Y1G Converter?

Started by NaturalStateReb, August 06, 2003, 05:28:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ms_ukyankee

I don't think I noticed a board password protection option, but the group permissions should do the trick. I'm sure it's secure as anything else.
SMF since 2004 <3

Jazhawk

Quote from: ms_ukyankee on March 25, 2004, 02:58:43 PM
I don't think I noticed a board password protection option, but the group permissions should do the trick. I'm sure it's secure as anything else.

You're probably right.  I have never used permissions in that way before ms_ukyankee.  I'll give it a shot and holla if I get into trouble. If you dont mind.

-Jazhawk

ms_ukyankee

I'm still a little confused by the permissions myself. ;) There are a lot of threads around on board permissions.
SMF since 2004 <3

Jazhawk

Quote from: ms_ukyankee on March 25, 2004, 03:12:34 PM
I'm still a little confused by the permissions myself. ;) There are a lot of threads around on board permissions.

I'll be rooting them out too.   :)

-Jazhawk

Senkusha

Just so you know, to "password protect" a board and allow only certain members access to it, you can create a member group (non-count based).  Then select that board and goto permissions, then make it a local permissions board.  Select your newly created group to only access that board.  Then simply add the membergroup to the individual members you want access to.  (I think you can do this by using additional groups but, I haven't tried that yet.  Note that this option will also hide the fact to other users that the selected members are a part of these groups (i.e. the group name will not show up on the memberlist and it will not show up under the member name next to each post.