News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

Trebul's Community Building Guide

Started by trebul, March 25, 2010, 06:51:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

trebul

Welcome to Trebul's (Ethical) Community Building Guide.

Some basic background information about me. I have used forums for many years and I'm still active at some that I first started out using. Out of those I have registered at some have become very popular while others become abandoned or ultimately shut down. I have 3+ years experience administering my own site(s). I list sites because at one point I had three running, I later realized that I was stretching myself too thin. I have a part time job and I go to college, so my forum is my hobby. These are my experiences that I encountered building my community, I hope they will help out fellow SMF members.

Time / Dedication

Before you start your forum you should know that forming a community will take a lot of time. If you want to grow you will have to put in the effort. You will need to tend to it almost daily when you are first starting out. There might be a slight chance that you picked a booming niche and will grow quite quickly but for the majority of us it will require a lot of time invested in order to grow.

Creating an Identity

Giving your site a unique identity is a great way to get started. Some might say that people have created successful sites using a default theme. I would argue that branding your site gives your community a much better chance by setting it apart and making it noticeable. This can include but is not limited to finding a custom theme and creating a logo / banner. An often over looked part of identity is making clear what your site's purpose is. Guests may not know solely based on the url, so inform them and capture their interest.

Setting Up Forum Categories