News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

How SMF works

Started by horseatingweeds, February 28, 2008, 01:22:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

horseatingweeds

Does anyone know of a good explanation, beyond the simple code comments, that will explain how the SMF code basically works? I've been studying it but I'm not good enough with php to see how it's all coming together. I think if I did I'd start understanding everything better.

For example, I see that the whole thing runs on index.php with and action from an array but I don't see how things are referenced. Like where does the variable $sourcedir come from at the beginning of index.php? - and so on....

Shean

A file  at the forum while actually becoming model 1.1.4 harmonious sadece

horseatingweeds

jamesk

Well, I'm no expert, but the index.php file is pretty much executed in order.  I think the most important thing that you may not be understanding is the require_once() function.

QuoteLike where does the variable $sourcedir come from at the beginning of index.php?

If you see the first require_once, you'll see:
require_once(dirname(__FILE__) . '/Settings.php');

which gets all your relevant data (like database name, password, paths, etc...).  So, then it has your $sourcedir...

For the most part, the template files "display" the forum and contains most of the HTML and the corresponding non-template file (located in the /Sources folder) has all the main functions including the database queries. 

For example, if you wanted to change the way the memberlist looks, you'd fool around with the Memberlist.template.php file but if you wanted to change/add the way it sorts, you'd have to open Memberlist.php file (in the sources folder)...

I guess that's a starting point (as I too am still learning the "way it works")...

horseatingweeds

Thanks jamesk,

That knocks a chip off the WTF block.  ;)

lureah21