Need help with building an education forum

Started by nas.98, May 14, 2020, 09:35:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nas.98

Hello,

I am a private tutor working on a website to provide paid video lectures/lessons for students learning chartered accountancy. I talked with a web developer and to create a website like I had in mind is beyond my budget. So I'm sticking to forums to carry out my plan. However I have minimal experience in smf or coding of any kind. So I would like to know if the features that I need is possible through SMF and what are the modifications necessary to carry them out.

Required Features:

Suppose my site provides video lectures for 3 chapters namely A, B and C. When a student comes to my site, he/she have access to free video previews for these subjects and access to a Help & FAQ section in the forums.

To access the video lectures, the student have to register. While registering, the plans/prices are shown and the student can choose a package and pay for it in the registering page.

Once the students have paid and registered, they now have access to the subjects they paid for. So suppose, the student paid for the subject A, he/she can access the forum section A and see the videos. If the student paid for all the subjects, he/she would have access to A, B and C forum sections. I would upload videos to a different website and display it in topics under the respective forum sections.
So basically, I am displaying subjects through forum sections and videos/lessons in forum topics.

Is this possible? And if it is what are the additional modifications that I would require to set it up?

Thank you

Kindred

are you looking to actually have online conversations with the students in the forum?

If not, then a forum software is probably the wrong functionality.

If you are just looking to provide them with access to videos and documents...   then I would actually suggest WordPress with a member management and access control add-on.
Слaва
Украинi