Advertisement:

Author Topic: Custom Profile Field Mod  (Read 947929 times)

Offline domipedro

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Gender: Male
    • Pombal News
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #80 on: April 11, 2006, 07:02:55 PM »
Hello
exuse me for my poor english.
This is a very good mod, but i have a problem when i force input a field in registration.
When i register a account, i chek the box, when i validate, i have the error:
"You did not fill in the "Operateur" field."
This is a bug?
I have tested in 3 forum for test.
thank
by




Offline winrules

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,085
  • Gender: Male
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #81 on: April 11, 2006, 07:55:47 PM »
john109, I will try to have all the Mambo/Joomla Porblems fixed ASAP.


Hello
exuse me for my poor english.
This is a very good mod, but i have a problem when i force input a field in registration.
When i register a account, i chek the box, when i validate, i have the error:
"You did not fill in the "Operateur" field."
This is a bug?
I have tested in 3 forum for test.
thank
by




Is the problem that the error message is in english or that it isn't supposed to give an error message?
winrules
SMF Developer
               My Mods
Please do not PM me for support.


Offline Sapphire_H

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Gender: Female
    • Soul of Adoption
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #82 on: April 11, 2006, 09:06:51 PM »
I'm having a similar problem as domipedro -

I set a field to have one of three drop down answers.  If I "force" this as part of registration, no matter what selection of the three a user chooses, they are told "You did not fill in the _____ field."

I've had to disable it as a requirement to registration.  Any ideas?

Offline domipedro

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Gender: Male
    • Pombal News
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #83 on: April 11, 2006, 10:41:17 PM »
hi
this is the same problem of Sapphire_H
bye

Offline john109

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 71
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #84 on: April 12, 2006, 02:56:33 AM »
I'm also getting this error when I try to go to the main section of the forums.

Quote
Template Parse Error!
There was a problem loading the /Themes/PortalBlue_1_1RC2/Display.template.php template or language file. Please check the syntax and try again - remember, single quotes (') often have to be escaped with a slash (\). To see more specific error information from PHP, try accessing the file directly.

You may want to try to refresh this page or use the default theme.
parse error, unexpected T_ELSEIF

I put in that code you mention in your first post.  Is this another Joomla bridge problem?

Edit - I removed the code and the error is gone.  Now the custom field shows up in profile but not in the registration which I suppose has to do with the bridge? 
« Last Edit: April 12, 2006, 03:06:23 AM by john109 »

Offline digit

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,364
  • Gender: Male
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #85 on: April 12, 2006, 04:12:32 AM »
I commented on this mod, but would like to retract it - I was getting an error on the Display.template.php page, but found that I had hacked it a bit - causing the failed test.....


« Last Edit: April 12, 2006, 09:05:48 AM by digit »
Happily using a heavily modified 1.1.16 version of SMF!

2748011 Posts in 320998 Topics by 50986 Members


SOLD my website - thanks it was a good run - they converted to vbadvanced. (and screwed it up good!)

Online Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 60,076
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #86 on: April 12, 2006, 07:39:11 AM »
I'm also getting this error when I try to go to the main section of the forums.

Quote
Template Parse Error!
There was a problem loading the /Themes/PortalBlue_1_1RC2/Display.template.php template or language file. Please check the syntax and try again - remember, single quotes (') often have to be escaped with a slash (\). To see more specific error information from PHP, try accessing the file directly.

You may want to try to refresh this page or use the default theme.
parse error, unexpected T_ELSEIF

I put in that code you mention in your first post.  Is this another Joomla bridge problem?

Edit - I removed the code and the error is gone.  Now the custom field shows up in profile but not in the registration which I suppose has to do with the bridge? 


JOhn...  this is not a bridge problem...  this is problem with code you are pasting into a template file.   You are pasting it incorrectly, or in the wrong spot, thus causing a template error. You can not just randomly post code into a template...   Any templates that are not the default may require some modification of code...   that is why mods only install themselves in the default theme... because other themes might use slightly different coding.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline perplexed

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,603
  • It's quite perplexing isn't it
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #87 on: April 12, 2006, 09:35:37 AM »
Does anyone know what I need to do to use this mod with joomla.  So far I havent made any changes to any templates but it still takes me to the forum home page when I try to add a custom field instead of letting me add a custom field

thanks in advance

Offline john109

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 71
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #88 on: April 12, 2006, 05:27:28 PM »
I'm also getting this error when I try to go to the main section of the forums.

