get a 500. So I have done an uncompressed one. Uncompressed the database file is 14mb which rules out phpMyAdmin unless I chop it up.

I let resore_backup run for at least 30 minutes.



Offline nokonium

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • TinyPortal Support Team
    • Our-Local
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #64 on: May 07, 2005, 06:23:21 AM »
I think I have found out what the problem was, the ftp transfer mode. I have changed it from binary to ascii and retransfered all the critical files. Restore_backup.php now runs and can be seen to be running.



Offline Grudge

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,742
  • Gender: Male
  • Unofficial nuisance
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #65 on: May 07, 2005, 07:28:02 AM »
Just thought I'd say I used the backup restore script for the first time yesterday and it worked great! Though the SQL file was only about 15MB, phpMyAdmin couldn't handle it yet this tool did a brilliant job!
I'm only a half geek really...

Offline nokonium

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • TinyPortal Support Team
    • Our-Local
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #66 on: May 07, 2005, 12:20:57 PM »
Been thinking, I know that can be dangerous for the over 50's BUT (isn't there always a big but?)

After sussing out what was wrong (see above) I am now trying to give my SMF test site a database which is a copy of the main board but with a different table name (damage limitation). Is it possible for you to include code to do this in your restore_backup.php?

I was thinking along the lines of being able to specify the table reference/name that you restore it too.



Offline RGSMDNR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #67 on: May 09, 2005, 06:53:52 PM »
cant seem to find the back up..

anyway to make it save to the desktop?


Offline Thunderace

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 722
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm still a llama!
    • FWR Media UK
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #69 on: May 13, 2005, 04:30:23 PM »
LOL [unknown] is such a hero  8)

Hours of getting timeouts then he bleddy loads it in 5 seconds  :D


Offline kisii

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 65
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #71 on: June 19, 2005, 09:27:23 PM »
what woudl cause a 500 internal error ...restoring a 10.8mb .zip file?

Offline jetli68

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 90
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #72 on: July 05, 2005, 05:33:19 AM »
hi can anyone help a newbie and tell me where to put these 2 files  so they would work

cheers

jet

Offline nokonium

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • TinyPortal Support Team
    • Our-Local
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #73 on: July 05, 2005, 08:32:26 AM »
I have created a backup folder in the main SMF folder and keep the files and the backups in there. If you are going to transfer the files anywhere by FTP, set sql & sql.gz to ascii mode (I also have txt, php & css set to ascii mode as well)



Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #74 on: July 06, 2005, 04:11:09 AM »
Umm.... .gz should definitely be binary, not ascii.

-[Unknown]

Offline Gotti

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #75 on: October 30, 2005, 01:34:32 AM »
I keep getting the error that it cant login with the info supplied, but when I go to phpmyadmin with the same info, it logs me right in. Is there a specific place to put the php file when I run it?

Offline nokonium

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • TinyPortal Support Team
    • Our-Local
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #76 on: October 30, 2005, 02:20:29 AM »
I have mine in a folder called backup, where I store the last 3 d/b backups. They get downloaded when I do a files backup.

I've had this problem in the past and never found the reason. I stopped getting it when I moved to another host, which suggested to me that the problem is being caused by the server configuration.



Offline kisii

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 65
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #77 on: November 25, 2005, 12:12:46 PM »
anyone might knwo why im getting this error when trying to upload the database to the new server?

