Advertisement:

Author Topic: Anyone willing to test some things for me?  (Read 124982 times)

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #20 on: December 06, 2004, 04:25:53 PM »
Actually, the ones attached above probably won't work properly.  Here are newer ones...

-[Unknown]

Offline oscar2001

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 201
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #21 on: December 06, 2004, 04:44:29 PM »
still only restores 3 tables but now gives me this error

Notice: Undefined index: line in /home/worldcic/public_html/restore_backup.php on line 181

Offline oscar2001

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 201
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #22 on: December 06, 2004, 07:04:42 PM »
mmm sorry after examining my sql file  it seems my dump via phpmyadmin wasnt complete for some reason.

Offline oscar2001

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 201
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #23 on: December 07, 2004, 12:26:34 AM »
I tried the backup feature on my main forum and it wouldnt let me back up fully unless I selected the forum prefix only. I have a table called spelling_words which is bit under 10mb in size which is the only table without the smf prefix.
The other thing is that I selected Gzip and my databse which has a size of 40mb(not counting the spelling table) into a 40mb sql.gz file. Is this normal for gzip or is it host related as to why it didnt compress.. Sorry for going off track with the current subject :)

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #24 on: December 07, 2004, 10:24:14 PM »
I tried the backup feature on my main forum and it wouldnt let me back up fully unless I selected the forum prefix only. I have a table called spelling_words which is bit under 10mb in size which is the only table without the smf prefix.

If you export this with phpMyAdmin, I assume it works?  Could I perhaps see a backup of this table?  Does it give errors or what if you don't specify a prefix?

Quote
The other thing is that I selected Gzip and my databse which has a size of 40mb(not counting the spelling table) into a 40mb sql.gz file. Is this normal for gzip or is it host related as to why it didnt compress.. Sorry for going off track with the current subject :)

What does it say?  Does it say you have zlib?  Can I see a phpinfo.php?

What is phpinfo.php?

-[Unknown]

Offline jezinho

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 118
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #25 on: December 12, 2004, 12:38:17 AM »
I tried the script on a database of 95.000 Messages, 5100 Threads & 1330 Members. After entering the MySQL details + clicking on proceed, I directly got a grey screen just displaying the header "Backup Restoration Tool", with nothing happening for 30 minutes. As said in the other thread, I unfortunately tried an outdated version of the script (october), so please delete this message if this info isn't useful to you.

Offline xenovanis

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,988
  • Gender: Female
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #26 on: December 13, 2004, 09:20:35 AM »
I tried it for my "small" database (about 10mb) and it worked perfectly! All the data has been restored.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."

Offline Jerry

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,903
  • Gender: Male
  • What? I can't hear you over my awesomeness!!
    • PlanetSMF
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #27 on: December 13, 2004, 10:59:32 PM »
Actually, the ones attached above probably won't work properly. Here are newer ones...

-[Unknown]
I have tried and tried over again, but with a Gzipped file, it stops at smf_messages for my forum with 8k posts. But with a normal SQL file it will get most of the datbases :-\
- Jerry
Find me on:
Facebook
Twitter
PlanetSMF

"If all you look for is the negative in things, you will never see the positive."

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #28 on: December 13, 2004, 11:02:03 PM »
The restore does?  After how long does it stop?  What did you create the dump with?

-[Unknown]

Offline Jerry

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,903
  • Gender: Male
  • What? I can't hear you over my awesomeness!!
    • PlanetSMF
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #29 on: December 13, 2004, 11:23:22 PM »
When I create a gzipped (or zipped with phpmyadmin) with the admin tool or phpmyadmin, the restore utility will stop after a few seconds at smf_messages. I assume it stops because smf_messages is a large table. Anything after smf_messages does not get imported. I tried a plain sql file and it stopped at smf_topics.
- Jerry
Find me on:
Facebook
Twitter
PlanetSMF

"If all you look for is the negative in things, you will never see the positive."

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #30 on: December 14, 2004, 12:53:59 AM »
When I create a gzipped (or zipped with phpmyadmin) with the admin tool or phpmyadmin, the restore utility will stop after a few seconds at smf_messages. I assume it stops because smf_messages is a large table. Anything after smf_messages does not get imported. I tried a plain sql file and it stopped at smf_topics.

Well, it shouldn't stop like that, but it's built to handle several small inserts, not one large insert.  I still suggest you use the backup creation utility attached with it.

