Advertisement:

Author Topic: Header Rotator  (Read 100686 times)

Offline Informatics

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Explorer
    • Forum Informatika
Header Rotator
« on: February 23, 2008, 08:16:02 PM »
Link to Mod

-------------------------------------------
Header Rotator
|  By: CyclonBoy
http://if.web.id
-------------------------------------------

Mod Information:
- Mod HeaderRotator.v.1.1.0.zip is for SMF 1.1.x
- Mod HeaderRotator.v.2.1.zip is for SMF 2.0

Used for:
- Set a full header for our image without SMF logo.
- Rotate any images on the header folder.

How to use:
- Please change all images in the header folder with yours
- For sample, i use image with size 800 x 120 px
- The URL for header (logo) changed with rotator.php that is included in this mod

If your pic have different height, you can change it at this code:

Code: [Select]
<img src="', $boardurl, '/' , $settings['header_logo_url'], '" width="100%" height="120px" alt="', $context['forum_name'], '" />';

Change the height value with your image height properly...

But, if you have many images with different height or width, you can remove the height value. So lets just write it like this:

Code: [Select]
<img src="', $boardurl, '/' , $settings['header_logo_url'], '" width="100%" alt="', $context['forum_name'], '" />';

And finally, whenever you change the folder name or address, please fill the new value of Logo image URL value on the Current Setting Theme.

For now, lets just fill it with: header/rotator.php

NOTES
Please check your Logo image URL: value on Current Theme setting.
If empty (my mistake :) ), please fill it manually with text: header/rotator.php

Thanx to open source script for rotator:

Quote

   AUTOMATIC IMAGE ROTATOR
   Version 2.2 - December 4, 2003
   Copyright (c) 2002-2003 Dan P. Benjamin, Automatic, Ltd.
   All Rights Reserved.

   http://www.hiveware.com/imagerotator.php
   
   http://www.automaticlabs.com/


UNINSTALL ALERT!
Please backup all of your header images first before uninstalling! Thanx.

UPDATED INFOs - 28 August 2009
-------------------------------------------------

- Nothing changed on this mod.
- Its still compatible with the newest SMF version, just choose your forum version :) .
 

v.2.1
-------
- Update version info for SMF 2.0 RC1-1


v.2.0
-------
- Make it compatible with SMF 2.0.RC1

v.1.1.0
---------
- Fix some minor bugs, i'm forget throwing away my site forum name... lol :) Thanx SMF Mod Team

v.1.0.0
--------
- Its just beta released
« Last Edit: August 28, 2009, 10:16:09 AM by Cyclon Boy »

You can catch me @ Forum Informatika a.k.a Indonesian Informatics Online Community @ http://if.web.id


Mods:
1. LinkTree v.1.1.0 [Topic  || Download]
2. Header Rotator v.1.1.0 for 1.1.x | v.2.1 for 2.0 [Topic || Download]

Offline mynewusername

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 58
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2008, 05:26:25 AM »
Do NOT download this mod, it should NOT have got the green light it will ruin your site.


BUGS!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline edi67

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,532
  • Gender: Male
  • Italian Supporter
    • CrazyZone
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2008, 07:21:25 AM »
intersting this
CrazyZone - My SMF Forum


From the difficult the hardening of the man you can see

Offline m4n_in_bl4ck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2008, 12:25:02 PM »
doesnt work for me either

Offline Sabre™

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,527
  • Gender: Male
  • IF IT AINT BROKE, I CAN FIX IT TILL IT IS!!
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2008, 04:00:34 PM »
Will keep an eye on this.
Have seen something similar through another site.
The Banner/Header rotator that is :)
Do NOT give admin and/or ftp details to just anybody, see if they are trust worthy first!!  Do your homework ;)


Offline mynewusername

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 58
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2008, 06:08:43 PM »
Will keep an eye on this.
Have seen something similar through another site.
The Banner/Header rotator that is :)

As I await contact about this have reported it unsfafe one can only hope its removed ASAP.

Offline Informatics

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Explorer
    • Forum Informatika
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2008, 08:01:33 PM »
Do NOT download this mod, it should NOT have got the green light it will ruin your site.


BUGS!!!!!!!!!!!

