Advertisement:

Author Topic: Backing up the forum database?  (Read 3132 times)

Offline RoadRanger

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Backing up the forum database?
« on: January 27, 2017, 02:30:28 PM »
So, I was able to upgrade Beta 2 to the github build of Beta 3 with just the usual Godaddy hosting issues :( . Anyways I want to backup the database and can't find the option for that?

Offline oOo--STAR--oOo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
  • Perfectionist
    • Developing Uniquez
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2017, 02:55:14 PM »
Go to Admin -> Maintenance -> Forum Maintenance -> Database.

Does this exist in 2.1?
You can't fool a sufficiently talented fool.

http://www.uniquez-home.com
In Design Phase!

Mods I am designing,  No refresh Collapse Categories , Poll Redesign , Pure CSS Breadcrumb , Profile Statuses, Profile Views.

Offline d3vcho

  • Sempiterno
  • On Hiatus
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,479
  • Gender: Male
    • frandominguez03 on GitHub
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2017, 03:47:16 PM »
It's better to use the backup option available in your host, IMO.

"Greeting Death as an old friend, they departed this life as equals."

Offline br360

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,398
    • GenXcommunity
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2017, 03:54:36 PM »
Go to Admin -> Maintenance -> Forum Maintenance -> Database.

Does this exist in 2.1?

No, the option to back up the database in the admin panel was removed in 2.1 as it was buggy and sometimes wouldn't do a full back up/missing stuff.


Offline oOo--STAR--oOo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
  • Perfectionist
    • Developing Uniquez
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2017, 04:00:46 PM »
Go to Admin -> Maintenance -> Forum Maintenance -> Database.

Does this exist in 2.1?

No, the option to back up the database in the admin panel was removed in 2.1 as it was buggy and sometimes wouldn't do a full back up/missing stuff.

I always thought it was a security concern anyway to have the option to dump that right from within the forums.
I actually remove the source file to this in smf 2.0 so that it can't be executed.
You can't fool a sufficiently talented fool.

http://www.uniquez-home.com
In Design Phase!

Mods I am designing,  No refresh Collapse Categories , Poll Redesign , Pure CSS Breadcrumb , Profile Statuses, Profile Views.

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,492
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2017, 06:42:21 PM »
It was not a security concern...  because if you can get into the smf admin pages as an admin, then you can do anything, anyway...   so removing it had nothing at all to do with security (and your removal wouldn't stop anything, since a hacker, if he had admin access) could use the theme manager or the package manager and just upload his own script to do anything he wanted.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline RoadRanger

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2017, 06:53:34 PM »
Thanks :) - I think :( .

I want to "clone" my 2.1 forum. Any ideas how to do this without being able to back up the database? To complicate the situation I have both a fairly active 2.0 forum and this second 2.1 forum in the same database - and I was probably going to have the third (second 2.1) forum in that same database too. I could just do it from scratch but it would be much easier to clone a forum already set up to my liking :) .

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,492
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2017, 06:59:37 PM »
Back it up from your hosting panel of from inside phpmyadmin


But it is not recommended to put multiple forums in the same database....   any decent host should be able to support at least five to ten databases on the basic plan
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline oOo--STAR--oOo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
  • Perfectionist
    • Developing Uniquez
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2017, 07:01:48 PM »
It was not a security concern...  because if you can get into the smf admin pages as an admin, then you can do anything, anyway...   so removing it had nothing at all to do with security (and your removal wouldn't stop anything, since a hacker, if he had admin access) could use the theme manager or the package manager and just upload his own script to do anything he wanted.

I already thought of this and removed the ability in the admin centre to do any of them actions. Cannot install packages, cannot edit template files... You name it.. I simply use my FTP to reinstate them files if I need them functions :D.

I am going to be adding 2 factor authentication also for admin. I will see if someone already created a mod that works with the google app for the authentication by app.
You can't fool a sufficiently talented fool.

http://www.uniquez-home.com
In Design Phase!

