Advertisement:

Author Topic: SimplePortal  (Read 1392929 times)

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #40 on: March 15, 2008, 03:48:29 PM »
Quote
I've found the error. It appears only when avatars are disabled in the news.

Great, good job!

I disabled avatars because they overlaying the text.. but only if measures aren't standard.
The working theme you link to me has little avatars..

I think we can set the avatar width. If we can do that, will everything would be okay?
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline Nibogo

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,636
  • Gender: Male
    • smfpacks on Facebook
    • @smfpacks on Twitter
    • SMFPacks
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #41 on: March 15, 2008, 06:49:03 PM »
Someone have this mod workink with the "Çöl Ateşi v3" Theme because i can isntall in my forum and i use this theme

Offline maxdg

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #42 on: March 16, 2008, 10:52:31 AM »
Quote from: [SiNaN
I think we can set the avatar width. If we can do that, will everything would be okay?

I think it would be GREAT!
;)

I taked a look around and didn't noticed anything else, except for a little bridging issue with Joomla when I'm on Admin -> Option and Settings page and try to save.

Everything's OK when I'm on www.mysite/forum [nofollow] (directly in SMF with no template integration) but if I'm in the wrapped view I can't save settings because of a :

Code: [Select]
Unable to load the 'main' template
error..

« Last Edit: March 16, 2008, 10:58:51 AM by maxdg »

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #43 on: March 16, 2008, 12:29:06 PM »
I think it would be GREAT!
;)

I taked a look around and didn't noticed anything else, except for a little bridging issue with Joomla when I'm on Admin -> Option and Settings page and try to save.

Everything's OK when I'm on www.mysite/forum (directly in SMF with no template integration) but if I'm in the wrapped view I can't save settings because of a :

Code: [Select]
Unable to load the 'main' template
error..

I'll look at that avatar issue.

Ummm... Don't have any idea about the bridges. But I'll look at that also.
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline maxdg

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #44 on: March 16, 2008, 12:49:11 PM »
Thanks a lot for your care .. ;)

Offline Lil Puppy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #45 on: March 17, 2008, 06:26:30 AM »
I like this portal and my members want it very much but I can't use it on my live server :(

For some reason it wont read the language file entries for the text that it uses. See attached images.

I can get it to work perfectly on my home computer server for testing, but when I install it on my hosted server it refuses to show the text for the portal. I've tried manually installing on a fresh SMF 1.1.4 install with no other mods and it still wont work on the hosted server. I'm just getting into PHP so I'm having problems finding the reason for it.

Please help thanks :)

hxxp:presearing.com/test/ [nonactive]

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #46 on: March 17, 2008, 06:58:15 AM »
Try adding the text strings to the utf-8 language files also.
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline jusplay77

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #47 on: March 17, 2008, 07:44:55 AM »
Is it possible to add a recently purchased items block to the simple portal? 

The original mod that shows it in the shop is located here:
http://www.daniel15.com/forum/index.php/topic,1219.0.html

However the creator is not around anymore to my knowledge.  The code is there just the same to look at and modify to include with the SimplePortal though I would assume.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2008, 07:46:52 AM by jusplay77 »

Offline Lil Puppy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #48 on: March 17, 2008, 08:11:25 AM »
Try adding the text strings to the utf-8 language files also.

Thank you very much :)
I added the language file additions to the appropriate utf8 files and copied the SPortal.english.php file as SPortal.english-utf8.php and it works great now.

Suggestions for future versions:
* utf8 support ;)
* Better Avatar display coding. (have it check the avatar max size setting instead of hard coding it)
* Ability to turn on or off each of the items in the blocks on the left side. (like Karma, IP address, etc.)
« Last Edit: March 17, 2008, 08:59:35 AM by Lil Puppy »

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #49 on: March 17, 2008, 09:33:45 AM »
Is it possible to add a recently purchased items block to the simple portal? 

The original mod that shows it in the shop is located here:
http://www.daniel15.com/forum/index.php/topic,1219.0.html

However the creator is not around anymore to my knowledge.  The code is there just the same to look at and modify to include with the SimplePortal though I would assume.

I have added it to the mod page as SimplePortal_Shop.

http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=1104

Try adding the text strings to the utf-8 language files also.