What is the bug? Can you mention it!
What it would be ruin?

Please take a look my site.

Btw, this mod has been approved by SMF Customization Team, are u underestimate them?

You can catch me @ Forum Informatika a.k.a Indonesian Informatics Online Community @ http://if.web.id


Mods:
1. LinkTree v.1.1.0 [Topic  || Download]
2. Header Rotator v.1.1.0 for 1.1.x | v.2.1 for 2.0 [Topic || Download]

Offline Informatics

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Explorer
    • Forum Informatika
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2008, 08:04:28 PM »
doesnt work for me either

Whats happen mate? Are you see any errors?

You can catch me @ Forum Informatika a.k.a Indonesian Informatics Online Community @ http://if.web.id


Mods:
1. LinkTree v.1.1.0 [Topic  || Download]
2. Header Rotator v.1.1.0 for 1.1.x | v.2.1 for 2.0 [Topic || Download]

Offline thomswar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2008, 08:48:11 PM »
I have a problem with this mod. I just installed it and it works fine but the resolution is a problem.
I use 1152x864 on my screen. When i use pics with the samplefile size the picture looks stretched.
When i Change my resolution to 1024x768 the header pic looks fine. Is there a way to solve this?

Offline Informatics

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Explorer
    • Forum Informatika
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2008, 03:00:39 AM »
Yeah, the sample pics is made with low/medium quality.
Their size is suitable for 1024x768. You must make your own images that suitable for your site.
All images attach with this mod is just a sample.

Dont forget, maybe you can also change the width & height value manually at index.template.php manually for suiting with your images, but becarefull.

You can catch me @ Forum Informatika a.k.a Indonesian Informatics Online Community @ http://if.web.id


Mods:
1. LinkTree v.1.1.0 [Topic  || Download]
2. Header Rotator v.1.1.0 for 1.1.x | v.2.1 for 2.0 [Topic || Download]

Offline Sabre™

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,527
  • Gender: Male
  • IF IT AINT BROKE, I CAN FIX IT TILL IT IS!!
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2008, 03:30:05 AM »
Hi buddy :)

I just tested this on a fresh install of version 1.1.4

Here is the result     [CLICK HERE].

Its a test site, so means nothing to me. :)

I installed the mod..   No errors.      But no image(s)     Not even your default.
So, Im not sure whether I was supposed to do this, but did this part.

Original code in index.template.php (after <body>) is:

Code: [Select]
<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="catbg" height="32">';

if (empty($settings['header_logo_url']))
echo '
<span style="font-family: Verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 140%; ">', $context['forum_name'], '</span>';
else
echo '
<img src="', $settings['header_logo_url'], '" style="margin: 4px;" alt="', $context['forum_name'], '" />';

echo '
</td>
<td align="right" class="catbg">
<img src="', $settings['images_url'], '/smflogo.gif" style="margin: 2px;" alt="" />
</td>
</tr>
</table>';

Lets change some codes like this:

Code: [Select]
<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td>';

if (empty($settings['header_logo_url']))
echo '
<span style="font-family: Verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 140%; ">', $context['forum_name'], '</span>';
else
echo '
<a href="', $boardurl,'" target="_self" title="',$context['forum_name'],' - ',$boardurl,'">
<img src="', $boardurl, '/' , $settings['header_logo_url'], '" width="100%" height="120px" alt="', $context['forum_name'], '" />
                </a>

echo '
</td>
</tr>
</table>';

The above link is what happened after altering the original code.
Was I not meant to do this??
Cheers :)
Do NOT give admin and/or ftp details to just anybody, see if they are trust worthy first!!  Do your homework ;)


Offline Informatics

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Explorer
    • Forum Informatika
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2008, 08:14:04 PM »
Hi buddy :)

I just tested this on a fresh install of version 1.1.4

Here is the result     [CLICK HERE].

Its a test site, so means nothing to me. :)

I installed the mod..   No errors.      But no image(s)     Not even your default.
So, Im not sure whether I was supposed to do this, but did this part.

