Advertisement:

Author Topic: How do I setup a CDN on SMF  (Read 2215 times)

Offline CBG

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Gender: Male
How do I setup a CDN on SMF
« on: January 14, 2013, 06:43:05 AM »
Hi,

I have access to a CDN and was wondering, how I would go about, making it work with SMF.
Are you any how-to, changes etc... I can follow?

I am looking for fast speed loading, for other countries, so mainly looking at off loading the images, javascript and css.
SMF version: 2.0.7

Regards,
Garry

Online CoreISP

  • Server Admin
  • Server Team
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 18,475
  • Gender: Male
  • Liroy van Hoewijk
Re: How do I setup a CDN on SMF
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2013, 08:39:52 AM »
You don't set it up with SMF, you set it up at your server in general or at least your domain in general. You shouldn't have to change anything towards SMF.
((U + C + I)x(10 − S)) / 20xAx1 / (1 − sin(F / 10))
President/CEO of Simple Machines - Server Manager
Please do not PM for support - anything else is usually OK.

Offline CBG

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do I setup a CDN on SMF
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2013, 09:08:52 AM »
From what I know of a CDN setup.
You would normally change JS, CSS and images to point to the CDN example cdn.example.com/FILENAME.EXT

So that tells me it need to be changed in the code/template in SMF.
It not something to do with your hosting account.

I am not talking about CloudFlare either.

If I am wrong please give full details.
SMF version: 2.0.7

Regards,
Garry

Offline CBG

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do I setup a CDN on SMF
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2013, 09:11:50 AM »
I found this post: http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=389034.msg2688324#msg2688324

Which is going to point me in the right direction it seems.
I just wanted to know if there was an easy way to setup a CDN (Content delivery network).
SMF version: 2.0.7

Regards,
Garry

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 73,189
Re: How do I setup a CDN on SMF
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2013, 12:19:59 PM »
There isn't an easy way to do it, as such, especially given that any change of theme or change of mod will require changing what's on the CDN.
No good deed goes unpunished
All helpful urges should be circumvented