Advertisement:

Author Topic: What is eAccelerator?  (Read 127632 times)

Offline Elmacik

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,280
  • Gender: Male
  • = Human Draft =
    • IT Store
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #20 on: October 20, 2005, 12:55:54 AM »
eAccelerator is installed but not taking place in phpinfo.... why?
here is the relevant part of php5.ini 
Code: [Select]
[eAccelerator]
;extension=eaccelerator.dll
;eaccelerator.shm_size = "0"
;eaccelerator.cache_dir = "G:\PHP\xampp\tmp"
;eaccelerator.enable = "1"
;eaccelerator.optimizer = "1"
;eaccelerator.debug = "0"
;eaccelerator.check_mtime = "1"
;eaccelerator.filter = ""
;eaccelerator.shm_max = "0"
;eaccelerator.shm_ttl = "0"
;eaccelerator.shm_prune_period = "0"
;eaccelerator.shm_only = "0"
;eaccelerator.compress = "1"
;eaccelerator.compress_level = "9"
;eaccelerator.keys = "shm_and_disk"
;eaccelerator.sessions = "shm_and_disk"
;eaccelerator.content = "shm_and_disk"
;eaccelerator.admin.name =
;eaccelerator.admin.password =
Home of Elmacik

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #21 on: October 20, 2005, 05:56:19 AM »
You have it commented out, remove the ;'s.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline Elmacik

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,280
  • Gender: Male
  • = Human Draft =
    • IT Store
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #22 on: October 20, 2005, 08:04:17 AM »
ah dammit i didnt notice that :)
thanks..
does to install two optimizing engine harm the system?
and if yes, which lines should i remove for zend?
these? :
Code: [Select]
[Zend]
zend_extension_ts = "G:\PHP\xampp\php\zendOptimizer\lib\ZendExtensionManager.dll"
zend_extension_manager.optimizer_ts = "G:\PHP\xampp\php\zendOptimizer\lib\Optimizer"
zend_optimizer.enable_loader = 0
zend_optimizer.optimization_level=15
Home of Elmacik

Offline Oldiesmann

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 24,872
  • Gender: Male
  • Ask me about the function DB :)
    • oldiesmann on Facebook
    • Oldiesmann on GitHub
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/michaeleshom on LinkedIn
    • @oldiesmann on Twitter
    • Archie Comics Fan Forum
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #23 on: October 20, 2005, 12:03:55 PM »
As I recall, they don't recommend runing both eAccelerator and Zend Optimizer unless you need Zend encoding, so you should comment out and/or remove the Zend lines.
Michael Eshom
Cincy Space - now open!

Offline Gandalf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 208
  • Gender: Male
    • SMO
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #24 on: November 03, 2005, 03:30:51 PM »
Hello there,

I have my own server, I am using Joomla ( CMS ) and SMF 1.1, do you think that this eAccelerator may have a better perfermance on my server?

Thx
Siemens-mobiles.org Visit it and you won't regret it :D

Offline Joshua Dickerson

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,777
  • Gender: Male
    • joshuaadickerson on GitHub
    • joshuaadickerson on LinkedIn
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #25 on: November 03, 2005, 03:36:34 PM »
Hello there,

I have my own server, I am using Joomla ( CMS ) and SMF 1.1, do you think that this eAccelerator may have a better perfermance on my server?

Thx
try it.
Need help? See the wiki. Want to help SMF? See the wiki!

Did you know you can help develop SMF? See us on Github.

How have you bettered the world today?

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #26 on: November 04, 2005, 11:49:06 AM »
Deffinatly.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline Gandalf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 208
  • Gender: Male
    • SMO
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #27 on: November 04, 2005, 11:50:57 AM »
I installed it yesterday, it works no errors so far, though i didnt notice a great improvement in the perfermance, I will compare next week server load statistic with last week to see which one is better..

Thx anyway..
Siemens-mobiles.org Visit it and you won't regret it :D

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #28 on: November 04, 2005, 01:41:55 PM »
It does make a difference, forgot to readd it after upgrading to php 4.4.1 and load was significantly higher. Unless your server is working hard anyway you are unlikely to really notice it, but page generation time will be slightly lower.

