Advertisement:

Author Topic: Upgrading from GH  (Read 644 times)

Offline skb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 371
    • Metabolically Challenged
Upgrading from GH
« on: October 26, 2019, 10:23:48 PM »
For upgrading from 2.1 RC2 to latest GH build, do I need to run upgrade.php ?
Learning, every day.
Forum - The Diabetic Pub
Because every diabetic needs help
SMF 2.1 RC2 (default theme) / TP 1.6.2

Offline Bob Perry of Web Presence Consulting

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,009
  • Gender: Male
  • (T)ogether (E)veryone (A)chieves (M)ore
    • Bobert921 on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/bperry921/ on LinkedIn
    • @bperry921 on Twitter
    • Web Presence Consulting
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2019, 12:13:51 AM »
For upgrading from 2.1 RC2 to latest GH build, do I need to run upgrade.php ?

Yes, but be certain you have uploaded the correct version of the GH upgrade .zip file first, all of it...
Best Regards,
Bob Perry



"The world is moving so fast these days that the man who says it can't be done is generally interrupted by someone doing it." Elbert Hubbard

Offline skb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 371
    • Metabolically Challenged
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2019, 12:59:43 AM »
Thanks. I have the one d/l on 24th this month.
Learning, every day.
Forum - The Diabetic Pub
Because every diabetic needs help
SMF 2.1 RC2 (default theme) / TP 1.6.2

Offline Bob Perry of Web Presence Consulting

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,009
  • Gender: Male
  • (T)ogether (E)veryone (A)chieves (M)ore
    • Bobert921 on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/bperry921/ on LinkedIn
    • @bperry921 on Twitter
    • Web Presence Consulting
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2019, 04:10:33 AM »
Thanks. I have the one d/l on 24th this month.

I would try running repair_settings.php and double checking that the folder names have 755 permission, and files have 644 w/recursion to all sub-directories...
Best Regards,
Bob Perry



"The world is moving so fast these days that the man who says it can't be done is generally interrupted by someone doing it." Elbert Hubbard

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 51,401
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2019, 05:00:04 AM »
I would try running repair_settings.php and double checking that the folder names have 755 permission, and files have 644 w/recursion to all sub-directories...


there is no reason to run repair_settings.php if everything is working correctly. also if everything is working correctly, no reason to chmod before doing the upgrade.

Offline skb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 371
    • Metabolically Challenged
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2019, 07:27:42 AM »
The issue I faced after the upgrade, was, that only the first post on any page in a topic could be seen. So I gave up after a few tries. I did run repair settings (for 2.1). I'll take it up after a few days or maybe wait for RC3.
Learning, every day.
Forum - The Diabetic Pub
Because every diabetic needs help
SMF 2.1 RC2 (default theme) / TP 1.6.2

Online m4z

  • Localization Team Apprentice
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 330
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2019, 07:55:11 AM »
Are you using a custom theme (or even just a clone of Curve2 with different colors)? You need to update your theme, there were changes after rc2.
"Faith is what you have in things that don't exist."
--Homer Simpson

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,782
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2019, 08:43:55 AM »
Upgrading rules:
* you shouldn't need repair settings if upgrading in place
* you should only need to run upgrade.php if the upgrader or upgrade SQL files have changed since your last update
* chmod should only be needed to make things writable for mod installation
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline lurkalot

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,494
  • Gender: Male
  • Tinyportal Support
    • guitaristguild on Facebook
    • Tinyportal on GitHub
    • @GuitaristGuild on Twitter
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2019, 09:12:27 AM »

* you should only need to run upgrade.php if the upgrader or upgrade SQL files have changed since your last update


Interesting. Regarding the running of upgrade.php.  Does it do any harm to run this when it's not required?  I ask because I have to admit to doing this every time I overwrite my files with the latest nightly builds.  As far as I'm aware it hasn't caused me any problems.  I actually did this very same thing only yesterday.   

