Amended Topic Title won't update Post Titles.

Started by bosswhite, June 12, 2013, 05:08:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bosswhite

My forum covers technical issues so, as an administrator, I will sometimes modify vague topic titles (Help me, etc.) to something more relevant to aid searching.
When I do this the titles in the posts within that topic remain unchanged (Re: Old Title instead of Re: New Title) and I have to manually edit each post.

I would have assumed that it would be a standard feature for post titles to update if the topic title was changed. It does so in most of the leading forum softwares (I say most, because I haven't tried them all but as yet haven't come across one that doesn't).

Am I missing something? Is there a setting I need to apply to make it update?
I've been down so long now it's beginning to look like up..

Shambles

You could click "move topic", tick the box that says "Change the topic's subject.", enter the new topic title (and tick "Change every message's subject.") then complete the move.

Naturally, you'd then move it right back from whence it came, resplendent in all its glory new topic title.

kat

I think it was done, intentionally, when SMF was first created. Maybe so that things could kinda go off topic, or something? I'd be quite interested to know the truth, behind that, just for historical reasons.

As you can see, my post has a different title. ;)

Shambles

My interpretation was that boss wanted to edit every message title within a thread, from one place, in one fell swoop.

I could be mistaken about that.

kat

Yeah, that's how I read it, too. I was just trying to explain why it is the way it is, really.

bosswhite

I cannot see the logic in what you are telling me.
In my mind, if you modify something it should also update anything that refers to it.

Another issue, but on the same topic of edits, is this:

I have a post entitled Adding "Glue Joints" to a PVC Service