You can see it here in fact, http://www.redandwhitekop.com/load/index.php?logfile=1131062400.log No prizes for guessing what time I added it back in.
« Last Edit: November 04, 2005, 07:43:27 PM by Ben_S »
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline Elmacik

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,280
  • Gender: Male
  • = Human Draft =
    • IT Store
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #29 on: November 06, 2005, 03:40:16 PM »
Here are my settings about optimizers:
Code: [Select]
[eAccelerator]
extension=eaccelerator.dll
eaccelerator.shm_size = "0"
eaccelerator.cache_dir = "G:\PHP\xampp\tmp"
eaccelerator.enable = "1"
eaccelerator.optimizer = "1"
eaccelerator.debug = "0"
eaccelerator.check_mtime = "1"
eaccelerator.filter = ""
eaccelerator.shm_max = "0"
eaccelerator.shm_ttl = "0"
eaccelerator.shm_prune_period = "0"
eaccelerator.shm_only = "0"
eaccelerator.compress = "1"
eaccelerator.compress_level = "9"
eaccelerator.keys = "shm_and_disk"
eaccelerator.sessions = "shm_and_disk"
eaccelerator.content = "shm_and_disk"
eaccelerator.admin.name =
eaccelerator.admin.password =

[Zend]
;zend_extension_ts = "G:\PHP\xampp\php\zendOptimizer\lib\ZendExtensionManager.dll"
;zend_extension_manager.optimizer_ts = "G:\PHP\xampp\php\zendOptimizer\lib\Optimizer"
;zend_optimizer.enable_loader = 0
;zend_optimizer.optimization_level=15
;zend_optimizer.license_path =

When I look at my phpinfo, I dont see eAccelerator anywhere but on the other hand, zend is there >:(
Whats wrong? (Yes, I restarted the server after changing the settings and checked back)
Home of Elmacik

Offline Compuart

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,774
  • Gender: Male
  • ZĂ©eeeal
    • RealityNet
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #30 on: November 06, 2005, 05:13:29 PM »
Here are my settings about optimizers:
Code: [Select]
[eAccelerator]
extension=eaccelerator.dll
eaccelerator.shm_size = "0"
eaccelerator.cache_dir = "G:\PHP\xampp\tmp"
eaccelerator.enable = "1"
eaccelerator.optimizer = "1"
eaccelerator.debug = "0"
eaccelerator.check_mtime = "1"
eaccelerator.filter = ""
eaccelerator.shm_max = "0"
eaccelerator.shm_ttl = "0"
eaccelerator.shm_prune_period = "0"
eaccelerator.shm_only = "0"
eaccelerator.compress = "1"
eaccelerator.compress_level = "9"
eaccelerator.keys = "shm_and_disk"
eaccelerator.sessions = "shm_and_disk"
eaccelerator.content = "shm_and_disk"
eaccelerator.admin.name =
eaccelerator.admin.password =

[Zend]
;zend_extension_ts = "G:\PHP\xampp\php\zendOptimizer\lib\ZendExtensionManager.dll"
;zend_extension_manager.optimizer_ts = "G:\PHP\xampp\php\zendOptimizer\lib\Optimizer"
;zend_optimizer.enable_loader = 0
;zend_optimizer.optimization_level=15
;zend_optimizer.license_path =

When I look at my phpinfo, I dont see eAccelerator anywhere but on the other hand, zend is there >:(
Whats wrong? (Yes, I restarted the server after changing the settings and checked back)
Make sure the extension dir is set right (extension_dir setting in php.ini). Also make sure you have the php.ini that's in xampp\apache\bin. Xampp has multiple php.ini files, only one is valid ;)
Hendrik Jan Visser
Former Lead Developer & Co-founder www.simplemachines.org
Personal Signature:
Realitynet.nl -> ExpeditieRobinson.net / PekingExpress.org / WieIsDeMol.Com

Offline Elmacik

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,280
  • Gender: Male
  • = Human Draft =
    • IT Store
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #31 on: November 06, 2005, 05:23:26 PM »
Umm.. I didnt notice that :D
I knew that it has many php.ini files, In case doing it wrong, I changed all of them but see, I missed one :D
But thats ok, people learn by trying and making mistakes.. ;)
Thanks Compuart
Home of Elmacik