Mods I am designing,  No refresh Collapse Categories , Poll Redesign , Pure CSS Breadcrumb , Profile Statuses, Profile Views.

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,492
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2017, 08:13:12 PM »
So, in other words, you disabled two of the features that makes SMF so powerful.... and forced yourself to manually install mods (and uninstall them as well) including patches.   That certainly seems more like cutting off your nose to spite your face.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline oOo--STAR--oOo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
  • Perfectionist
    • Developing Uniquez
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2017, 08:40:44 PM »
So, in other words, you disabled two of the features that makes SMF so powerful.... and forced yourself to manually install mods (and uninstall them as well) including patches.   That certainly seems more like cutting off your nose to spite your face.

I'm very fluent in PHP its no problem to me :D. I just re-add the files when I need to use them. No one else needs access so why have it open 24/7.. I have had instances where modrators and admins have had their passwords keylogged through stupid things they do so its better to be safe than sorry. Luckily no damage was caused, they was caught within minutes. If there is something that can improve security, then why not do it :D. Have you ever had a lot of people trying to attack your database? ddos attacks of over 500gbps? When you experience what people do through jealousy then you will add these little extra tweaks they are worth it :D.

Complementary to SMF, they have never been able to breach the database! I have had rivals that have had their databases leaked. So that is saying something good and proven with SMF!That is the one thing I can say about SMF, the security is good! Especially when you perform the extra steps I do :D. It might seem useless to you, but to me its useful. We all do things differently :D.

I setup my own linux environment, firewalls and daemons to constantly analyse everything. If there is a security concern I am on it :D.
You can't fool a sufficiently talented fool.

http://www.uniquez-home.com
In Design Phase!

Mods I am designing,  No refresh Collapse Categories , Poll Redesign , Pure CSS Breadcrumb , Profile Statuses, Profile Views.

Offline RoadRanger

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2017, 09:25:47 PM »
But it is not recommended to put multiple forums in the same database....   any decent host should be able to support at least five to ten databases on the basic plan
Well, when I installed 2.1 it asked if I wanted to put it in the existing database so I did. Why give the option if it's not advisable?

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,432
  • We were all equal in the end.
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #12 on: January 27, 2017, 09:32:14 PM »
GoDaddy has a database backup feature in their control panel that works well.  Haven't worked a GD forum in a while, but it should be in the MySQL database section of control panel.  It dumps an sql file into a root directory (/db_backups, or something similar), you can d/l it from there, or you can export the db with phpmyadmin..

“There is nothing more frightful than ignorance in action.”  Goethe

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,492
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #13 on: January 27, 2017, 09:48:29 PM »
There is an option to upgrade...   and that would be the same database

In the INSTALLER, you have to define the database... which means that you told it to use the same database... it was not an "option" or even suggested.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline RoadRanger

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2017, 10:03:12 PM »
In the INSTALLER, you have to define the database... which means that you told it to use the same database... it was not an "option" or even suggested.
It sure did - just said to use a different "Table prefix". There's no way I would have thought to do that myself LOL.

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,492
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #15 on: January 27, 2017, 10:26:21 PM »
No... it warned you that installing into the same table was a bad idea and, if you insisted on continuing, you should use a different prefix.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline RoadRanger

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #16 on: January 27, 2017, 10:43:25 PM »
Really? I never saw a warning like that. Seems to work fine.

Anyways looks to be easy enough to export those tables and import them into a new database to "split" the two forums into separate databases. i can also use that to "clone" 2.1 it would seem :) .

Offline albertlast

  • Development Contributor
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 616
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #17 on: January 28, 2017, 05:19:32 AM »
The only issue about to use the default backup solution from your provider,
is my eyes that your not able to switch from smf with pg to mysql and the other direction.

but maybe no one cares.

Offline RoadRanger

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Backing up the forum database?
« Reply #18 on: January 28, 2017, 05:48:16 PM »
I think I only have MySQL. In any case I was able to clone 2.1 no prob :) . Thanks all !