Advertisement:

Author Topic: SMFChess  (Read 256892 times)

Offline PLAYBOY

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,065
  • Livephotoshop.com & Lullabyabc.com
    • Lullabies and Us
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #780 on: May 07, 2012, 01:03:28 AM »
My pieces are going off below the table a little bit. How can i fix that?
Its like all pieces skipped a square.
I uninstalled and reinstalled but nothing has changed.
Please help!

Offline Godsongz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 135
  • Gender: Male
    • Coffeehouse 2.0
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #781 on: May 17, 2012, 10:49:34 PM »
Sorry, I don't know how to fix it, but I can tell you that like the problem "THE BRAIN" is having in the post before yours, it's a theme problem.  Try playing chess in a different theme and it might work better.

I have SMFChess working on two of my sites (both 2.0.2), but I just got lucky I think.  The board is a little vertically stretched in one theme though, as you see...

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 757
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #782 on: May 17, 2012, 10:59:53 PM »
Sorry, I don't know how to fix it, but I can tell you that like the problem "THE BRAIN" is having in the post before yours, it's a theme problem.  Try playing chess in a different theme and it might work better.

I have SMFChess working on two of my sites (both 2.0.2), but I just got lucky I think.  The board is a little vertically stretched in one theme though, as you see...

What program did you use to install in to 2.0.2?  The linked download is for 1.1.6?


Offline PLAYBOY

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,065
  • Livephotoshop.com & Lullabyabc.com
    • Lullabies and Us
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #783 on: May 19, 2012, 01:33:22 AM »
I think my pieces are being pushed down because of some of the things loads up on the top of the page like a chat box smileys etc. Because when i refresh the page, it loads up very well but right before the page completes loading it pushes the pieces down.

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 757
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #784 on: May 20, 2012, 08:34:53 PM »
My error log is filling up with Unidentified Index errors from Chess...

Code: [Select]
http://www.aha-forums.com/index.php?action=chess;id=3;switch
8: Undefined index: watching
File: /home/ahaforum/public_html/Themes/default/Chess.template.php
Line: 666

Any suggestion on how to identify said index so I don't get the error?

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 757
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #785 on: May 30, 2012, 02:30:43 PM »
Question:  On the CHALLENGE screen... I see where I can enter a username to challenge someone... but there is no button or anything to actually engage the process... below it is the CREATE QUICKMATCH option... but when you click that it goes to the quickmatch screen rather than challenging the user you put up?  I assume there should be a button to click to send a challenge to the member you input?


Offline Godsongz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 135
  • Gender: Male
    • Coffeehouse 2.0
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #786 on: May 31, 2012, 10:44:54 PM »
There is a Challenge button on that screen, but you don't see it right away.  Look at my attached images...  in image #1 you see the Challenge screen when you first enter it, in image #2 you see that SMFChess recognizes a username after you have typed one in and it waits for you to click on the user you want to challenge, and in image #3 you see that now that it knows who you want to challenge it then lets you set up some options before submitting the challenge...  and there's the Challenge button.

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 757
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #787 on: May 31, 2012, 11:15:06 PM »
...unfortunately that isn't working as intended for me.  I type a known name in... nothing...

:(

Offline Biology Forums

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,746
    • StudyForcePS on Facebook
    • @studyforceps on Twitter
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #788 on: July 09, 2012, 06:56:56 PM »
For some reason, links in the control panel (i.e. draw, resign, etc.) are not working when clicked. What controls these functions?

Offline Biology Forums

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,746
    • StudyForcePS on Facebook
    • @studyforceps on Twitter
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #789 on: July 21, 2012, 12:43:41 PM »
This mod doesn't work with internet explorer 9. :( Chess pieces don't move correctly.

Offline busterone

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Gender: Male
  • Devil Dog
    • The Demon's Den
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #790 on: July 21, 2012, 04:01:00 PM »
Unfortunately, this mod has not been updated in years, and probably never will be considering that feeble has been MIA since October 20, 2008.   

It has been discussed numerous times about someone else updating it, but not without the author's permission.  I am waiting for a new mod author to write a new one, but so far, none have done so.

