News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Highlight thread w/different color when it contains a user's own post

Started by Turrican3, September 27, 2005, 11:06:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Turrican3

Hello everybody... I'm (obviously) new to this board and I've been using SMF on my site for slightly less than three months now.

I would like to implement a feature I've seen on many forums on the Net: since I hardly notice the "bubble" icon on the left which is shown on threads in which a user has posted, I'd prefer instead to highlight the thread using a different background color for the row...

I understand that I have to modify SMF sources, but I'd be more than grateful if somebody could help me to do so: pointing at the right file to study/change (I'm just a C programmer, but I think I can at least try to look at PHP sources  :D) would be an excellent thing to start with!  :)

Thanks for your attention and excuse me for my English. Feel free to ask me everything that's not clear.

Anguz

I'd look into Display.template.php in the theme dir. That's a good start. ;)
Cristián Lávaque http://cristianlavaque.com

Anguz

I'm gonna double check if I got your question right, cause now I'm not sure. You want that when a person is reading a topic, the posts made by him are marked in a certain way, right?
Cristián Lávaque http://cristianlavaque.com

Turrican3

Hmmm well, I want a slightly different thing  :)

Let's write it down just to be on the safe side:

Suppose this is the index of a (sub) forum:

ICON 1 --- ICON 2 --- THREAD TITLE 1 ----------------- REPLIES ----- VIEWS -------
ICON 1 --- ICON 2 --- THREAD TITLE 2 ----------------- REPLIES ----- VIEWS -------
ICON 1 --- ICON 2 --- THREAD TITLE 3 ----------------- REPLIES ----- VIEWS -------

with the default (classic) theme, ICON 1 is something like a comic bubble when a user is logged AND it has posted in that thread...