Advertisement:

Author Topic: Menu Editor Lite  (Read 169487 times)

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 73,189
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #480 on: April 29, 2016, 10:30:50 PM »
I don't even want to do that if I can help it. There is one on GitHub because the intended user can just grab it easily when a new feature is ready for testing, but it's sufficiently niche I didn't bother releasing.

But I'm in the same boat, or similar, t Matthew - taking a previously paid mod and looking to release it, only to deal with people who come across as obnoxious because they can't get their own way and resort to ad hominems and character assassinations because they can't get what they want.
No good deed goes unpunished
All helpful urges should be circumvented

Offline Antes

  • Evil Black Cat
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9,166
  • Gender: Male
    • XinYenFon on GitHub
    • @XinYenFon on Twitter
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #481 on: April 29, 2016, 10:39:58 PM »
I don't even want to do that if I can help it. There is one on GitHub because the intended user can just grab it easily when a new feature is ready for testing, but it's sufficiently niche I didn't bother releasing.

But I'm in the same boat, or similar, t Matthew - taking a previously paid mod and looking to release it, only to deal with people who come across as obnoxious because they can't get their own way and resort to ad hominems and character assassinations because they can't get what they want.

That's why you need community manager. Otherwise people like you always and always end up giving up on their work. The money never ever pay the "social pressure or whatever you call" cost upon you.

One thing I observed over-time is mods on GitHub less-likely get weird requests due to people are lazy to go there.

Offline nend

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,755
  • 2 deep n2 the code
    • sicommnend on GitHub
    • SIComm.us
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #482 on: April 29, 2016, 11:47:39 PM »
Let's not start flaming each other and spamming the forums.

The modification author has agreed to list the disclaimer you requested.

Offline ohandy1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #483 on: April 30, 2016, 01:34:41 PM »
Hope the previous matter is settled...
I'm trying to decide whether I'd rather have Pretty URLs or Menu Editor.  When I have both, certain menu items (like Admin) don't work so I can't have both unless there's something I haven't figured yet.

I completely understand that compatibility with other 3rd party mods isn't remotely testable since they come/go/change all the time.  If the author or anyone else knows of a way to make these two play nice I'd love to hear about it.

Offline Antes

  • Evil Black Cat
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9,166
  • Gender: Male
    • XinYenFon on GitHub
    • @XinYenFon on Twitter
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #484 on: April 30, 2016, 01:45:43 PM »
Hope the previous matter is settled...
I'm trying to decide whether I'd rather have Pretty URLs or Menu Editor.  When I have both, certain menu items (like Admin) don't work so I can't have both unless there's something I haven't figured yet.

I completely understand that compatibility with other 3rd party mods isn't remotely testable since they come/go/change all the time.  If the author or anyone else knows of a way to make these two play nice I'd love to hear about it.

disallow admin action from prettyurls ?

Offline live627

  • Developer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,962
  • Gender: Male
    • live627 on Facebook
    • live627 on GitHub
    • live627 on LinkedIn
    • @live627 on Twitter
    • livemods
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #485 on: April 30, 2016, 04:57:44 PM »
Does Ultimate Menu work with Pretty URLs?

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 60,361
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #486 on: April 30, 2016, 10:09:13 PM »
Removed the continuing off topic crap, including comments from badon, arantor and myself.

Let's keep it on topic from here on out since the "issue" is solved.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline IzzySoft

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #487 on: May 12, 2016, 01:59:43 AM »


to have the Child Options show Again, change index.css in the Active theme to

Code: [Select]
div.cat_bar
{
background: url(../images/theme/main_block.png) no-repeat 0 -160px;
padding-left: 9px;
height: 31px;
overflow: hidden;
margin-bottom: 1px;
width: 99%; /* ADD NEW */
}

Offline PatrickPriest

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 128
  • Gender: Male
    • OTHfans.com
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #488 on: September 12, 2016, 11:52:14 AM »
I'm having an issue with the messages notification showing up.  Before I installed this mod, it would show the number of new messages beside the "My Messages" tab in the menu.  I installed this mod and that is no longer the case.  Is there a fix for this?  Thank you.

