Forgot password emails and registration emails not working

Started by portalpacific, October 16, 2013, 01:48:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

portalpacific

Hello! I'm totally new to dealing with my own forums. I have my forum up at hxxp:miningmojo.com/community [nonactive] and am having problems. I changed the password to my admin account. Logged out, attempted to log back in and it said my password was wrong.. (which i wasn't) then it asked me to retrieve password so i put in my email and it said it would send reactivation link or something similar. The email never came.. So i put in my security answer and it said it was wrong which it wasnt..

So then i made a new user account with another email and i never go the email after signing up..

I could be missing something.. Am i suppose to set up this email stuff somewhere?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Chalky

First of all, welcome to SMF  :)

I just registered with your site to see if I received an email but it just logged me straight in as soon as I registered.  You need to change that or you'll be spammed to death within a couple of days.  Check out http://wiki.simplemachines.org/smf/Spam_-_my_forum_is_flooded_with_spam,_what_can_I_do  for advice on how to protect your forum.

Ok, I logged out and requested a password reminder.  Ten minutes or so later nothing has come through.  Have you managed to recover your admin account yet?  If not, have a read of http://wiki.simplemachines.org/smf/I_accidentally_lost_my_admin_account!_What_can_I_do.  One of those suggestions should get you back in  :)

Once you're in check Admin > Maintenance > Mail and see what your settings are.

portalpacific