Some of the queries were not executed properly. Technical information about the queries:
Line #212: Query was empty
Line #245: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '���!�T�_&���@���T�L)���Q�q��^
%%�f(�
��@�dK��x��9�)1J�c��1�����S�����' at line 2
Line #555: You have an error in your SQL syntax near 'Z�N���������%S���Q]�
���~ak/��H`���wu�����|�6�î���^IpP�s<x⊚�W�kLr' at line 2
Line #566: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '��XO��=S�Gô�>l$�0FV��[A��
�my��\���p�3� ��: �]H``��sY.�3�,,�t�~' at line 2
Line #1162: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '��^���)��' at line 2
Line #1504: You have an error in your SQL syntax near 'fWkB�>0�b��)QcXRn{�
BK��t`A�2�\�.�z:ה�9��WCt9��ތ-��ȒPCt��� B�h�' at line 2
Line #1620: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '�,�u�A4`��?v���8.=��ڈ��4� ��[
L"&>=[f��L���(8��U' at line 2
Line #1746: You have an error in your SQL syntax near 'lʡ^R^D�7��$�m^l���$n�9�е7���6��(�<���W�T*̹�nTB�-�Q�����w0�x- K��%' at line 2
Line #2441: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '��������-޸�������W��M�pZ�ȹ2Tܔ���4G{�Us�|Ǯ�-�7p`0��\Z`��
zп�]wDO��' at line 2
Line #3136: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '�#����8' at line 2
Line #3176: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '?{�b� ��,���Z��P\{@��!q{x}|�vx���=p�=�O�&�Vfz�0��>�� ���I��' at line 2
Line #3355: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '��&�x:�V����}�e5s+�4�v҇>U^���}�&�� .O�}�"]пX�A�딐�/��thF������?��' at line 2
Line #3610: You have an error in your SQL syntax near 'Se���F' at line 2
Line #3744: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '�gZ*��p5�B�xf��`~ZDH�1��*i�� ���Z�ЅA���a^�
���Jy� 5k
2
u�*�' at line 2
Line #4010: You have an error in your SQL syntax near 'qƗ�1E( ڌ��S=R �L�='GD��0�v�m�� �gO' at line 2
Line #4217: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '=s' at line 2
Line #4223: You have an error in your SQL syntax near 'Ρ^w
�+�y��_yQ&�=.�R����TRW�^�U�V0;�e��Scz*�_�-�/�ԕ;)/' at line 2
Line #4256: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '&�zEP�'��/1ؕ��?�����S' at line 2
Line #4427: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '�P�Li @�.D�pp)���'G@���^@��y2� ��1�e' at line 2
Line #4628: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '��Mγ��<s�6�2ضEޜ6���
l��P�' at line 2
Line #4705: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '�?�!
?*^�-������t:6��`���d' at line 2
Line #4740: You have an error in your SQL syntax near 'W' at line 2
Line #5492: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '���YG� ͩ0' at line 2
Line #6143: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '�������F��
��PZ��h���ɇ����A���-�=�h�$�
��p�:bAk�H㭀�MR��ϔ�ǝ���/g9eM' at line 2
Line #6632: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '�"��jW}��z�oN 4>7���;~���˝��� �\7���S�!$CIaڀz�O
��\M.�MA������' at line 2
Line #6678: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '�sA��mx�1y/e�
�#��nk��-ι.ƾÄkc��%�&(Žܛ��e�/�`�7%�L���O4x�Ъ�&' at line 2
Line #7418: You have an error in your SQL syntax near 'gh��6�F�l���Ow�/���d"����GE4�8��C�L$��]��9j �k(U��r0����f�D`A���q�8' at line 2
Line #7566: You have an error in your SQL syntax near 'O"ҏ��,��]��\�;��6ҽnL��k���:~\v�
W���M�O8
1J ��plx��(�Ȉ�##�*�"���g3���' at line 2

Offline FBI

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Great Forum and Free! Its SMF!
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #78 on: January 29, 2006, 04:37:31 AM »
restore_backup.php and creater_backup.php its nice scripts from UNKNOWN to backup and restore MySQL database :)
But its only work, if you have enough space on your host. My hosting server have not enough space to create the dump files. And PHPMyadmin cannot do the help (memory limited, time out issue). But, my host server gave the unlimited SQL file. I want to replicate the database in to new prefix (for example from smf_database to new_ database)

So, I seen every installing or upgrading new SMF version. There is a copy function/procedure from old database to backup (before upgrade). Which script (from installation files) that I can use to copy/replicating the database?

Thank you for your help

Offline peta-sucks.com

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 338
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #79 on: February 09, 2006, 11:28:35 AM »
Ok I installed this in my smf folder and when I run it it jumps up to 84% real fast and stops.