Offline Gandalf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 208
  • Gender: Male
    • SMO
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #32 on: November 08, 2005, 06:29:06 AM »
Just a little info... for whom did integrate Coopermine Photo Gallery with SMF, if they use caching, the gallery will not work, it will give an error...
Siemens-mobiles.org Visit it and you won't regret it :D

Offline Motorhead

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 220
  • Gender: Male
    • Steve's Offroad and Landrover Site
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #33 on: November 08, 2005, 07:16:25 AM »
I've probably misunderstood but I'm running

SMF 1.1 rc1 + MKPortal 1.1 with Coppermine intergated into my SMF and I've got Eaccelerator installed , don't seem to have a problem ??


Offline Gandalf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 208
  • Gender: Male
    • SMO
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #34 on: November 10, 2005, 04:10:43 AM »
Hmmm That's weird :o i have Joomla + SMF + coppermine but when i turned it on
REPLACE INTO smf_settings
   (variable, value)
VALUES ('cache_enable', '2');

I had a weird error while accessing coppermine i don't remember it but something about cache
Siemens-mobiles.org Visit it and you won't regret it :D

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #35 on: November 10, 2005, 04:51:36 AM »
Some versions of the coppermine bridge dont like it, do a search, theres a posted fix.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Bonk

  • Guest
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #36 on: November 10, 2005, 08:56:23 AM »
In case anyone is looking for eAccelerator 0.9.3 for php 5.0.5 on win32:

http://www.dynaverse.net/downloads/Utilities/eAccelerator0.9.3_php5.0.5.zip

I decided not to wait for http://www.arnot.info/eaccelerator/ to do it as I wanted to use php 5.0.5 right away, so I went ahead and compiled it myself, it took a little futzing but it compiled OK and is running fine on our server.

Enjoy!  :D

Offline Elmacik

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,280
  • Gender: Male
  • = Human Draft =
    • IT Store
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #37 on: November 10, 2005, 11:53:17 AM »
Here are my settings about optimizers:
Code: [Select]
[eAccelerator]
extension=eaccelerator.dll
eaccelerator.shm_size = "0"
eaccelerator.cache_dir = "G:\PHP\xampp\tmp"
eaccelerator.enable = "1"
eaccelerator.optimizer = "1"
eaccelerator.debug = "0"
eaccelerator.check_mtime = "1"
eaccelerator.filter = ""
eaccelerator.shm_max = "0"
eaccelerator.shm_ttl = "0"
eaccelerator.shm_prune_period = "0"
eaccelerator.shm_only = "0"
eaccelerator.compress = "1"
eaccelerator.compress_level = "9"
eaccelerator.keys = "shm_and_disk"
eaccelerator.sessions = "shm_and_disk"
eaccelerator.content = "shm_and_disk"
eaccelerator.admin.name =
eaccelerator.admin.password =

[Zend]
;zend_extension_ts = "G:\PHP\xampp\php\zendOptimizer\lib\ZendExtensionManager.dll"
;zend_extension_manager.optimizer_ts = "G:\PHP\xampp\php\zendOptimizer\lib\Optimizer"
;zend_optimizer.enable_loader = 0
;zend_optimizer.optimization_level=15
;zend_optimizer.license_path =

When I look at my phpinfo, I dont see eAccelerator anywhere but on the other hand, zend is there >:(
Whats wrong? (Yes, I restarted the server after changing the settings and checked back)
Make sure the extension dir is set right (extension_dir setting in php.ini). Also make sure you have the php.ini that's in xampp\apache\bin. Xampp has multiple php.ini files, only one is valid ;)

Weird but that didnt work :(
Home of Elmacik

Bonk

  • Guest
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #38 on: November 25, 2005, 06:00:26 PM »
eAccelerator 0.9.4-rc1 (or 0.9.3) is not compatible with php 5.1.0... grrr!  >:(

http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?thread_id=1390864&forum_id=416742

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: What is eAccelerator?
« Reply #39 on: November 25, 2005, 08:09:48 PM »
Use APC, it's a better solution all round if you ask me, going to make the switch myself.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.