Advertisement:

Author Topic: Inserting an attachment - doesn't work  (Read 2051 times)

Offline mantu2

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Inserting an attachment - doesn't work
« Reply #20 on: April 24, 2020, 01:20:02 AM »
https://yourdomain.net vs. https://www.yourdomain.net -> Did change settings, but no effect. Tested with two browsers and in incognito window, too. Now settings are on recommended value.

I was a bit wrong about this. Afther chanching the settings to recommended values (without www), the login comes tricky. Login works wine when https://yourdomain.net is set. If putting https://www.yourdomain.net, the login window do not load all the way. It starts do load the login info, but I can see the loading circle just go around. Should this be fixed by returning the domain settings as it was or should it be fixed some other ways?

Offline m4z

  • Just a monkey with a typewriter
  • Localizer
  • Sophist Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,026
  • /mɛs/
Re: Inserting an attachment - doesn't work
« Reply #21 on: April 24, 2020, 04:29:22 PM »
EDIT: The only error what comes time to time is: "2: preg_replace_callback(): JIT compilation failed: no more memory"

That sounds like an issue with too much memory used (but it might have other reasons), but I don't know anything about it. Maybe somebody more experienced can chime in? ;)


https://yourdomain.net vs. https://www.yourdomain.net -> Did change settings, but no effect. Tested with two browsers and in incognito window, too. Now settings are on recommended value.

I was a bit wrong about this. Afther chanching the settings to recommended values (without www), the login comes tricky. Login works wine when https://yourdomain.net is set. If putting https://www.yourdomain.net, the login window do not load all the way. It starts do load the login info, but I can see the loading circle just go around. Should this be fixed by returning the domain settings as it was or should it be fixed some other ways?

Are you changing the settings with repair_settings when you switch the domain you're accessing? You might have to logout once, then log back in (maybe even change the cookie ID), because depending on other settings like subdomain-independent cookies, your cookies might not be valid anymore after the name change.

I'm still clueless about what the reason for your problems might be.

The menu issues could be script-related. Is your JQuery set to update automatically? (Admin → Configuration → Features and Options → General)? Maybe it got corrupted somehow? Or maybe an update was released (either of JQuery or SMF) that broke things? (I'm both running a local version of JQuery and an older 2.1 version, haven't updated since October-ish.)
"Faith is what you have in things that don't exist."
--Homer Simpson

Offline mantu2

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Inserting an attachment - doesn't work
« Reply #22 on: April 27, 2020, 02:15:07 AM »
After chancing the URL-settings with repair_settings, I did change also the cookie. Also did log out, cleared the cache etc. No difference in actions.

JQuery has been on automatic update. Still is.

I've absolutely no idea what to do for the issues. I did think even things which should not be related to this matter. F.ex. Forum is in same directory than my Wordpress installation. it has always been so. They should not interact at all, but they still do a bit. Only case I have found out on this matter is that when changing settings with repair_settings, Wordpress firewall blocks the action. I need to white list my own action and the setting update goes forward fine.

Other thing which should not be effected is the language packs. I did test the forum also with English language pack, but the appendix problem was still there. Why did I do this? Well, although I have installed Finnish RC2, in forum server settings the Finnish language package is still marked to be RC1.

Only if there where coming messages to the error log....  :-\

Offline shawnb61

  • Developer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,070
    • sbulen on GitHub
Re: Inserting an attachment - doesn't work
« Reply #23 on: April 27, 2020, 12:00:12 PM »
Address the process rather than the outcome.  Then, the outcome becomes more likely.   - Fripp

Offline mantu2

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Inserting an attachment - doesn't work
« Reply #24 on: April 29, 2020, 02:18:22 AM »
Have you tried the memory mod yet?
https://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=4111

Did. It is not suported to 2.1. so I did install it manually. Just see any use of this one so far.

But main problem is that something blocks/stops JS after a click on a link on forum.

Edit: I took screenshots of main menu just after login and after clicking a link (while inspecting elements). Don't know if this helps any off you.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2020, 02:54:16 AM by mantu2 »

Offline shawnb61

  • Developer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,070
    • sbulen on GitHub
Re: Inserting an attachment - doesn't work
« Reply #25 on: April 29, 2020, 12:56:53 PM »
Have you tried the memory mod yet?
https://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=4111

Did. It is not suported to 2.1. so I did install it manually. Just see any use of this one so far.

{facepalm}  Sorry, 2.0 input on the 2.1 board...

Are you talking about issues with custom avatars or with attachments?  Or both?  Those screenshots are all about avatars, but the previous thread is all about attachments...  And it looks like those avatars are working.
Address the process rather than the outcome.  Then, the outcome becomes more likely.   - Fripp

Offline m4z

  • Just a monkey with a typewriter
  • Localizer
  • Sophist Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,026
  • /mɛs/
Re: Inserting an attachment - doesn't work
« Reply #26 on: April 30, 2020, 04:22:13 AM »
I've absolutely no idea what to do for the issues. I did think even things which should not be related to this matter. F.ex. Forum is in same directory than my Wordpress installation. it has always been so. They should not interact at all, but they still do a bit. Only case I have found out on this matter is that when changing settings with repair_settings, Wordpress firewall blocks the action. I need to white list my own action and the setting update goes forward fine.

I know nothing about Wordpress. If it interferes with repair_settings, could it not also be the cause for your other SMF problems? Do they have to be in the same directory? Do they share files, i.e. does one maybe overwrite a file of the other?
If they do have to share the directory, can you "whitelist" SMF?


Other thing which should not be effected is the language packs. [...] Well, although I have installed Finnish RC2, in forum server settings the Finnish language package is still marked to be RC1.

Where does it show this version number? In any case, that's probably a non-issue, I guess it was just forgotten to update that string.
"Faith is what you have in things that don't exist."
--Homer Simpson

Offline mantu2

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Inserting an attachment - doesn't work
« Reply #27 on: May 04, 2020, 03:33:54 AM »
Shawnb61: heh. Too many board to read, ay?  ;D But sorry if the screenshots where about avatars. I tried to simulate the user menu malfunction.

m4z: Wordpress and forum folders are in the same main dir. Different databases. Most likely Wordpress wirewall is able to go trough the whole directory which includes the forum folder, too. I think that is the only thing how they co-operate.

 The language pack errors can be found when using maintenance tool to find am I having the newest versions of files (routine). Most likely a minor thing, yes.

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,192
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Inserting an attachment - doesn't work
« Reply #28 on: May 04, 2020, 10:33:55 AM »
having wordpress and the forum in the same path is known to cause issues.
Wordpress assumes that it is the only script running on that path and intercepts everything.... :(
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline mantu2

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Inserting an attachment - doesn't work
« Reply #29 on: May 12, 2020, 03:02:57 AM »
having wordpress and the forum in the same path is known to cause issues.
Wordpress assumes that it is the only script running on that path and intercepts everything.... :(

Have worked fine for 11 years... until something happened.

Offline mantu2

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Inserting an attachment - doesn't work
« Reply #30 on: May 17, 2020, 04:17:25 AM »
Ok. There is more interface with Wordpress and smf. I got everything work, so I'm happy \o/

If somebody gets any help, I can tell that the problem was not in smf. It was most likely in Wordpress plugins and cache options. I do not know what exactly make the matter good, but I've worked mostly with W3TC page and browser cache as well with cache properties with Cloudflare. Thats about it.

Thanks for all effort. This problem was fixed with pure luck (so good luck to everybody who might face same issues).