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 757
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #791 on: July 21, 2012, 05:58:55 PM »
There are a number of issues.  Phantom pieces.  Challenge not working for some.  Etc... but overall they can all be overcome.  I'd love to see an update because even with the problems my forum has a number of games running at any given time.

Offline Biology Forums

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,746
    • StudyForcePS on Facebook
    • @studyforceps on Twitter
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #792 on: July 22, 2012, 12:11:16 AM »
There are a number of issues.  Phantom pieces.  Challenge not working for some.  Etc... but overall they can all be overcome.  I'd love to see an update because even with the problems my forum has a number of games running at any given time.

It's funny because all the functions work on my test forum, but not on my actual forum. I've tried replacing all the files and such, but no deal.

Offline busterone

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Gender: Male
  • Devil Dog
    • The Demon's Den
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #793 on: July 22, 2012, 12:19:10 AM »
I have had some of the same problems with not only this one, but a few others also. It is odd and has no explanation.  I make an exact copy of the existing forum files in a subdomain of the actual site, and connect it to an exact copy of the database, of course use repair_settings to get the urls and paths correct for the subdomain test site. I can install the mod on the test site and it works as it should, but on the live site, there are issues. Go figure.   :-\

Offline Biology Forums

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,746
    • StudyForcePS on Facebook
    • @studyforceps on Twitter
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #794 on: July 23, 2012, 01:58:03 AM »
I have had some of the same problems with not only this one, but a few others also. It is odd and has no explanation.  I make an exact copy of the existing forum files in a subdomain of the actual site, and connect it to an exact copy of the database, of course use repair_settings to get the urls and paths correct for the subdomain test site. I can install the mod on the test site and it works as it should, but on the live site, there are issues. Go figure.   :-\

It has to be something with our index.template.php file because some scripts might be interfering.

Offline Lord Anubis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 217
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #795 on: July 25, 2012, 10:27:27 PM »
I had posted a solution 1 page back about this...  mostly AJAX problems similar to quick reply.... this will help

Found it!

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=329069.0

Give that a shot and let me know if it works for you

This is due to M$ thinking they are king of the jungle and want things to work their way...its a browser problem in my opionion
For some reason, links in the control panel (i.e. draw, resign, etc.) are not working when clicked. What controls these functions?

No I didn't code this sweet mod either, so don't get that idea...  I have just had to make it work as well!
« Last Edit: July 25, 2012, 11:18:15 PM by Lord Anubis »

Offline Biology Forums

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,746
    • StudyForcePS on Facebook
    • @studyforceps on Twitter
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #796 on: July 26, 2012, 10:56:13 AM »
I had posted a solution 1 page back about this...  mostly AJAX problems similar to quick reply.... this will help

Found it!

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=329069.0

Give that a shot and let me know if it works for you

This is due to M$ thinking they are king of the jungle and want things to work their way...its a browser problem in my opionion
For some reason, links in the control panel (i.e. draw, resign, etc.) are not working when clicked. What controls these functions?

No I didn't code this sweet mod either, so don't get that idea...  I have just had to make it work as well!

It works now, I had change the txt file to include a comma. Javascripts and commas don't go hand-in-hand. However, the IE problem is still not solved.

Offline HD10180

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #797 on: November 14, 2012, 01:49:21 PM »
ok.. So is there any another game like poker or betting(bets). It will be awesome if there any game like this.
I have been dreaming of this same thing for years lol... Risk, Battleship, even checkers .... and lots of other old time board games would be fun to have

The hard part is having someone code them and give to the community, this was definitely a great addition (I still use it)

I just hope Feeble is ok, he just kinda disappeared...

Preview of Texas Hold'em Poker game under work : youtube.com/watch?v=mFTJEGwzFaI&feature=youtu.be

Offline Dave123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 253
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #798 on: March 15, 2013, 07:09:05 AM »
still works great, now with smf 2.04

Offline Biology Forums

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,746
    • StudyForcePS on Facebook
    • @studyforceps on Twitter
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #799 on: March 15, 2013, 12:22:45 PM »
still works great, now with smf 2.04

Mine doesn't move properly with IE :(