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,782
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2019, 09:32:56 AM »
It will mostly be fine, the times it won't are really complicated and apply to specialised situations which I don't think you're running into.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline lurkalot

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,494
  • Gender: Male
  • Tinyportal Support
    • guitaristguild on Facebook
    • Tinyportal on GitHub
    • @GuitaristGuild on Twitter
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2019, 09:46:00 AM »
It will mostly be fine, the times it won't are really complicated and apply to specialised situations which I don't think you're running into.

Thanks.  I guess the problem is, most people including myself won't know if the upgrader or upgrade SQL files have changed since last update, unless they follow every change on GitHub.   I usually take a chance and grab a nightly build every couple of weeks.

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,782
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2019, 09:48:52 AM »
Yeah, that's the downside, you need to go following GH quite intensely for that kind of thing. Just upgrading every time is probably the way to go - remember, this is why people should have test sites.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline lurkalot

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,494
  • Gender: Male
  • Tinyportal Support
    • guitaristguild on Facebook
    • Tinyportal on GitHub
    • @GuitaristGuild on Twitter
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #12 on: October 27, 2019, 09:56:51 AM »

 - remember, this is why people should have test sites.


Thanks again, and agree about having test sites.  I have four live test sites, and loads of local installs in XAMPP at various scenarios so I can test upgrading etc.  Also have clones of my live sites, for trying out mods before letting them loose on my live sites.

Offline Bob Perry of Web Presence Consulting

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,009
  • Gender: Male
  • (T)ogether (E)veryone (A)chieves (M)ore
    • Bobert921 on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/bperry921/ on LinkedIn
    • @bperry921 on Twitter
    • Web Presence Consulting
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #13 on: October 27, 2019, 01:31:00 PM »
I would try running repair_settings.php and double checking that the folder names have 755 permission, and files have 644 w/recursion to all sub-directories...


there is no reason to run repair_settings.php if everything is working correctly. also if everything is working correctly, no reason to chmod before doing the upgrade.

Well that's why I suggested what I did, everything is NOT ok on his site if the one listed in his sig is the one in question, I get a blank page with 404 error...
Best Regards,
Bob Perry



"The world is moving so fast these days that the man who says it can't be done is generally interrupted by someone doing it." Elbert Hubbard

Offline Tonyvic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 182
  • Gender: Male
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #14 on: October 27, 2019, 02:03:42 PM »
Quote
Well that's why I suggested what I did, everything is NOT ok on his site if the one listed in his sig is the one in question, I get a blank page with 404 error...
Looks like it's only the link in his signature is wrong, try...
https://www.diabetic.pub/index.php

Offline skb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 371
    • Metabolically Challenged
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #15 on: October 27, 2019, 11:58:34 PM »
Thanks everyone. Very valuable inputs. Yup, signature hasn't been updated in a long time.
Learning, every day.
Forum - The Diabetic Pub
Because every diabetic needs help
SMF 2.1 RC2 (default theme) / TP 1.6.2

Offline lurkalot

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,494
  • Gender: Male
  • Tinyportal Support
    • guitaristguild on Facebook
    • Tinyportal on GitHub
    • @GuitaristGuild on Twitter
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #16 on: October 28, 2019, 02:37:22 AM »
Thanks everyone. Very valuable inputs. Yup, signature hasn't been updated in a long time.

The link on your blogspot page also needs changing as well then I guess, the one linked in your profile.

So I take it the forum is working ok now, apart from all the missing images?

Offline skb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 371
    • Metabolically Challenged
Re: Upgrading from GH
« Reply #17 on: October 28, 2019, 08:09:55 AM »
Yup. Thanks Mick.

Yes, the forum is back on RC2. I will try upgrading when I have some spare time.
Learning, every day.
Forum - The Diabetic Pub
Because every diabetic needs help
SMF 2.1 RC2 (default theme) / TP 1.6.2