Original code in index.template.php (after <body>) is:

Code: [Select]
<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="catbg" height="32">';

if (empty($settings['header_logo_url']))
echo '
<span style="font-family: Verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 140%; ">', $context['forum_name'], '</span>';
else
echo '
<img src="', $settings['header_logo_url'], '" style="margin: 4px;" alt="', $context['forum_name'], '" />';

echo '
</td>
<td align="right" class="catbg">
<img src="', $settings['images_url'], '/smflogo.gif" style="margin: 2px;" alt="" />
</td>
</tr>
</table>';

Lets change some codes like this:

Code: [Select]
<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td>';

if (empty($settings['header_logo_url']))
echo '
<span style="font-family: Verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 140%; ">', $context['forum_name'], '</span>';
else
echo '
<a href="', $boardurl,'" target="_self" title="',$context['forum_name'],' - ',$boardurl,'">
<img src="', $boardurl, '/' , $settings['header_logo_url'], '" width="100%" height="120px" alt="', $context['forum_name'], '" />
                </a>

echo '
</td>
</tr>
</table>';

The above link is what happened after altering the original code.
Was I not meant to do this??
Cheers :)


What? Are you trying to modify the code manually?
Please dont do it! There is some other just changing that code.

Its just for some programmer that want change the height and width of image's attributes.

Btw, i suggest you change back that code to the original code.
And install it properly via packages installer. OK.

Please, after do that, posting here.. OK buddy. Thanx.  ;D

You can catch me @ Forum Informatika a.k.a Indonesian Informatics Online Community @ http://if.web.id


Mods:
1. LinkTree v.1.1.0 [Topic  || Download]
2. Header Rotator v.1.1.0 for 1.1.x | v.2.1 for 2.0 [Topic || Download]

Offline Basie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 356
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2008, 11:49:59 PM »
Working demo please.

Offline Informatics

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Explorer
    • Forum Informatika
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2008, 01:49:17 AM »
Working demo please.

Please refer to my site: http://if.web.id

You'll see the image's header is change randomly.

You can catch me @ Forum Informatika a.k.a Indonesian Informatics Online Community @ http://if.web.id


Mods:
1. LinkTree v.1.1.0 [Topic  || Download]
2. Header Rotator v.1.1.0 for 1.1.x | v.2.1 for 2.0 [Topic || Download]

Offline Sabre™

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,527
  • Gender: Male
  • IF IT AINT BROKE, I CAN FIX IT TILL IT IS!!
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2008, 05:43:58 PM »
Hi buddy :)

I just tested this on a fresh install of version 1.1.4

Here is the result     [CLICK HERE].

Its a test site, so means nothing to me. :)

I installed the mod..   No errors.      But no image(s)     Not even your default.
So, Im not sure whether I was supposed to do this, but did this part.

Original code in index.template.php (after <body>) is:

Code: [Select]
<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="catbg" height="32">';

if (empty($settings['header_logo_url']))
echo '
<span style="font-family: Verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 140%; ">', $context['forum_name'], '</span>';
else
echo '
<img src="', $settings['header_logo_url'], '" style="margin: 4px;" alt="', $context['forum_name'], '" />';

echo '
</td>
<td align="right" class="catbg">
<img src="', $settings['images_url'], '/smflogo.gif" style="margin: 2px;" alt="" />
</td>
</tr>
</table>';

Lets change some codes like this:

Code: [Select]
<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td>';

if (empty($settings['header_logo_url']))
echo '
<span style="font-family: Verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 140%; ">', $context['forum_name'], '</span>';
else
echo '
<a href="', $boardurl,'" target="_self" title="',$context['forum_name'],' - ',$boardurl,'">
<img src="', $boardurl, '/' , $settings['header_logo_url'], '" width="100%" height="120px" alt="', $context['forum_name'], '" />
                </a>

echo '
</td>
</tr>
</table>';

The above link is what happened after altering the original code.
Was I not meant to do this??
Cheers :)


What? Are you trying to modify the code manually?
Please dont do it! There is some other just changing that code.

Its just for some programmer that want change the height and width of image's attributes.

Btw, i suggest you change back that code to the original code.
And install it properly via packages installer. OK.

