Advertisement:

Author Topic: NiceTooltips  (Read 98615 times)

Offline lurkalot

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,737
  • Gender: Male
  • Tinyportal Support
    • guitaristguild on Facebook
    • Tinyportal on GitHub
    • @GuitaristGuild on Twitter
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #260 on: February 24, 2019, 11:15:03 AM »

I always install mods manually because the package manager doesn't work with my host.


 :o For most people that would be a nightmare every time they wanted to do something.  Have you tried fixing the package manager, or perhaps considered a different host?

Offline digger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 785
  • Gender: Male
    • realdigger on GitHub
    • SMF Russian Community
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #261 on: February 24, 2019, 12:00:01 PM »
I tried installing this mod but I get an error message when I'm running add_settings.php
Quote
Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Function name must be a string in /home/www/name/add_settings.php:13 Stack trace: #0 {main} thrown in /home/www/name/add_settings.php on line 13

hooks.php worked fine though
You don't need to run php files. Just install mod with package manager.
I always install mods manually because the package manager doesn't work with my host.
Get fixed add_settings.php https://github.com/realdigger/SMF-NiceTooltips/blob/master/add_settings.php

Offline natcip

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 106
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #262 on: February 24, 2019, 01:26:50 PM »
I tried installing this mod but I get an error message when I'm running add_settings.php
Quote
Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Function name must be a string in /home/www/name/add_settings.php:13 Stack trace: #0 {main} thrown in /home/www/name/add_settings.php on line 13

hooks.php worked fine though
You don't need to run php files. Just install mod with package manager.
I always install mods manually because the package manager doesn't work with my host.
Get fixed add_settings.php https://github.com/realdigger/SMF-NiceTooltips/blob/master/add_settings.php
Thank you very much. This has worked for me. :)

Offline natcip

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 106
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #263 on: March 02, 2019, 08:52:19 AM »
How can I set up that images show up in the tooltip?

Offline Steve

  • Freak
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,634
  • Gender: Male
  • I have not yet begun to procrastinate.
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #264 on: March 03, 2019, 11:28:33 AM »
Not sure what you're asking because images display in my tooltips just fine.
My goal this week is to move just enough so people don't think I'm dead.

Please do not PM me for support. You'll get quicker answers in the appropriate support boards.

Offline natcip

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 106
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #265 on: March 03, 2019, 01:24:24 PM »
Sorry, I had the "Max images width" at 0 for some reason which seemed to disable images.

Offline Steve

  • Freak
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,634
  • Gender: Male
  • I have not yet begun to procrastinate.
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #266 on: March 03, 2019, 02:29:31 PM »
No worries. Glad you figured it out. :)
My goal this week is to move just enough so people don't think I'm dead.

Please do not PM me for support. You'll get quicker answers in the appropriate support boards.

Offline natcip

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 106
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #267 on: March 17, 2019, 09:14:07 AM »
What's the name of the CSS class of the tooltip background color?

Offline digger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 785
  • Gender: Male
    • realdigger on GitHub
    • SMF Russian Community
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #268 on: March 17, 2019, 04:19:44 PM »
What's the name of the CSS class of the tooltip background color?
nice_tooltip_bgclass

Offline natcip

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 106
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #269 on: March 17, 2019, 05:20:48 PM »
What's the name of the CSS class of the tooltip background color?
nice_tooltip_bgclass
Ahh, thanks :)

Offline HerzeleidMeister

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #270 on: October 01, 2019, 03:51:08 AM »
The colors are not working. I cannot change the colors to make the tool tip look the way I want. I've tried changing it in the admin panel and nothing happens.

Offline HerzeleidMeister

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #271 on: October 02, 2019, 01:11:59 AM »
Never mind it looks like its a global tool tip issue on color. I'll have to look into it and see if I can fix it in the CSS.

Online shadav

  • Support Team Apprentice
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 837
  • Gender: Female
    • shadav on Facebook
    • leashadav on GitHub
    • Ask The Muslims: A Place To Ask Honest Questions and Receive Respectful Answers
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #272 on: July 31, 2020, 06:44:57 PM »
doing some testing and well this doesn't really work out so well on mobile devices

1. as there's no mouse to hover over the link, so one of two things happens
when trying to click on a link, instead of opening the link the tooltip opens
or if able to click on a link, and then use the back arrow, then the tooltip opens
2. the tooltip doesn't resize so it pushes out of the mobile browser size and makes it very difficult to browse

anyway to check if on mobile and not show the nicetooltip?
and how to fix the resizing issue? I see there's an overlib_adaptive_width.min.js but it doesn't seem to be working

Offline digger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 785
  • Gender: Male
    • realdigger on GitHub
    • SMF Russian Community
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #273 on: August 03, 2020, 06:27:21 AM »
doing some testing and well this doesn't really work out so well on mobile devices

1. as there's no mouse to hover over the link, so one of two things happens
when trying to click on a link, instead of opening the link the tooltip opens
or if able to click on a link, and then use the back arrow, then the tooltip opens
2. the tooltip doesn't resize so it pushes out of the mobile browser size and makes it very difficult to browse

anyway to check if on mobile and not show the nicetooltip?
and how to fix the resizing issue? I see there's an overlib_adaptive_width.min.js but it doesn't seem to be working

Just disable tooltips for mobile devices.

Online shadav

  • Support Team Apprentice
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 837
  • Gender: Female
    • shadav on Facebook
    • leashadav on GitHub
    • Ask The Muslims: A Place To Ask Honest Questions and Receive Respectful Answers
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #274 on: August 03, 2020, 04:03:55 PM »
Just disable tooltips for mobile devices.
:laugh: :-[ blonde moment, feel like an idiot
I swear I looked and that option was not there before  :laugh:
thank you  :-[

*note to self, time for another eye exam and new glasses*

Offline 1.1Nerd

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 92
Re: NiceTooltips
« Reply #275 on: August 06, 2020, 09:22:32 PM »
Thank you @digger for this useful mod. I just installed it and since my forum language is Persian I would like to make some changes to text style and layout of the tooltips. I tried to add some CSS properties in subs.php file but I just could make the text rtl and had no success in changing the font type to tahoma nor to increase the font size of the title of tooltip box. Would you please guide me how to effectively do these changes? This is the code I tried in subs.php:
Code: [Select]

// * NiceTooltips mod
function NiceTooltip($body, $caption='', $smileys=true, $cache_id='')
{
   global $context, $settings, $modSettings;


   // Is it disabled or empty? Check permission.
   if ((allowedTo('disable_nicetooltips') && empty($context['user']['is_admin'])) || empty($modSettings['NiceTooltips_lenght']) || empty($body)) return ' title="' . $caption . '" ';


   // Send overlib headers.
   if (empty($context['overlib_loaded']))
   {
     $context['html_headers'] .= '
   <style type="text/css">
   .nice_tooltip_fgclass {
   text-align: right;
        font-family: tahoma, Verdana;
   background-color: ' . $modSettings['NiceTooltips_FGCOLOR'] . ';
   opacity: ' . $modSettings['NiceTooltips_OPACITY'] / 100 . ';
   }
   .nice_tooltip_bgclass {
   background-color: ' . $modSettings['NiceTooltips_BGCOLOR'] . ';
        font-family: tahoma, Verdana;
        font-size: 1em;
   opacity: ' . $modSettings['NiceTooltips_OPACITY'] / 100 . ';
   }
   .nice_tooltip_bgclass img, .nice_tooltip_fgclass img{
   height:auto; max-width: 250px;
   }
   </style>';
Any advice or comment would be appreciated.

I'm having the same issue and would appreciate help. Thank you