-[Unknown]

Offline Jerry

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,903
  • Gender: Male
  • What? I can't hear you over my awesomeness!!
    • PlanetSMF
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #31 on: December 14, 2004, 01:00:15 AM »
I will try the backup creation utility to see if it works better, I cant recall if I ever used it.
- Jerry
Find me on:
Facebook
Twitter
PlanetSMF

"If all you look for is the negative in things, you will never see the positive."

Offline xenovanis

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,988
  • Gender: Female
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #32 on: December 17, 2004, 10:14:06 AM »
I have sucessfully backed-up my database from one table into another table. The first time I tested this (about a week ago) everything worked fine, but now when I took the final step I get some strange errors in smf:

Guest       Today at 14:11:40
Apply Filter: Only show the error messages of this IP address       
Apply Filter: Only show the error messages of this URL http://www.taxibalk.nl/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=40&?action=dlattach;id=16;type=avatar
Apply Filter: Only show the errors with the same message
2: session_start(): Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /data/members/paid/t/a/taxibalk.nl/htdocs/forum/index.php:2)
/data/members/paid/t/a/taxibalk.nl/htdocs/forum/Sources/Load.php
1192
   
Apply Filter: Only show the error messages of this member marije    Today at 14:11:31
Apply Filter: Only show the error messages of this IP address 81.204.225.8      Apply Filter: Only show the error messages of this session da72b581e9e971533e04d07f1a1896be
Apply Filter: Only show the error messages of this URL http://www.taxibalk.nl/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=40&?action=login2
Apply Filter: Only show the errors with the same message
2: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /data/members/paid/t/a/taxibalk.nl/htdocs/forum/index.php:2)
Bestand: /data/members/paid/t/a/taxibalk.nl/htdocs/forum/Sources/Subs.php
Regel: 1191
   
Apply Filter: Only show the error messages of this member marije    Today at 14:11:31
Apply Filter: Only show the error messages of this IP address 81.204.225.8      Apply Filter: Only show the error messages of this session da72b581e9e971533e04d07f1a1896be
Apply Filter: Only show the error messages of this URL http://www.taxibalk.nl/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=40&?action=login2
Apply Filter: Only show the errors with the same message
2: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /data/members/paid/t/a/taxibalk.nl/htdocs/forum/index.php:2)
Bestand: /data/members/paid/t/a/taxibalk.nl/htdocs/forum/Sources/Subs-Auth.php
Regel: 70


An it goes on and on, about 40 pages of errorreports. I'm sure the path of the forum and sources are correct, can anyone tell me what it is?
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #33 on: December 17, 2004, 01:29:41 PM »
Sounds like there's something at the beginning of index.php...

-[Unknown]

Offline xenovanis

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,988
  • Gender: Female
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #34 on: December 18, 2004, 02:41:32 AM »
Nevermind, I did the most incredible stupid thing. I put the backup of my index.php in my mambosection, of wich I didn't make a backup yet.... STUPID STUPID STUPID

So I decided to reinstall everything and hope the backup of my database lived...

Tip: don't ever start working on your site after you drunk some glasses of wine  :D
« Last Edit: December 18, 2004, 02:52:02 AM by xenovanis »
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."

Offline Jerry

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,903
  • Gender: Male
  • What? I can't hear you over my awesomeness!!
    • PlanetSMF
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #35 on: December 18, 2004, 03:02:30 AM »
When I create a gzipped (or zipped with phpmyadmin) with the admin tool or phpmyadmin, the restore utility will stop after a few seconds at smf_messages. I assume it stops because smf_messages is a large table. Anything after smf_messages does not get imported. I tried a plain sql file and it stopped at smf_topics.

Well, it shouldn't stop like that, but it's built to handle several small inserts, not one large insert. I still suggest you use the backup creation utility attached with it.

-[Unknown]
I used the create_backup.php utility and it worked like a charm, thanks [Unkown] saves me alot of time. Don't have to split the database into a million files any more ;D
- Jerry
Find me on:
Facebook
Twitter
PlanetSMF

"If all you look for is the negative in things, you will never see the positive."

Offline xenovanis

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,988
  • Gender: Female
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #36 on: December 18, 2004, 07:19:51 AM »
Sounds like there's something at the beginning of index.php...

-[Unknown]

I found the problem; I restored the database in my www dir. in stead of my forum dir. Now I've made another restore on the location of my forum and it worked perfectly!
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #37 on: December 19, 2004, 03:10:28 AM »
So... no one's having problems anymore?

I don't suppose oscar2001 has had a chance to see this yet?

