News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Default Theme Is Wrong - Not Allowed to Access this Section

Started by D0tcom, May 15, 2021, 02:18:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

D0tcom

Hi all, let me preface this by saying I have NO real knowledge of how "forum". I basically follow the notices when it tells me to, but I don't really do anything. It's just an old forum for my writing projects, it isn't a popular site people use to purchase items or anything. That being said:

Version - 2.0.13 // Can't get any information on anything else because I can't access it to get it.

Last night I got an e-mail saying GoDaddy was migrating my domain, and there haven't been any changes to the site. So when I hop on today, I get this message: "The default theme's directory is wrong, please correct it by clicking this text."

So I followed the link into wherever it took me, and didn't see any way to fix it. I decided to check for new themes on the side, and installed two while I was sitting around waiting for a friend to answer a text. I swapped over to one I added to see how it looked as applied, and now I'm being told "You are not allowed to access this section."

I searched for the "not allowed" message and I found an old one from 2007 but it doesn't seem like it was ever solved - the user didn't ever respond.

I can't get back into the admin panel. I can log in, I can log out, I can see old posts, but that's about it.

I checked the FAQ list about Default Themes and know that I didn't make any changes to the directory. I haven't installed any mods because I wouldn't know how to, and I didn't go into anywhere and delete or alter any text strings.

I thought about just sucking it up and loading an old backup, which would probably solve whatever I've done, except I can't access the admin panel to even do that. :)

I tried to link the forum but it wouldn't let me post an external link?

shadav