UPDATE:  Nevermind.  Found fix on page 8 of this thread.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2016, 12:14:30 PM by PatrickPriest »

Offline twc1968

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #489 on: September 19, 2016, 04:45:51 PM »
I'm have a problem with this MOD working in a custom theme. When I change them to the default theme it works fantastic but when I switch back to the custom theme the drop downs do not show up.

I have been reading the thread and trying to see if anybody else has had this problem and only found one person but did not see a fix.

Any help would be appreciated. I love this mod and would like to get it to work on my site.

I'm using SMH 2.0.11 and the custom theme is GamerZ

Thanks for any help that anybody can give me!

Tim

Offline Matthew K.

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 12,431
  • Gender: Male
    • matthew.kerle on Facebook
    • @matthew_kerle on Twitter
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #490 on: September 23, 2016, 12:13:53 PM »
Your theme does not support menu items beyond the main level. Which is extremely unfortunate, also meaning there's nothing I can do to assist you. Try reaching out to the theme designer to see if they'll give you the code to add them.

Offline freddy123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #491 on: February 01, 2017, 12:04:17 AM »
I don't know if you still check this thread, but I am experiencing a possible conflict problem with your mod.

Once installed it makes the 'Like Stats' from the top menu disappear. (This is from the 'Like Posts' mod) In case you are interested.

This just happened now, so I will try and work it out, or maybe you you or someone else has an idea?

Thanks

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 60,361
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #492 on: February 01, 2017, 09:31:17 AM »
this is the same issue that occurs with the PM notification...   you might check how they solved that, but I suspect that you can't have both this mod and the stats in the menu
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline meylodie

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 75
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #493 on: May 14, 2017, 12:51:15 PM »
Hi,
I have added a Paypal button in the navigation bar, I wonder if it would be possible to put the Paypal icon image besides? If yes, how can I do that?

Thanks!

Offline pijo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #494 on: September 11, 2017, 07:37:01 AM »
Forks flawless on SMF 2.0.13 (Gumus and Gumus Mobile) and placed idealy between Home and Help buttons (so 2nd from left).

I have 21 categories listed verticaly (a little long to scroll down), how can I have 2 vertical columns (12 and 9) instead of a unique verical column ?

     


Thanks for help.

Button "GO TO >>" visible on my website : hxxp:www.neeeeext.com/index.php [nonactive]











Offline pijo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #495 on: September 15, 2017, 08:59:54 AM »
Hi everyone,
I am running SMF 2.0.13 and I added the MOD "Menu Editor Lite" (MOD here : http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=3310).
A button "GO TO >>" was added on the main menu buttons (2nd from the left, see picture).
The dropdown menu is now very long verticaly (20 categories !!), so ... how to split this dropdown menu in 2 (or 3) vertical columns (say 10 and 10) ? No option to do so inside the MOD.

My actual menu  :

           

My website : hxxp:www.neeeeext.com/index.php [nonactive]


The css code (from index.css) is :

