Advertisement:

Author Topic: Menu Button With Boards List  (Read 1058 times)

Offline digger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 670
  • Gender: Male
    • realdigger on GitHub
    • SMF Russian Community
Menu Button With Boards List
« on: July 03, 2017, 10:35:41 AM »
Link to Mod

Author: digger
License: The MIT License (MIT)
Hooks only: Yes
Languages: English, Russian
GitHub: https://github.com/realdigger/SMF-Menu-Button-With-Boards-List

Mod adds a menu button with a dropdown list of the boards from the predefined category (one or more).




Offline Steve

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,865
  • Gender: Male
  • I have not yet begun to procrastinate.
Re: Menu Button With Boards List
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2017, 04:06:49 PM »
While I don't have a need for it I did test it out on my test installation and it works a treat! Nice job! :)
Please do not PM me for support.

Offline Ilkharnos

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Gender: Male
    • Kara Miğfer Hanı
Re: Menu Button With Boards List
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2017, 05:40:23 AM »
Hello,

I would like to have this mod in my forum. I followed instructions to install it. Now I can see its settings in "Modification Settings" section, but I can't see the menu button in the menu.

- I copied Themes and Sources directories to root directory
- I copied settings.php and hooks.php files to root directory
- I executed hooks.php and it made changes to database successfully. I tried to execute settings.php but there was a white screen.

I feel that I am doing something wrong.

Offline digger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 670
  • Gender: Male
    • realdigger on GitHub
    • SMF Russian Community
Re: Menu Button With Boards List
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2017, 10:35:02 AM »
Hello,

I would like to have this mod in my forum. I followed instructions to install it. Now I can see its settings in "Modification Settings" section, but I can't see the menu button in the menu.

- I copied Themes and Sources directories to root directory
- I copied settings.php and hooks.php files to root directory
- I executed hooks.php and it made changes to database successfully. I tried to execute settings.php but there was a white screen.

I feel that I am doing something wrong.
Why you don't install mod with forum package manager?
If you see mod settings did you enter category id for menu button?

Offline Ilkharnos

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Gender: Male
    • Kara Miğfer Hanı
Re: Menu Button With Boards List
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2017, 10:40:37 AM »
Thank you for your reply.

I tried to install it with package manager but I always get "page not found" error. This is the case even if I download the package .zip and try to upload it through package manager. Maybe there is a problem somewhere in my forum, I don't know.

I typed a button name and category ID (number), but it didn't work.


Offline digger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 670
  • Gender: Male
    • realdigger on GitHub
    • SMF Russian Community
Re: Menu Button With Boards List
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2017, 10:42:56 AM »
Thank you for your reply.

I tried to install it with package manager but I always get "page not found" error. This is the case even if I download the package .zip and try to upload it through package manager. Maybe there is a problem somewhere in my forum, I don't know.

I typed a button name and category ID (number), but no luck.
Check forum errors log.

Offline Ilkharnos

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Gender: Male
    • Kara Miğfer Hanı
Re: Menu Button With Boards List
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2017, 10:55:44 AM »
I get no errors related to this mod. My error log remains clean regardless of my actions related to this mod.

Offline aegersz

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,109
  • Gender: Male
  • "mods" junkie
    • dopetalk
Re: Menu Button With Boards List
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2017, 06:42:52 PM »
it works on my Vanilla system but not with my mix of mods. I wonder if Simple Portal is getting in the way, possibly ?

just letting you know ...
SMF 2.0: 135+ mods installed (the full list can be seen at http://forum.drugs-and-users.org/index.php/topic,3301)

Offline Ilkharnos

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Gender: Male
    • Kara Miğfer Hanı
Re: Menu Button With Boards List
« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2017, 04:39:51 AM »
I use simpleportal, as well as a couple of mods which adds a new button to the menu (all of these are very useful for me). Maybe that is the reason.

Thank you for the information.

Offline pijo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Menu Button With Boards List
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2017, 02:44:17 PM »
Doesn't work on SMF 2.0.13 with Gumus.
After installation via package manager, just the "Button title" and "Category ID" appear. No other settings available, and no button on the main page after refresh.

Did I make something wrong or is not compatible with 2.0.13 (MOD made for 2.0.14)  ?
« Last Edit: September 08, 2017, 02:55:03 PM by pijo »