Serving the same files to two different addon domains

Started by Quaideo, September 28, 2017, 12:08:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Quaideo

Hi all.

First time poster, and relatively new and self taught developer. Be gentle!   ;)

Ok, So I'm using cPanel and I have two addon domains against my main domain... hxxp:maindomain.uk [nonactive], hxxp:addondomain.uk [nonactive] and hxxp:addondomain.ie [nonactive] (the same domain name but different TLDs). Due to differing laws in the two countries governing the subject matter of my sites, the two addon domains will be mostly completely different from each other. However, I want users to access the same forum so that the forum benefits from the input of users from both countries. Obviously, I've chosen SMF for the forum software.

While I've found the settings and can amend both domains to use the same database, and so effectively they'll be the same forum, it seems like I should go a step further and actually serve the SMF files from the same location too. So that if a change is required, that I'm only having to do it once and both domains will see the updates.

My hosting provider suggested a .htaccess redirect but my understanding of this is that the browser will be redirected to a different page rather than just the file requests of the server being redirected. I'd want hxxp:addondomain.uk/community [nonactive] and hxxp:addondomain.ie/community [nonactive] to remain distinct URLs in the user's browser but serve the same files.

A suggestion from cPanel's own forum was that I could use the same document root for both domains. But only the forum files should be shared between the two domains, the rest of the pages on the sites will be completely different. So this solution is unsuitable as well.