Quote
Template Parse Error!
There was a problem loading the /Themes/PortalBlue_1_1RC2/Display.template.php template or language file. Please check the syntax and try again - remember, single quotes (') often have to be escaped with a slash (\). To see more specific error information from PHP, try accessing the file directly.

You may want to try to refresh this page or use the default theme.
parse error, unexpected T_ELSEIF

I put in that code you mention in your first post.  Is this another Joomla bridge problem?

Edit - I removed the code and the error is gone.  Now the custom field shows up in profile but not in the registration which I suppose has to do with the bridge? 


JOhn...  this is not a bridge problem...  this is problem with code you are pasting into a template file.   You are pasting it incorrectly, or in the wrong spot, thus causing a template error. You can not just randomly post code into a template...   Any templates that are not the default may require some modification of code...   that is why mods only install themselves in the default theme... because other themes might use slightly different coding.

I realize that the Template Parse error was caused by the code I pasted into the template file.  As I said in my edit, I removed the code and the error no longer occured.  However, any custom fields I enter show up in the profile but do not show up on the registration.  It was this that I was wondering may be because of the bridge since I use bridge registration.  I'm not saying there is something wrong with the bridge just that this mod needs to work with the bridge.

Offline perplexed

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,603
  • It's quite perplexing isn't it
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #89 on: April 12, 2006, 06:19:26 PM »
John can you tell me how you got to add/edit a custom field since it wont work for me at all and just takes me to the forum homepage?

My forum is 1.1 rc2 and joomla 1.0.7 and bridge 3.20

Online Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 60,076
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #90 on: April 12, 2006, 08:03:31 PM »
Ah... in that case, John... YES.   If you use BRIDGE registration, then any changes that this mod makes to the SMF registration will have no effect on the bridge registration...
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline john109

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 71
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #91 on: April 13, 2006, 01:55:18 AM »
@perplexed - I didn't do anything special.  I only removed that little bit of code that redirected people who tried to access the forums directly.  Its in one of my previous posts on top of page 6.  After I removed that I was able to add custom fields, etc.  I'm running Joomla 1.0.8 and the 1.1.3 bridge.  Perhaps you need to upgrade?

@winrules - My problem remains that when I press on Custom Profile Field 1 the forum becomes unwrapped.  I've "fixed" my other problem of not seeing the custom fields on the registration form by changing the bridge option of using the bridge registration to using the SMF registration.

I still don't see the custom fields in the posts though.  Do I still need to put in that code you talk about in your first post?  Where exactly do I put it since the first time I did it I got errors?

Offline uberjon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 348
  • Gender: Male
  • i tar and feather bad hosts on SMF's hosting board
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #92 on: April 13, 2006, 02:07:20 AM »
how do i update this to the latest version without loosing the info my members have put into their fields?

Offline john109

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 71
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #93 on: April 13, 2006, 03:01:40 AM »
I've also noticed I have the same problem some others had mentioned here.  No matter what I enter into the custom fields when registering it says I have not filled out said custom field.

Offline perplexed

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,603
  • It's quite perplexing isn't it
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #94 on: April 13, 2006, 07:40:14 AM »
ok I removed my redirection code for joomla and I was able to create custom fields - yay!

I put the code back in and I was able to fill in the custom fields in my profile - yay!

I put two fields in the registration agreement, one force, one optional, and the optional one works

the field that is forced just gives me the error that others have mentioned:

An Error Has Occurred!   
You did not fill in the "Referred By" field.

So that is the only error I think I have now

Offline john109

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 71
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #95 on: April 13, 2006, 08:18:11 AM »
When I try to register a new acct I get this error now.

Quote
8: Undefined index: memberName
File: /home/drago2/public_html/joomla/components/com_smf/smf.php
Line: 917

This is line 917
Quote
      $Options['realName'] = $Options['memberName'];

which is part of this
Quote
   //What if the realName field isn't being used?
   if (!isset($Options['realName']) || $Options['realName']=='')
      $Options['realName'] = $Options['memberName'];

The SMF registration doesn't ask for your real name but the bridge registration did.  Anyone know how I can fix this?