Please, after do that, posting here.. OK buddy. Thanx.  ;D

Huh??
Sorry, mustve been my bad typing   o.O
I have only followed the step above.  Where YOU stated:

"Lets change some codes like this:"
Code: [Select]
<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td>';

if (empty($settings['header_logo_url']))
echo '
<span style="font-family: Verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 140%; ">', $context['forum_name'], '</span>';
else
echo '
<a href="', $boardurl,'" target="_self" title="',$context['forum_name'],' - ',$boardurl,'">
<img src="', $boardurl, '/' , $settings['header_logo_url'], '" width="100%" height="120px" alt="', $context['forum_name'], '" />
                </a>

echo '
</td>
</tr>
</table>';

Even before I did this, your example headers werent working.
I      h a v e      d o n e      n o t h i n g     e l s e

So that is the part I shouldnt need to alter??
Its just for some programmer that want change the height and width of image's attributes.

If so..  Why didnt it still work?
« Last Edit: February 27, 2008, 05:49:21 PM by Sabre™ »
Do NOT give admin and/or ftp details to just anybody, see if they are trust worthy first!!  Do your homework ;)


Offline Informatics

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Explorer
    • Forum Informatika
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #15 on: February 27, 2008, 07:24:47 PM »
Quote
Even before I did this, your example headers werent working.

The Image doesnt appear? Rotating images doesn't works?

1. Please check your index.template.php, does the file changed like the mod i write.
2. Check the Logo URL on your current theme, is it filled with header/rotator.
3. Check that the folder header is on your web root.
4. Check that all images is still there  :D
5. Check the permisson of rotator.php,  is it 644.

Thanx.

In next time error, can you capture the result? Thanx for feedback.

You can catch me @ Forum Informatika a.k.a Indonesian Informatics Online Community @ http://if.web.id


Mods:
1. LinkTree v.1.1.0 [Topic  || Download]
2. Header Rotator v.1.1.0 for 1.1.x | v.2.1 for 2.0 [Topic || Download]

Offline BogeyOne

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #16 on: March 18, 2008, 06:40:08 PM »
I am not quite sure what the problem is that some are having with this wonderful mod.  I am not really mod/code literate but it installed on my forum and is working just fine.  All I did was follow the directions.

My forum is www.moderatedsciastroamateur.org [nofollow] and the mod can be found working there with two very simple, yet aesthetically pleasing, banner-type images.

Offline Informatics

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Explorer
    • Forum Informatika
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #17 on: March 18, 2008, 09:38:05 PM »
thanx for let me know that this mod is working.
If you got any error, just please reply here, OK.

Btw, its nice forum.

You can catch me @ Forum Informatika a.k.a Indonesian Informatics Online Community @ http://if.web.id


Mods:
1. LinkTree v.1.1.0 [Topic  || Download]
2. Header Rotator v.1.1.0 for 1.1.x | v.2.1 for 2.0 [Topic || Download]

Offline Manu.G

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 448
  • Gender: Female
  • Angel by Day, Devil by Night
    • http://facebook.com/manuela.guth on Facebook
    • Fan Community
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #18 on: April 07, 2008, 12:17:02 PM »
Your code for the rotator is this

Code: [Select]
<a href="http://www.gonil.org" target="_blank"><img src="header/rotator.php" style="margin: 4px;" alt="GONIL DEVELOPMENT SITE" />
as I can see the width and height is missing, maybe you can try this code for your rotator

Code: [Select]
<a href="http://www.gonil.org" target="_blank"><img src="header/rotator.php" width="100%" height="120px" alt="GONIL DEVELOPMENT SITE" />
the height depends of the size of the images you will use. I use the rotator too but our images are larger in their heights. ;)
« Last Edit: April 08, 2008, 01:53:52 PM by Manu0372 »
Version SMF 2.0.8
SimplePortal 2.3.5

Offline Informatics

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Explorer
    • Forum Informatika
Re: Header Rotator
« Reply #19 on: April 09, 2008, 04:53:57 AM »
thank you gonil... my header rotator is just fine.

You can catch me @ Forum Informatika a.k.a Indonesian Informatics Online Community @ http://if.web.id


Mods:
1. LinkTree v.1.1.0 [Topic  || Download]
2. Header Rotator v.1.1.0 for 1.1.x | v.2.1 for 2.0 [Topic || Download]