Code: [Select]
#main_menu{padding-left:55px;margin-bottom:15px;width:100%;height:1px;}
.Tekmenu{}
.dropmenu, .dropmenu ul{list-style:none;line-height:1em;padding:0;margin:0;}
.dropmenu{padding:0 0em;}
.dropmenu a{display:block;color:#313131;text-decoration:none;background:#ffd155;background-image:-moz-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-webkit-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-ms-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-o-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));border-radius:0px 13px;box-shadow:1px 1px 5px 1px #000;margin:2px 7px;}
.dropmenu a span{display:block;padding:2px 4px 2px 4px;font-size:1em;}
.dropmenu li a.firstlevel{}
.dropmenu li a.firstlevel span.firstlevel{display:block;position:relative;height:36px;line-height:29px;white-space:pre;}
.dropmenu li{padding: 0px 0px 10px 0px !important;float:left;padding:0;margin:0;position:relative;min-width:30px;text-align:center;}
.dropmenu li ul{z-index:90;display:none;position:absolute;width:11em;font-weight:normal;background:none;background-image:-moz-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-webkit-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-ms-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-o-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));border-radius:5px;padding:7px 0 0 0;}
.dropmenu li li{text-align:left;width:17em;margin:0;margin-bottom:3px;}
.dropmenu li li a span{display:block;padding:8px;}
.dropmenu li ul ul{margin:-1.8em 0 0 13em;}
.dropmenu li a.active{background:#0466F9;background-image:-moz-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-webkit-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-ms-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-o-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));border-radius:0px 13px;box-shadow:1px 1px 5px 1px #000;color:#fff;font-weight:bold;}
.dropmenu li a.firstlevel:hover, .dropmenu li:hover a.firstlevel{background:#0466F9;background-image:-moz-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-webkit-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-ms-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-o-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));border-radius:0px 13px;box-shadow:1px 1px 5px 1px #000;color:#fff;cursor:pointer;text-decoration:none;}
.dropmenu li a.firstlevel:hover span.firstlevel, .dropmenu li:hover a.firstlevel span.firstlevel{}
.dropmenu li li a:hover, .dropmenu li li:hover>a{background:#0466F9;background-image:-moz-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-webkit-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-ms-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:-o-linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));background-image:linear-gradient(30deg, rgba(255, 255, 255,0), rgba(255, 255, 255,0.7), rgba(255, 255, 255,0));border-radius:0px 13px;box-shadow:1px 1px 5px 1px #000;color:#fff;text-decoration:none;}
.dropmenu li:hover ul ul, .dropmenu li:hover ul ul ul{top:-999em;}
.dropmenu li li:hover ul{top:auto;}
.dropmenu li:hover ul{display:block;}
#menu_toggle{float:right;margin-right:10px;padding-top:3px;}
#menu_toggle span{position:relative;right:5000px;}

Any help greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.





Offline Gwenwyfar

  • Great Wizard's familiar
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,367
  • Gender: Female
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #496 on: September 15, 2017, 09:25:38 AM »
You can use your browser's inspector to help you with this kind of change.

To change the space available for the list, find this on index.css:

Code: [Select]
.dropmenu li ul {
    z-index: 90;
    display: none;
    position: absolute;
    width: 19.2em;

Replace width: 19.2em with 40em. This will double the space available, allowing two columns. If you want to tweak this, the width of each item is defined here:

Code: [Select]
.dropmenu li li {
    text-align: left;
    width: 19em;

Offline pijo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #497 on: September 15, 2017, 11:17:12 AM »
Thanks man, you saved my day (already lost 3 to search the web without success !!).

Following your advice, I applied 40em and VOILA !!! 2 columns !!


         

Modifying the number of "em" didn't imrove the submenu so I left it at 19em.

.dropmenu li li {
    text-align: left;
    width: 19em;


As I see you know very well the codes of SMF, here are my last 2 questions (if I don't bother you too much) :

- is there a way to remove the big "blank" spaces between the buttons (like between "Unconventional Sciences ..." and "HEALTH" and between "USEFUL PRODUCTIVITY TOOLS" and "General Topics") ?

- is there a way to "desactivate" the button "GO TO >>" ? Actually it is set to go to "Home Page" (no much choice in fact within the settings of Menu Editor Lite).
On the mobile version, when I click on it, he sends me to Home Page (and not showing the submenu as it should).
On the desktop version, when the mouse hovers on it, it shows the submenu, but not on the mobile version (because no mouse to use).
Can I "desactivate" it, just showing the submenu and nothing else when clicked or hovered ?

Thanks again for your invaluable help and your time.

Regards,
Joel

Offline Gwenwyfar

  • Great Wizard's familiar
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,367
  • Gender: Female
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #498 on: September 15, 2017, 11:27:01 AM »
That space is because these two items have higher height (two lines of text), and don't line up with the others. The simplest solution would be to move both  to be side-by-side, or reduce the text content. Fixing the source of the problem would require a few edits in how this menu works.

Offline pijo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Menu Editor Lite
« Reply #499 on: September 16, 2017, 05:04:57 AM »
Thanks Gwenwyfar,
I solved the issue of these big spaces by changing the background color to blue, less ugly than the white.

To deactivate the "GO TO" link I think I should modify the link "Home page" by adding ""nofollow" for this external link only.
But ... where to find this code ?

Here is my list of folders :     

                     

The full image (not tronqued) is in attachment.


Any idea where to go in this list ?

Thanks again.