Offline winrules

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,085
  • Gender: Male
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #96 on: April 13, 2006, 04:04:21 PM »
Version 2.11 has been released! This fixes a bug with forcing registration fields. It should now work right :)


@perplexed - I didn't do anything special.  I only removed that little bit of code that redirected people who tried to access the forums directly.  Its in one of my previous posts on top of page 6.  After I removed that I was able to add custom fields, etc.  I'm running Joomla 1.0.8 and the 1.1.3 bridge.  Perhaps you need to upgrade?

@winrules - My problem remains that when I press on Custom Profile Field 1 the forum becomes unwrapped.  I've "fixed" my other problem of not seeing the custom fields on the registration form by changing the bridge option of using the bridge registration to using the SMF registration.

I still don't see the custom fields in the posts though.  Do I still need to put in that code you talk about in your first post?  Where exactly do I put it since the first time I did it I got errors?
I really don't know why it's being unwrapped, but I don't think it's that big of a problem because its just in the admin interface. With fields in the posts, you will just need to add the code specified in the first post of this topic.


how do i update this to the latest version without loosing the info my members have put into their fields?
Your members won't lose any data.


When I try to register a new acct I get this error now.

Quote
8: Undefined index: memberName
File: /home/drago2/public_html/joomla/components/com_smf/smf.php
Line: 917

This is line 917
Quote
      $Options['realName'] = $Options['memberName'];

which is part of this
Quote
   //What if the realName field isn't being used?
   if (!isset($Options['realName']) || $Options['realName']=='')
      $Options['realName'] = $Options['memberName'];

The SMF registration doesn't ask for your real name but the bridge registration did.  Anyone know how I can fix this?
Are you sure this is related to this mod, did it just start happening now?
winrules
SMF Developer
               My Mods
Please do not PM me for support.


Offline digit

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,364
  • Gender: Male
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #97 on: April 13, 2006, 04:30:27 PM »
Hey winrules,

I am using your custom fields mod to hold charter member data....

date joined
initial amount contributed
last contribution
total amount contributed
etc, etc, etc...

works great!

Can you help me build a stand alone php page that displays the custom fields?

Happily using a heavily modified 1.1.16 version of SMF!

2748011 Posts in 320998 Topics by 50986 Members


SOLD my website - thanks it was a good run - they converted to vbadvanced. (and screwed it up good!)

Offline winrules

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,085
  • Gender: Male
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #98 on: April 13, 2006, 04:33:16 PM »
Hey winrules,

I am using your custom fields mod to hold charter member data....

date joined
initial amount contributed
last contribution
total amount contributed
etc, etc, etc...

works great!

Can you help me build a stand alone php page that displays the custom fields?


Glad you like it :)
You can use ssi to get the fields if you put some lines in ssi.php: http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=79004.msg539409#msg539409

It probly will be included by default in next version
winrules
SMF Developer
               My Mods
Please do not PM me for support.


Offline digit

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,364
  • Gender: Male
Re: Custom Profile Field Mod
« Reply #99 on: April 13, 2006, 04:53:39 PM »

The data's stored in the themes table. If you want to access it with ssi, you could wait until next version :) or find:
Code: [Select]
setupThemeContext();

and add after:
Code: [Select]
require_once($sourcedir . '/Profile.php');
loadThemeOptions($context['user']['id']);

havent tested it though...but it should work.


ok, did that.

when you add that you can use
Code: [Select]
$context['member']['options'][fieldID]
So you could do something like
Code: [Select]
if ($context['member']['options']['someoption']=='First Page')
//first page
else
//second page



I get lost with the rest...  where does that code go???  (in ssi_examples.shtml?), or?

My fields are simply named....

Custom Profile Field 1 (CP1)

Custom Profile Field 2 (CP2)

etc. etc.

...  or are they actually named what we name them?

sorry for the confusion.

« Last Edit: April 13, 2006, 04:56:57 PM by digit »
Happily using a heavily modified 1.1.16 version of SMF!

2748011 Posts in 320998 Topics by 50986 Members


SOLD my website - thanks it was a good run - they converted to vbadvanced. (and screwed it up good!)