-[Unknown]

Offline Source

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #38 on: December 19, 2004, 03:13:00 AM »
[Unknown]

Im having same problem i lost my forum since it doesnt want to upload it like just stops after a few seconds. It does that in phpmyadmin. I eventually got it to sorta work though  ::)

Offline Anguz

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,430
  • Gender: Male
    • cristianlavaque.com
Re: Anyone willing to test some things for me?
« Reply #39 on: December 21, 2004, 04:30:37 PM »
[Unknown], I finally got to test this today. Actually it's not just a test, I need it to migrate a db from one webhost to another.

The backup creation went fine. It took over 40 minutes to create it. The db size is 98.7 MB big, says in phpMyAdmin. Although I chose to have the backup GZIPped, it required that much free space in my webhost account to create the backup. After that was complete, the .gz file size dropped to 27.9 MB, so I'm guessing it does the compression after finishing the .sql file creation.

I fortunately had Joseph help me giving me a temporal space increase to create the backup, but for those without that luck, maybe doing it in parts, compressing every so many bytes, would be better. When I ran out of space first, the script didn't say there was that problem, though. If it were done in smaller parts and the script mentioned it can't continue, it could probably pause the backup creation, let me download the first few parts to make some space and then resume.

The restore was much faster, less than 10 mins. I got some errors at the very end, though:

Quote
Backup Restoration Tool
Some of the queries were not executed properly. Technical information about the queries:
Line #33620: BLOB column 'notifies' used in key specification without a key length
Line #33883: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #34141: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #34399: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #34657: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #34915: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #35173: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #35431: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #35689: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #35947: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #36205: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #36463: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #36721: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #36979: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #37237: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #37495: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #37753: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #38011: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #38269: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #38527: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #38785: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #39043: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #39301: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #39559: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #39817: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #40075: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #40333: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #40591: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #40849: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #41107: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #41365: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #41623: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #41881: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #42139: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #42397: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #42655: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #42913: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #43171: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #43429: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #43687: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #43945: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #44203: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #44461: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #44719: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #44977: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #45235: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #45493: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #45751: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #46009: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #46267: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #46525: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #46783: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #47041: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #47299: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #47557: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #47815: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #48073: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #48331: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #48589: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #48847: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #49105: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #49363: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #49621: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Line #49781: Table 'laakadem_yabbse.yabbse_topics' doesn't exist
Restoration process complete!
Congratulations! Your database backup has been restored successfully.

If you had any problems, please tell us about them so that we can help you get them resolved.
Good luck!
Simple Machines

Comparing the two databases in phpMyAdmin, these are the differences I see:

yabbse_log_activity       408 ->    407
yabbse_log_boards        7195 ->   7192
yabbse_log_online           5 ->      1
yabbse_log_topics      343294 -> 343286
yabbse_members           3917 ->   3916
yabbse_messages        170777 -> 170776


These changes are most probably due to the fact that I thought the forum was in Maintenance Mode before I created the backup, when in fact wasn't and put it in that mode after a while. Also, although in that mode, some people still visit the page.

The important difference, and it's obviously related to the errors I got at the end of the restore, is the missing yabbse_topics (in the original db it says it has 16031 records, but that doesn't match with the number of errors I got, unless each error refers to batches of records). From what I read there, the very first error was in creating the table, which caused the following ones.

It'd be good to not say "Congratulations! Your database backup has been restored successfully" when you get even one error, actually.

I noticed that the progress bar isn't very reliable. I've been comparing the progress percentage with the file size of the backup via FTP. From what I saw, the one displayed by the script is based on the number of records, not bytes. At the beginning it jumped to 60+ percent done almost instantly, probably because of the small tables before getting to messages, where it took a long time to change, while the file size grew and grew. If at all possible, it'd be better to do it by bytes, I'd say, or have two bars, one for records and one for bytes.

One more idea. Right now you have to upload the backup file via FTP first to run the script with it. Since I originally had it in another server, instead of having to download it to my machine first, with a bad speed, and then upload to the new server, with a worse speed, would it be possible to have the option of pulling it from a URL?

Ah, weird thing with both scripts was that at first it'd say that the MySQL information wasn't right, referring most probably to the password, although it was. After several attempts and logging in to cPanel with my user/pass to make sure, the scripts worked. It happened with the backup creation in the original webhost and the restore one in the new one. Dunno if it's important, but thought I'd mention it.

Other than those, it worked great.

When, and if, you provide a new version of the script, can I use the same backup although most of it was already restored? Will it ignore existing records? If I created the table by hand, for example, could I run the restore script again and it'll only add those missing? Just wondering.

Thanks for the great work!
Cristián Lávaque http://cristianlavaque.com