Thank you very much :)
I added the language file additions to the appropriate utf8 files and copied the SPortal.english.php file as SPortal.english-utf8.php and it works great now.

Suggestions for future versions:
* utf8 support ;)
* Better Avatar display coding. (have it check the avatar max size setting instead of hard coding it)
* Ability to turn on or off each of the items in the blocks on the left side. (like Karma, IP address, etc.)

Not at all. But I couldn't understand the avatar issue.
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline Lil Puppy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #50 on: March 17, 2008, 10:46:51 AM »
What I meant is that in your coding for the avatar display in the News section it is set at a static number of pixels (80px maybe?). What I suggested is that it checks to see what you have your maximum avatar size settings at in the $modSettings array and set the width of the <td> to +10px larger so that all avatars will fit in that area instead of just the default size avatars (some of us like to use larger avatars for our members, mine is set to 100x100 for example).

This is what I have it set at in the SPortal.template.php
Code: [Select]
if($modSettings['nshowavatar'])
// $modSettings['avatar_max_width_external'] a setting to set the width by.
// the code below simply adds 10 to the width setting so the <td> will be large enough for the avatar and have some padding.
$avatar_max_table_width=$modSettings['avatar_max_width_external'] + 10;
echo'
<td width="', $avatar_max_table_width, 'px">', $news['avatar']['image'], '</td>';
echo '
<td>

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #51 on: March 17, 2008, 10:52:06 AM »
Hımmm, I understand. I'll add this also. Thanks. ;)

Soon comes the SMF Gallery Random Picture Block. 8)
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline jusplay77

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #52 on: March 17, 2008, 08:16:36 PM »
Quote
I have added it to the mod page as SimplePortal_Shop.

http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=1104

Brilliant!  Thanks for the add!

Quote
Soon comes the SMF Gallery Random Picture Block.

Awesome!  Can't wait!

~~

Also, what about a "Game of the Day" add-on (SMF Arcade) - shown below:


Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #53 on: March 18, 2008, 03:04:42 AM »
I'll look at the arcade also. :)
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline maxdg

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #54 on: March 18, 2008, 10:55:09 AM »
This is what I have it set at in the SPortal.template.php

Good, but you have the option "show hide avatar in News" disabled, this way.. or better, it doesn't work..

Offline denzil69

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 81
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #55 on: March 18, 2008, 02:53:11 PM »
this looks like a top mod.

im using 1.1.4 default, would it be possible for one of the blocks to include a numbered calendar thats linked to the main calendar.

block has numbers and month/year in it, when an event or holiday the number shows as a link, when you mouse over it, it gives a brief description for example.

many thanks

EDIT: unable to install this mod;

./Sources/ModSettings.php - test failed
./Themes/default/index.template.php - test failed

Using smf 1.1.4 default theme with a few basic mods installed.

oh well...
« Last Edit: March 18, 2008, 04:05:09 PM by denzil69 »

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #56 on: March 19, 2008, 03:27:01 AM »
Good, but you have the option "show hide avatar in News" disabled, this way.. or better, it doesn't work..

This is the correct code:

SPortal.template.php

Find:

Code: [Select]
if($modSettings['nshowavatar'])
echo'
<td width="80px">', $news['avatar']['image'], '</td>';

Replace:

Code: [Select]
if($modSettings['nshowavatar'])
{
$avatar_max_table_width=$modSettings['avatar_max_width_external'] + 10;
echo'
<td width="', $avatar_max_table_width, 'px">', $news['avatar']['image'], '</td>';
}

denzil69, calendar is also in my list. Just some time I need. :)

You should install the mod manually I think.
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline jusplay77

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #57 on: March 19, 2008, 08:59:56 AM »
Thanks for the fix.  I am now able to use avatars on the portal news :D

Offline thenerd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • TheMadFatter
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #58 on: March 19, 2008, 10:05:27 AM »
Hi,

Maybe I missed something but is there a tutorial on how to integrate this portal with a theme other than the default? I don't want to use the default theme but would like to use the SimplePortal if possible.

Thanks
hxxp:www.techalpha.net/index.php?referredby=1 [nonactive]

Offline denzil69

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 81
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #59 on: March 19, 2008, 06:07:48 PM »
If i upload the mod manually (ie not via the smf admin) wont i still have the errors that are showing on the test as failed?